Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson Dyson Hard DC56

The Dyson Hard™ cordless vacuum cleaner is engineered for hard floor cleaning. Using dual suction channels and a wet wipe, it removes both dust and grime in a single action. It has patented Root Cyclone™ technology and is powered by the Dyson digital motor V2. It's the only vacuum cleaner to combine powerful constant suction and a wet wipe. $EmbeddedVideo:DysonHardPrLanding (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (315 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
96
3 stars
25
2 stars
18
1 star
24
Customer recommendation82%257 of 315reviewers would recommend the Dyson Hard DC56 to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson Hard DC56
Review 1 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dyson Hard DC56 is Amazing!
August 18, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Well let me start off by saying that I am a long time Dyson customer. I currently have a DC2\4 and have a few other friends that I have introduced to Dyson also get vacuums of their own so I am very familiar with them.
This review is on the brand new DC56 Dyson Hard. Now my family and I have a town home with the typical carpeted rooms and tile floor.s. Before this unit I could used my DC24 on all my floors but still had to get out the Swifter Dust Mop out after to clean and get all the grime out from underneath the table and appliances.
I picked up my DC56 on 8/16 and put it to work within 3 hours of getting it (had to let it charge first!). So unboxing everything is neat and well explained as everything from Dyson is. Assembly is quick and only requires 3 steps. Attache the nozzle, install the wipe and turn on. Its that simple.
So first thing I tackled was my kitchen floor. Coming from a Swifter I knew how this usually goes. I wipe everything down but there are usually things that my vacuum missed so they are left there. As I get most of the floor clean with the mop, I still have a broom to sweep up the rest of the stuff.
Turned on my DC24 and went to town. From the beginning I noticed a big difference. The handle and design on the Hard is great. You are able to get into just about any area you need by just moving your writs. It reminds me of my DC24. It is obviously heavier than the Swifter and now you have a motor running but we're here to clean, not be quite.lol
The suction worked just as advertised. There is a MAX button on the top of the cleaner in case you need some extra sucking power you can use that. Battery lasts enough to do the entire floor on MAX. Haven't really done time trials on the battery so will get to that later.
The wipe is really good at cleaning spills and other grime left behind and overall I am really impressed with the Dyson Hard.
I know I will fall in love with this as I did my DC24 soon enough.
Thanks Dyson!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dyson Hard DC56
August 19, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Through a promotion, I received the DC56 FREE! at my local Dyson retail store (King of Prussia)!
First - the store employees were extremely friendly and knowledgable. I think that they were just as excited for me that I was receiving a free Dyson DC56. They took the time to explain all of the new product's features and let me demo it in the store. Just as I had expected, the machine is flawless. I already own 2 different Dyson's, which I absolutely love. I love them so much I vacuum daily! The DC56 is perfect for me because I have hardwood floors throughout my home and 2 dogs. It eliminates the two step process of both vacuuming then using a polish/cleaning tool. The wipes are extremely easy to attach and smell wonderful. I can't say enough about this machine...I love it and all of my Dyson products!
Kelly Nowak
PS...my husband thought the email was a scam, and almost talked me out of going to the store on Saturday morning...thanks goodness I went, plus I love when I prove him wrong, what a great day!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for quick hard floor cleanup
August 19, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Instead of having to sweep then use a wet wipe mop we can just grab the Dyson Hard and get it done. With the old method you can never get enough of the particles swept up before you mop -- which makes it seem that you are just smearing the dirt with the mop afterwards. The Dyson Hard nearly eliminates that problem.
The Dyson Hard, while a great new concept, isn't a perfect product. When used in the kitchen, the baseboards can't sufficiently be mopped as the vacuum head prevents the long edge of the mop head from getting in contact. The short side (which isn't covered by the vacuum) can reach but due to the angle you can't get as good of a mop as with just using a standard disposable wet mop. For us, this wasn't a deal killer.
Overall, we highly recommend the product and are happy with our experience thus far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Dyson Hard
August 23, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I was so excited and felt as though I had hit the lottery when I was offered a complimentary Dyson Hard as part of their Dyson Owners Program.
I have been so pleased with how well the product works. I have a large amount of hardwood in my home and this has made life so much easier. The time it takes to sweep and mop my floors is cut in half. I was a bit skeptical about how well the vacuum would work but it did not disappoint. The vacuum is able to pick up all dirt and dust on our floors. The mop pad works well also.
