Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson Dyson Hard DC56

The Dyson Hard™ cordless vacuum cleaner is engineered for hard floor cleaning. Using dual suction channels and a wet wipe, it removes both dust and grime in a single action. It has patented Root Cyclone™ technology and is powered by the Dyson digital motor V2. It's the only vacuum cleaner to combine powerful constant suction and a wet wipe. $EmbeddedVideo:DysonHardPrLanding (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (249 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
76
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
15
209 of 249(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dyson Hard DC56
Review 1 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love the Dyson Hard
(August 23, 2013)
I was so excited and felt as though I had hit the lottery when I was offered a complimentary Dyson Hard as part of their Dyson Owners Program.
I have been so pleased with how well the product works. I have a large amount of hardwood in my home and this has made life so much easier. The time it takes to sweep and mop my floors is cut in half. I was a bit skeptical about how well the vacuum would work but it did not disappoint. The vacuum is able to pick up all dirt and dust on our floors. The mop pad works well also.
The attachments provided with the Dyson Hard have been very useful for cleaning stairs, in crevices, etc.
The battery life is adequate and I have not had a problem with loosing power before my tasks are done.
I would highly recommend the Dyson Hard. It has made cleaning my hard floors so much easier and quicker! Thanks Dyson!
193 of 201 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson Hard DC56
(January 21, 2014)
I received the Dyson hard for Christmas and was very excited as I love Dyson products. If you are looking to sweep and mop your floor at the same time this is an awesome tool. Also loved the holder that mounts on the wall and the two attachments provided and the fact that it is cordless. However I was a bit disappointed when attempting to just sweep the floor without the mopping attachment of the double-edge cleaner head. It isn't designed to really pick up dirt very well in that scenario. If you want to just sweep the floor without using the mopping function you can, but you would need to use one of the two other attachments provided but they are small and not meant for sweeping an entire hard floor. Also the power button has to be held in at all times, there is no locking mechanism. One last thing that would give the Dyson Hard a rating of 5. If there was a place on the wall mount holder to put the packet of wipes.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase Ever!
(January 12, 2014)
I read all the reviews and almost didn’t buy it. I was afraid the 15 minute charge would be insufficient and the trigger switch concerned me. I am so glad I went with my instincts and bought it. It is light weight, easy to use, has excellent suction and with the trigger switch you don’t waste battery life. That fifteen minutes stretches to an hour or more of actual use. And a big plus - this is the most quiet vacuum I’ve ever owned.
The DC-56 changed my life - literally. I have dogs, cats, and a parrot so I’m always sweeping something up. I’ve had several different vacuums and every time I turned one on the cats scattered, the dogs barked, the parrot squawked - and my husband would shout, “Shut that thing off!” So for years I’ve used a broom and dustpan. The first time I used the Dyson went unnoticed by the animals in the house, but soon my husband came out and said, “What is that thing? Let me try it.” Now he walks around the house like a character out of Star Wars and I seldom get to use it. My best purchase ever!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson Hard
(December 23, 2013)
Overal it is a great lil machine. The suction power is good, but i think it needs one more attachment. It needs like a sweeping attachment that could sweep and suck up dust and hair before you put on the moist pad. The most pad really does a nice job of cleaning the floors but I live with 2 women and their hair gets stuck to the floor if I hit them with the moist pad first. A couple more attachments and this would be a 5 star device.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A must own for people with kids, pets or both!
(November 18, 2013)
Can't imagine life without the Dyson Hard anymore. Once we got dark hardwood floors, it became disgustingly clear how much dirt and pethair we'd been living with and exposing our children to! Now a quick once-over in the morning is all we need to make sure our floors are looking like they did when we moved in. The Dyson Hard makes it easy!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It is all Good
(November 17, 2013)
I agree with all the positive comments that have been made. I want to refute several of the perceived shortcomings.
I have used only one paper pad as a template to cut many microfiber car cleaning cloths to size. I wet these in clear water then rinse or switch them out whenever they start to get dirty. At the conclusion they all go the washing machine for reuse next time. These are far superior in cleaning ability and leave no residue or streaks.
I push the red button for the vacuum only when I need to pick up something. At least half the time I am mopping only. Watch that power boot button on the back, it can lock on then you needlessly drain the battery. The normal vacuum mode is very good and normally sufficient.
Along the edges I make the first pass using the vacuum edge then come back with the mop edge. Coverage is complete.
This machine really is a great value and well engineered and constructed. Just think a little and experiment and adapt and you will realize the machines potential. I have only a few small area rugs so I have no need for any other vacuum. I will certainly not use a mop again.
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
No cord, all the suction
(November 12, 2013)
The Dyson Hard DC56 is an amazingly powerful hand-held vacuum with useful tools for cleaning hard floors.
