Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

The DC47 animal canister vacuum has our latest 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones. 32 cyclones work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust. And with our latest Ball™ technology, DC47 turns on the spot. It’s compact, making it easy to store and light to pull. Includes the Dyson Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpet and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (165 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
50
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
155 of 165(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 review
(December 19, 2014)
I like the product.
Pros:
Bought attachment kit and is very diversified with many ways to detach and attach with good lockin mechanism.
Lightweight and easy to pick up
Retractable cord
Brush head narrower than others becomes a positive feature when getting around and under furniture
Swivel head makes for ease of motion
Cons:
Retractable cord length is limited
Picks up better when brush roller in motion than when not
Sometimes swivel is hard to control
Sometimes when pulling main body, want it to have bigger wheels to steady it from tipping over, but know that would also add weight which would be a drawback
All in all, I find the pros outweigh the cons, because this animal has so many ways to interchange attachments and they lock in so well, for easy maneuverability dusting and so forth. Being older, I like how lightweight it is. The upright part with handle does not stay upright on its own, but that is not cumbersome to me, I just lean it against a wall when i'm not using it or have detached from it.
I have taken out the filter - it' s easy to do, to wash, plus emptying ihe bag less container should probably be done outside over a bag so as not to disperse dust inside the house
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I LOVE IT!
(December 19, 2014)
I actually meant the UPS man at the door, I couldn't wait to try my new Dyson. I borrowed a friends to see if I would really like it, and although I thought her's was a bit to heavy to drag around (she has the upright), I love my canister. I used it the first night I got it. It does such a good job. You think you've cleaned your house until you use this and see how much dust, dirt and pet hair you missed. I would highly recommend. I am very happy.
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Easy
(December 19, 2014)
So far, so good! Very easy to maneuver because of it's small size and it's lightweight. The retractable cord is a nice feature. I'm still getting use to trying the different attachments. Although it's easy to clean out the dirt - I'm having a little difficulty locking it back in place. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson DC47 - outstanding performance
(December 19, 2014)
I have owned other Dyson products before and this particular unit (DC47) is just as outstanding. It is light and easy to use anywhere in the house and it is every bit as it is advertised. Although it is as high-end as other Dyson products, there is no compromise as to its function and purpose. I would rate it 5/5*.
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great little vacuum
(December 19, 2014)
I love it. When I saw the amount of dirt it sucked up, I was amazed. I guess my old vacuum wasn't doing the job. The only issue I have is that there are so many attachments for it with not enough info in the instruction manual. It is a little gem!
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC 47
(December 19, 2014)
This vacuum is to say the least is perfect. It exceeded my expectations. The ease of putting it together with a few clicks, to it's powerful suction. I was amazed at the dirt, dust and animal hair it picked up. I have allergies, with the Dyson the floor is clean, and so is the air. Thank you for making such a great product.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Vacuum
(December 19, 2014)
Excellent suction for a small to midsize vacuum. I have hardwood floors and two indoor cats, and found that the floor attachment worked great, and the beater bar did not scratch my floors. It is very easy to change attachments, and I like that no special adaptors are needed. It is also very easy to empty the collection bin without making a big mess. A minor annoyance is that occasionally the beater bar will turn off mid-use if I bang against a table leg or some other obstacle, so I feel that the design could have been better on this aspect. I read several reviews before purchasing this machine, and like others, I find that the cord length is a bit suboptimal, but is not a huge detractor. Some folks have commented that the collection bin is small, and I would agree that it could be bigger. I vacuum my house weekly, so I do not have problems with overfilling the bin. However, for folks who only vacuum their home monthly, they might find it annoying to have to empty the bin partway through cleaning (in which case, the DC39Animal might be a better option). I feel that the quality of this machine is worth the money, and I am confident that should I have any issues, Dyson will stand behind their product (5 yr warranty is great!). Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase, and even bought 2 more machines as gifts for my mom and my sister (which were very happily received). I love having a clean house. Thanks DC47!
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Impressive!! the only vacuum you'll ever need.
(December 19, 2014)
Absolutely incredible when you first turn this machine on. Picked up so much dirt and hair that i never would of thought was on my carpet. The tangle free turbine tool works like a charm. Just remember to clean the top filter every month for best results.
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
In LOVE with a ANIMAL
(December 19, 2014)
This is such a great machine. I have R.A. and not as agile as before, this machine is not heavy, easy to maneuver. Try it , you'll love it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
i really like it
(December 17, 2014)
I've been very happy with my new dyson. I really like that I can go straight from the tile to the carpet without missing a beat. and the on-board attachments make switching a breeze. if I had it to do over, I'd do it again.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Lightweight and powerful
(December 10, 2014)
I did a lot of research before choosing this vacuum. I wanted something that was lightweight and easy to maneuver, but also powerful enough to handle daily use and LOTS of dog hair. The DC47 has lived up to all of my expectations. I love the low profile -- it is easy to maneuver under and around furniture. It does a great job picking up dog hair, even on carpeted surfaces. I also love that I can change tools quickly and easily and empty the canister with the push of a button. Great vacuum all around!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 Animal
(December 8, 2014)
We have used this vacuum for several weeks now and we love the way it cleans all floor surfaces, particularly dog hair from the carpet and the dog bed.
Review 13 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pleased but....
(December 8, 2014)
I like the fact that it's small and light, and the wonderful way the hinged head moves. But two things I find very annoying - I have delicate hardwood floors that scratch easily, so every time I shut it off to go to another room I have to disconnect the brush when I turn it back on. Secondly, for such a marvel of design I find it extremely cumbersome to hook the shaft to the body of the machine once I'm done.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great machine but power cord lacks length
(December 4, 2014)
One down fall is that electrical cord is too short for a modern house and furniture and needs another 6 to 8 ft minimum
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
excellent
(November 19, 2014)
I have all pros and no cons. I love it that ther is no bag and I can watch the container and I can take the bush out and clean out the hair. And most importantly It cleans really well.
Review 16 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dc47 is a compact efficient machine
(November 18, 2014)
I really like this vacuum and the suction is usually very good on it.. The only issue is that the end of the tube that goes into the unit has a curve and I have had to remove some things that got stuck in there and impaired the suction. Having said that, I love the agility, suction, and light weight features of this vacuum!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dc47
(November 18, 2014)
I totally love my dc47. I have owned several vacuums in my life and the dc47 is by far the best one I've ever had. Thank you for suck an awesome product.
Review 18 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum
(November 16, 2014)
All I can say is this vacuum works great. I have hardwood floors and this thing rocks.
Review 19 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
(November 16, 2014)
After a lot of research, I decided to buy the DC47 and it's an excellent vacuum cleaner. It's easy to handle and does a great job. So glad I chose this one.
Review 20 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
this thing ROCKS
(November 9, 2014)
This is the best vacuum we've ever owned! We have 2 cats, a dog and a toddler and this thing keeps our 2 bedroom apt clean as a whistle. I never write reviews so the fact that I'm writing this is a testament to how much we like our dyson :)
Thanks for such an awesome product!!!!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>