The attachments provided with the Dyson Hard have been very useful for cleaning stairs, in crevices, etc.
The battery life is adequate and I have not had a problem with loosing power before my tasks are done.
I would highly recommend the Dyson Hard. It has made cleaning my hard floors so much easier and quicker! Thanks Dyson!
+185points
193out of 201found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Dyson Hard DC56
August 25, 2013
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I just picked up my new Dyson DC56 and used it immediately. I LOVE IT!!! My house is mostly hardwood and ceramic tile so this machine does wonders for my floors. The ease of use is incredible and I now don't have to use a vacuum then mop my floors I just do it all in one swoop. My floors are really clean and it was so easy to operate. Thank you Dyson for the opportunity to own this great machine, keep up the good work.
Sincerely,
MAS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dyson Hard = Awesome!
August 26, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Dyson has done it again! They've combined the best of a handheld with the best of a mop with great suction and floor care all in-one. Now this isn't a complete replacement for your mop if you have anything other than flat floors. We have Spanish tile and I was amazed how well this worked given the uneven surfaces. The scent the pads have are nice and not too overbearing and will last on a good sized space. If you're looking for a strong suction handheld with the ability to quickly mop your floor, then this is the machine for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first week with the Dyson Hard DC56
August 26, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I first want to mention that I received a complimentary Dyson Hard as part of the Dyson registered owner program.
I am an owner of a Dyson DC33 and DC35 so I was curious how the Dyson Hard would fit into my existing cleaning mix. I use the DC33 for larger areas and the DC35 for smaller areas, I like to compare them to using a lawnmower and a weed trimmer for your yard. The yard analogies end with the Dyson Hard because while I thought this would be a specialty product that I would use infrequently, I have used it almost every day since receiving it. Works great on wood and tile. The product is lightweight and I can cover my entire kitchen and adjacent hardwood floor easily and quickly and the vacuum portion of the Dyson hard provides me with a piece of mind that I didn't miss any larger particles that non-motorized tools will miss.
I highly recommend this to any homeowner who cares about their floors and who wants an alternative to similar, non-motorized products.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dyson Hard is efficient, easy to use & stylish
August 27, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The Dyson Hard makes cleaning bathrooms, kitchens, and other hard surfaces an easy, quick, & painless experience.
The vacuum can access hard to reach places and maneuver around tight corners.
The vacuum also is very stylish and with a dependable battery. It could hang on the wall of an apartment because it resembles innovative art.
The machine combines the tasks of a mop, steam cleaner, and vacuum all into one machine.
Dyson also stands by their warranty, making the machine all the more worth the purchase.
I received a complimentary "Dyson Hard" as part of the Dyson registered owner program.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it!
August 28, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I was really excited to receive an offer from Dyson to try the DC56 for free in exchange for a review. I just moved in to a house with all hardwood floors, and I really wasn't sure of the best way to keep them clean. I had been using a simple broom and dry dusting mop, but I was looking for something better. I spent hours reading reviews of various hardwood floor cleaners and really didn't know what to try first. This really seems to be a wonderful option for simple, everyday cleaning.
The first time I used it I was really amazed at how much dirt was collected! I couldn't believe when I emptied the vacuum just how much dirt was in there! I never would have guessed that my floors had that much to pick up! I really like that it picks up whether you are going forward or backward. The wet wipes that came with it are sturdy, but they always seem to dry out before I'm done cleaning. I suppose if you really want to clean a large area you would have to use several wipes. That would be my only complaint.
So far I have been able to do all of my cleaning on a single charge. I haven't had any problems there. I really love that it comes with a couple of attachments and it can be used as a hand vac! That was a pleasant surprise. I have a new sofa that is tufted and crumbs keep getting caught in the little dents. The attachments have been wonderful for getting the crumbs cleaned out of the sofa.