Open the box and you'll find a fully-charged vacuum ready to pick up dust, hair, and debris. Three tools accompany the vacuum - a floor cleaning attachment, a thin crevice tool, and a brush attachment for upholstery. All can be used with the long arm to reach floors, under furniture, and high places.
A charging dock also accompanies the unit. In about thirty minutes I installed this and love that it keeps all the parts in one place. The design seems robust and charging mechanism works every time.
The vacuum is the most powerful I've used, easily cleaning my messy farm house and pet hair without losing suction. It is so intuitive and lightweight that my eight year old daughter loves to use it and doesn't even realize it's a chore. The waste release mechanism drops the bottom of the unit quickly to put the waste in the trash exactly where you want it, no spills.
The floor unit itself is great for sweeping as the vacuum flows through two channels to pick up debris. A mopping pad sits in between the vacuum channels. This works for spot cleanup but isn't robust enough for deep cleaning. I don't love that the mop cloth must be reordered frequently, as I try to limit waste and disposable items.
My family makes frequent use of the Dyson Hard to clean messes, vacuum floors, and furniture. Through the clear commitment to quality design, It's an investment I expect to last for years.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fabulous Multi-use Handheld Vacuum
(November 7, 2013)
As an owner of the original Dyson handheld vacuum I was excited to see how the Dyson Hard would compare. I adore my handheld Dyson and the Dyson Hard is no different except now I have more suction power in my hands. I would have been thrilled to just have more power but the addition of the floor cleaning option is perfect especially for moms like me. With 4 kids we have tiny spills all the time that need immediate attention and the Dyson Hard gives me a quick response option. Attaching the floor cleaning pad is really easy and the integrated vacuum option means that I don't have to worry if my liquid or sticky mess also has crumbs in it.
Another great thing about this vacuum is the wall mounted charging station, this gives you the perfect place to keep all of your attachments together. Overall I have been thrilled with the new Dyson Hard it provides two services in one vacuum and floor cleaner! The pads are easy to install and clean my whole kitchen in one pad. I would highly recommend this vacuum for anyone with kids, now they have no excuse not to clean up after themselves it is so easy with the Dyson Hard.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect for every hard surface
(November 6, 2013)
Do you hate vacuuming and sweeping just so you can start cleaning your hard floors? Yeah, me too. So, I used to cheat and just use a moist pad cleaner and kind of push all the dirt, dust bunnies, and crumbs to one spot so I could get down with a paper towel and scrub it up off my floor. I'm fairly certain nothing about my method was effective, but it was a time saver.
But, with the DC56 I can finally be a lazy AND effective cleaner because I can simply add a wet wipe right to the Dyson Hard vacuum to remove both dirt and stuck-on messes in one pass. The unit itself is really small, it’s cordless, and it’s extremely lightweight so it can go everywhere and maneuver around anything. I use it mostly on my wood floors in my kitchen, dining, and living room, but I also occasionally use it on the linoleum upstairs in the master bath and laundry room because it’s so much easier than other mops or sweepers.
With the wet wipe attachment on I can reach most everywhere in my house, but if you remove the whole attachment what you're left with is a long vacuum wand that can reach just about anything. I've used it to clean my baseboards throughout the house, clean in the couch cushions, the scrub the air return on my 10ft ceilings (with the brush head hose attachment), get in the tracks of my sliding glass doors, and even clean cobwebs and dust from the tops of my curtains, window frames, and corners of the house.
The fact that it can reach even truly awkward spots while still being lightweight and easy to maneuver means that I use it every single day, sometimes multiple times each day. All this fall weather has brought a few million pine needles and leaf fragments in with us every time we go outside, so the DC56 has truly been a lifesaver.
The only 2 negative things about the DC56 are:
1) You have to hold the power button down continuously while vacuuming
2) You need to buy replacement cleaning pads, so there's an additional cost per use
The positive of the disposable wet wipes is that I can simply throw away the pad when I’m done, but it is obviously more expensive than a reusable one. Since I have a huge hard surface area in my house, I was surprised by how efficient the wet wipes are. They were really good at scrubbing off all sorts of gunk, cooking oils, and food that comes from cooking with young kids; however, they are pricey, which makes me hesitant to use them too frequently.
The positive of that is that I don't have to use a wet wipe each time I use the Dyson Hard. Sometimes my floors just need the crumbs cleaned up, and for those times I just use a dry dusting wipe instead of the Dyson wet wipes. Of course, I could remove the entire wipe-holding insert and vacuum on its own, but the dry wipe makes it easier to dust the floors.
But, the absolute best thing about the DC56 is that my kids can use it. It's lightweight enough that my 5 year old can easily handle it throughout the house - either in mop mode or in straight vacuum mode. Since the Dyson Hard arrived she has declared vacuuming to be her favorite chore, and for that I am very, very happy.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Solid Vacuum
(November 6, 2013)
If you're looking for a small vacuum to handle everyday small vacuuming tasks this the is one you want. The hard floor attachment accomplishes exactly what it was designed for. You can easily vacuum while you wet wipe, thus your wet wipe goes a little further since dust that would normally go into the pad is vacuumed instead. I tried non Dyson brand wipes as well, and could use them on the pad; although I prefer the scent of the Dyson pads better. The battery is sufficient for me to clean the kitchen and bathrooms of my apartment, but one of the places where this machine really excels is in the car. If you spring for the attachments bundle you get all the tools you'll need to clean you car, odd nooks and crannies, or the couch after a football match. With this you are really getting a two role vacuum. The only thing it can't do is it obviously won't replace your dedicated floor vac. But since I already have a floor vac, the advantage of the DC56 over the other handheld Dysons is the wet mop capability. I don't see Dyson adding this feature to their other models as the DC56 wand has locating pins the other models don't; thereby making it incompatible.
I only have a couple complaints. One would be to have some button or lever to allow the user to lock the trigger in if they wanted. It's not that horrible to hold the trigger in and I'm assuming the reasoning is for you to only use power when you actually need it. But when you're vacuuming a large area it would be nice to just lock the trigger in and then release it when you're done. The other is that while the suction is Dyson good, the inlet vents on the hard attachment are a little thin, thus things about a 1/4" won't get picked up.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I...love...my...Dyson!
(November 5, 2013)
OK, let me tell you about the Dyson DC56. I'm going to attempt to be brief, but it's gonna be tough. I use this at least once a day, on a different project...cleaning around baseboards, cleaning the mattresses, cleaning the ceiling, cleaning the furniture, cleaning the upholstery in the car...you NAME it, I do it. And it's so easy to use, it's lightweight, it's super user-friendly. Do I wish it ran longer than 15 minutes on a charge? OK, maybe...but I don't see it as being a drawback. After all, 15 minutes of vacuuming/cleaning on a specific area/project (like the upholstery in the car or along baseboards, etc.) is a decent amount of time for me. It's not like I'm going to work for 2 hours nonstop vacuuming furniture and mattresses and ceiling fans and baseboards and my car interior and so on. So, let's be realistic. 15 minutes of use per charge? It's plenty of time.
And, it's kicking out some serious power in those 15 minutes, for real. The Dyson DC56 sucks up so much "dirt" (hair, lint, dust, dirt, you name it), it is both amazing and disgusting at the same time. This is my first Dyson EVER -- so I'm still trying to get used to the awesomeness that is the "cyclone" technology. I should also mention that, while this is my FIRST Dyson, it will indeed not be my last. There is no question whatsoever that the DC56 puts ANY handheld/cordless vacuum to shame. Nothing I've ever owned, tried, or heard about holds a candle to this machine, and I'm not exaggerating in the least.
Now, as far as its effectiveness? Puh-lease. The DC56 is insane. This machine pulls dirt and fuzz and hair and who-knows-what from everything...that is not visible to the naked eye. It's a little disturbing to see what is really in your furniture and your house and so on that you're NOT getting with your regular cleaning/vacuuming...but that's what this bad boy is for. Yes, I've used it as a mop as well. But not anywhere near as often as I use it as a handheld vacuum. NOT because it's not awesome as a mop, because it is. It's so awesome, I'm trying to use the Dyson Wet Wipes sparingly so I don't run out too quickly. But, that feature is pretty amazing. Let me tell you, when your back hurts (or you have other health problems that limit your mobility, etc.), boy, it sure is nice to not have to sweep the whole floor THEN mop the entire area...so doing it all in ONE motion? Yeah, it's a big help.
Let's get back to the handheld vacuuming action. It is so fabulous, that I SHOW it to people when they come over. (I'm not kidding.) My brother was so interested to see how it performed that he started vacuuming random areas to "spot-check" just to see how it worked and how much gunk he could collect in the bin. Everyone who sees it wants one...and now the Dyson DC56 is one of my favorite gadgets in my collection -- and that's a pretty impressive collection. It didn't take long for the Dyson to go right up to the top of the list, believe me. The Dyson is a game-changer. I don't know how I survived without it...but I can tell you this -- I won't survive withOUT it from now on.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My hardwoods have never been cleaner!
(November 2, 2013)
We have had hardwood only on our main floor for a couple of years now, and to be honest it has been really hard to find a good product to keep them clean. We have tried everything, but most of the time I just get on my hands and knees with my bottle of floor cleaner and a rag and hand clean every inch of the floor... silly, I know.