I would definitely recommend this for everyday maintenance, especially for people who have large areas of hardwood floors. The wet mop is nice, but the dirt pickup is really the best part of this machine. I think to really get your floors squeaky clean, you may need more thorough mopping than you can get with just wet wipe mopping. But again, for everyday use, this is a winner! I'm very happy with it.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the Hard
August 28, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is a review of the new Dyson DC56: First off this is a beautiful design, as an engineer myself i have always been intrigued with the design and capabilities of the Dyson products (I started with a DC 14 and just purchased a DC 40- the DC 14 was not retired instead it was sent into service at our cottage- so I guess you could say it is in semi - retirement). Back to the DC 56 Hard- we do have hard floors at our home and we recently hosted a bridal shower for our daughter- my contribution was to do the floors before the ladies arrived and I escaped to the golf course. The DC 56 performed admirably, the house looked great and the job time was probably cut in half the time it would normally take. The wall mount and attachments was another great feature of the DC 56 which allows quick access to the unit for those quick "picker upper" jobs that so frequently occur in our household. I am once again impressed with the product and would highly recommend the item which has joined our family of Dyson's.
PS be sure to register your Dyson online - I did and I was rewarded with the honor of reviewing the DC 56 before it was available to the public (at no Charge ! and I get to keep it !!! )
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dyson Hard Floor DC 56
August 28, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I was offered and received a free Dyson Hard Floor DC 56 for registering my Dyson Animal DC41 vacuum at dyson.com. I received it two weeks before it was even available to the public. I have used it several times at home and also with a friend at her house. The suction is unmatched by any other brand I have ever used, it is lightweight, easy to maneuver and very quiet. Also, I like having the ability to lightly clean my floors after meals without having to use a broom and dustpan and then to also have to mop. I have four kids and a Golden Retriever so this new product is very helpful and time saving for me!! The new Dyson hard DC 56 can also be used with a couple of extra tools that Dyson includes to vacuum in high areas for cobwebs, vents, blinds etc... One can use it as well for a light handheld for stairs or your car. Thank you Dyson for making another great product that makes my life so much easier!!! I am excited to continue being a loyal customer and anticipate what Dyson will come out with next :D
Sincerely, Dirtdiva
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
September 1, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Amazed that Dyson selected me for a complementary Dyson Hard!!!! I was so excited and have waited for a tool like this. I picked up my Dyson Hard at the service center and first let me tell you that the service was amazing! So good in fact, that we purchased another Dyson in addition to the one we already owned!!! I received a demo on how to use the Dyson Hard and went on my way.
The tool is really outstanding! Suction is great and the convenience of a two in one product is awesome. Unfortunately, we have black granite floors and the wet wipes left streaks on our main floor that I have to mop up. The great news is that our bathrooms are white marble and the Dyson Hard works very well on them. I believe that anyone who doesn't have a floor like black granite would LOVE this!!!
I did find that the wipes tend to dry out fairly quickly but overall an outstanding product by Dyson!!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A portable, lightweight, powerful solution
September 1, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I have 2 long haired dogs, so sweeping is usually done on a daily, or every other day basis. I have all hardwood floors, and porcelain tile in the kitchen. My usual method was to use my Dyson animal vacuum to sweep the dry floors. This has eliminated that need, and provides a portable, light weight solution to hauling out the full vacuum just to do a quick sweep. Overall it works really well. You can use any brand of wet or dry pads which nice in case you are loyal to a certain type or scent. Between the pads and Dyson's usual powerful suction no dirt or hair is left behind. The small brushed on the side of the base also catch any long hair "clumps" that may be too large.
I don't think this completely eliminates the need for the occasional full mop job you may need, but I don't think any wet pad mops do a thorough job enough to completely eliminate that need anyway. This is a great one step solution for your daily sweeping needs, I have also found the battery life lasting much longer then the 15 minutes noted, and rarely need the maximum for more power, it does great on regular suction in my opinion. The charging station is convenient and the additional tools come in handy for ceiling and stair crevices.
Note-I received this machine as part of the Dyson registered owner program.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dyson Hard Vacuum
September 1, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Received my complimentary hard vacuum a couple of weeks ago. I have been using it every night after work on my laminate floor. It is very easy to use. Just place disposable wet pad before each use. Vacuum canister empties just like my other Dyson vacuum cleaner. There are vacuum vents in front of and behind the wet pad. No need to sweep floor before using the hard vacuum. It runs on a rechargeable battery. There are two settings on the vacuum part. The average suction and the stronger suction. It you use the stronger suction the battery will not last as long. The battery has lasted for each of my cleanings. I used the stronger suction about half of the time.
I really like the Hard vacuum because of the ease of use. It is very durable like the rest of Dyson products. If you have hard floors in your house, this is the product for you.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
September 2, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I received a complimentary machine as part of the Dyson registered owner program. And couldn't be more pleased with this new invention. It's portable, powerful and significantly cuts down the time involved in one of my least favorite activities--cleaning my hardwood floor.
Bravo to Dyson for this bit of household magic!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect toy for the clean freaks
September 2, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I have the DC41 Animal - which I love, but sometimes I don't want to lug it out for small tasks and the new DC56 is perfect for this! It has a great battery life and works amazing for hard floors.
What I also found, is if I don't need to mop, the Swiffer dry cloths fit perfect too, so sometimes I can just sweep and dust!
I do notice that sometimes the crevices in the mop head get a little gunked but just take the DC41 hose and clean them out.
It's also an amazing hand held vacuum, great for stairs, ceiling fans and tight corners. I love using this in the morning, running errands and when I'm back it's fully charged and ready for more touch ups!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing time saver/powerful portable
September 3, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I've been a Dyson canister customer for about 5 years. I have all hard woods. We have two dogs and there are always little things needing to be vacuumed up DAILY. I waited for this productivity open arms. I've had it for 1 week and it has been a huge time saver and excellent product.
I no longer even need to use the canister for the day to day little pick-up's and I love cleaning at the same time!!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great vacuum, Ok Mop
September 3, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This was our first Dyson cordless vacuum. Here are some thoughts, both good and bad about the Dyson Hard.
Good:
- Great for a quick cleanup on hardwood floors.
- Great as a cordless vacuum. We love that the mop portion detaches and that it comes with standard vacuum tools.
Not so good:
- In our opinion, this doesn't replace something that deep cleans wood floors. It does what it says: wipes up grime.
- We wish that you didn't have to keep pressing the trigger. A double-tap, stay on feature would be a welcome addition.
Bottom Line: If you're thinking of buying a cordless Dyson vacuum and you have hardwood floors, buy it.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard floors won't know what hit 'em.
September 3, 2013
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
After a two weeks of use, I've come to a conclusion: this Dyson has changed my home.
Being that my house is 75% hard floor, I've always thought my home just wasn't as clean as it could be, even though I vacuum regularly with my DC26 and DC24. I've always despised the idea of mopping, because of its very inefficient nature, so I did it rarely.
But things have changed. Mopping/vacuuming with my DC56 has made cleaning my hard floors more efficient, more effective, and, most importantly, more fun. The DC56 is very easy to hold and maneuver around my kitchen, dining room, and bathrooms. The suction power is more than enough to pick up even large debris. And the Dyson wipes remove all the bacteria and grime from my floors. I recommend buying both the Wood Nourishing and Hard Floor wipes to assure that you clean hard wood and tile/laminate floors more effectively. They even last longer than competitor brand wipes.
This vacuum is an A+. Buy it as soon as its available. Your hard floors won't know what hit 'em.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dyson Hard DC56
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great hard floor vacuum, average "mop" feature
September 3, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Note: I received a complimentary Dyson Hard as part of the Dyson registered owner program.
I've had 2 weeks to test it out and here is what I think so far:
Pros:
- The top handle + canister part detaches and you can connect other (included) parts to it, so that you now have a hand-held cordless vacuum.
- The battery power never ran out or weakened before I was able to finish cleaning our hardwood floor (which covers the majority of the first level in our house).
- As with my other Dysons, the vacuum strength was impressive and removed all of the dirt off the floor.
- The removal and installation of the wipe is quick and easy. Same goes for releasing the canister to empty it.
Cons:
- If you try to clean a large area with just one wipe, when the wipe starts to lose moisture (which happens only after a few minutes of cleaning), there is more friction at the bottom. This makes it necessary for you to use more force to push it around, which becomes rather tiring after a while.
- I noticed that the Dyson wipes left a faint white streak on my hardwood floor.
- To keep the vacuum on, you have to continuously hold down the "trigger" on the handle, which is a minor nuisance. (It would be nice if there was just an ON button like on the Dyson canister vacuums.)
Overall, I believe that the ability to convert this into a cordless handheld vacuum makes it worth the cost. Also, if you have a decent-sized area you need to clean, you would ideally need to use more than one wipe. Therefore, I will probably end up using a dry wipe (like a Swiffer wipe) most of the time just to vacuum the floors, and then once in a while use a wet wipe only when needed.
+63points
63out of 63found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>