I have heard good things about Dyson, and I was really dying to try one! I ended up getting the Dyson Hard DC56 which seemed perfect. I got home and couldn't wait to rip that box open and clean my floors. When I got home, I did just that! I was amazed by the suction that this little handheld cleaner was packing, it picked up everything on my floor, including dog hair, dust, dirt, etc. and then at the same time it wiped the floors clean! How incredible is that?! It has dual suction so that there is a vacuum action before the wipe down and after it too, which is nice.
I mounted the charger in my pantry on the wall and it charges when it is hanging and then the unit itself is cordless. It is pretty light and easy to maneuver, in fact I have been having my 7 & 9 year olds clean the floors (they have been begging to try it) and they can do it without any issue or struggle.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It's ok.
(October 26, 2013)
The vacuum does a reasonably good job at vacuuming. The wet pads that I purchased are not any good. They smear.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hard floor cleaner
(October 25, 2013)
We bought this for our daughter who had purchased a new home which was totally tiled thruout. What a timesaver! Was able to do the whole house vacuumed and wiped in about 20 minutes on one charge. Perfect for anyone who does not want to spend a lot of time sweeping and mopping. Did a great job and was so easy to handle it did not seem like a chore. Would highly recommend it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Really versatile, but pads dry quickly
(October 24, 2013)
This is a really great tool to have around the house. The ability to reach awkward spots with it is fantastic. The versatility afforded by the small size of the unit is great as well! I can use it everywhere from the cushions of my couch to getting gunk off the kitchen floor.
While the pads work well, they don't stay moist for very long, especially at higher altitude. It's a good thing that the area I clean is pretty small. If my entire home had hard floors, I could see myself going through a pack of wipes every time I used it.
Hands down the best feature of this is its weight. It's super easy to take out to my car even and use to clean up in there. Also, I was stunned by how quiet it is. My dog gets freaked out by it, but it's a vacuum cleaner so I think it's engrained in him.
If Dyson can improve on the wipes just a bit, this would absolutely be a five star review.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Multipurposes for the Dyson DC56
(October 24, 2013)
I found several uses for the Dyson DC56. I was able to clean my stairs, the vents on the wall (way up high), edges where the wall meets the floor, and lots of nooks and crannies.
My kids loved it too. My son took it, he went to the stairs and it was great on the stairs, which are a hard thing for us to clean with the vacuum cleaner as the hose only goes up so far and down so far, leaving a gap on where we can clean. The cordless dyson DC56 allows us to clean all of them quickly.
My floors were extra dirty (thanks to my kids), so it took a little scrubbing to get the sticky and dried stains. I found I was scrubbing with a mopping motion, which I don't believe this is designed for.
It worked great in the rest of the ares to clean the grime and vacuuming the dust bunnies. My floors looked much better and the kids were able to slide all over the floor again.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dysonaholic
(October 24, 2013)
Yep, I am. I remind myself of the Swiffer Lady dusting in the Ad! If you get too close to me, you will get Dysonized!!!!
This particular hardwood cleaner is just awesome. I bought one for upstairs & one for downstairs. Simple, Lightweight & use it everyday. Midwest is muddy this time of year & about to be snowy with a dog in & out.
The ONLY reason it didn't get the 'Excellent' Review is the pads. They don't have moisture/cleaning agent to last long...so, forgive me, I use a generic from Walmart!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson Hard DC56
(October 22, 2013)
This product has changed my life! I am very particular when it comes to cleaning so I used to clean my hard wood floors on my hands and knees. Needless to say, it didn't get cleaned as often as it should have. I have a lot of flooring to clean and this machine helps me get it done in no time! The only 2 negative things are that:
1) You have to hold the power button down continuously
2) You need to buy replacement cleaning pads
A solution to having to use too many cleaning pads is to fill a spray bottle with some floor cleaner and use that when the pad dries out. That will save a lot of money. Now that I do that, I only use 1 pad per use. I typically avoid buying something if I have to buy replacement pads. Don't let that deter you from buying this machine! It's worth every penny!
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Does a great job - but dust gets stuck on bottom
(October 20, 2013)
LOVE this product. It does an amazing job sucking up all the dust and hair, but the only thing I don't like is that because the wipes are moist - it makes the fine dust get stuck to the bottom of the unit. I then have to clean that up when I'm done. I also wish one wipe would clean my entire family room - which isn't that big. But overall - I would highly recommend this product. It's hand held vacuum feature has also come in handy on numerous occasions. Love it.
Review 20 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(October 19, 2013)
I have found the Hard to be a good quick way to vacuum and light mop the floor. I do not think that it is as thorough as performing the 2 processes separately but it is quite helpful.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>