Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer recommendation91%32 of 35reviewers would recommend the DC47 Animal to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Vacuum - needs a longer cord
April 8, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is my second Dyson vacuum. My first, which I still have, is an Animal DC14. I used that vacuum for everything I could. Retiring to a home without any carpeting prompted me to purchase a canister vacuum, and of course the only consideration was a Dyson. I love everything about the DC47 except the power cord length. When using the DC14 I was able to do my entire house alternating between two outlets. Now, with the DC47 I can't do an entire room without moving the plug several times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC47 Animal Review
April 9, 2015
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I received this as gift and if I were to purchase a Dyson, I'm not sure I would have choose this. It works fine on my hardwood floors but is not best on carpet. If your whole house is hard flooring I think it would work great! If you have carpet with a high pile, I would suggest a different Dyson vacuum.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC47Animal
April 25, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I really like that this sweeper is very light weight and small, I can carry it up the steps as I clean. It does a great job of picking up pet hair. I did have to take it in to a repair shop when the brush stopped spinning on the floor attachment and Dyson replaced it under warranty. I have been having the same problem again in the last month or so and I think that maybe this is a flaw with this particular attachment. I have not contacted Dyson about this but will if it continues to happen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiny but mighty
June 4, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Dyson's DC47 design is 1) visually appealing and 2) ergonomically comfortable during both use and carrying when done.
I have small rural home, and we park our vehicles on dirt - so you KNOW there's a lot of dirt (very silty) that comes in the door no matter how much we wipe our shoes on door mats. Through the years, I've had several other brands, some with bags, some bagless, but NOTHING with suction like the Dyson!
I was okay with ordering this small unit because our house is less than 1200 sq ft. Yes, I have to move the plug more than once when vacuuming the whole house, but I did with my other vacuums, too. What was surprising was how often I had to empty the bin the first time I used it (if I don't vacuum often, I may have to empty it after every room - but to me, that just shows how well this vacuum cleans and gives me incentive to vacuum more often). This unit pulls up FAR more dirt than any other vacuum I've ever used. We have laminate floors with area rugs and my first use with the Dyson shocked me; I had no idea how much dirt the area rugs were holding! My rugs look newer and feel fluffier now. The upholstery tool works wonders on cat hair and the crevice tool makes keeping my bookshelves clean a breeze.
The internal washable filter is great, but it does take 24 hours to dry (sometimes a little longer in our humid Louisiana weather), so I ordered an extra (be aware it's not listed online, but was able to use the chat function on the website and get it ordered - thanks Dyson!); that should resolve the only drawback I've found.
Wish I had bought a Dyson years ago!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC 47 Animal
June 8, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I love this vacumme!! It's easy to move, and it picks up great. I also love the fact I can get under all my furniture with the full power of the suction. I have the cordless handheld I use for quick pick ups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine I would buy it again
June 25, 2015
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The first go around it fills up quick. because of the extra power and the tank is smaller. but that is a great trade off. the pet hair brush works great. Also Great for cleaning the Car. I have a tri- level with tile carpet, laminate fllooring .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC47 Animal
June 25, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is my favorite vacuum by far out of the four I own. It is lightweight, cleans exceptionally well. Gets all the fine dust you can't even see. Love love love. My house feels so clean when I use it. I can not stand feeling dirt on my feet, have a lot of floor and spend a lot of time vacuuming and with this vacuum I can relax with clean floors.Thank you Dyson. You are the bomb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small & Powerful
July 28, 2015
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This vacuum is both small & powerful.
The Pros are:
- Sucks up everything in its pathway with great power.
- Doesn't get clogged by pet hair.
- Has many attachments for every job.
- Light weight easy to move around.
- Durable. I've dropped mine a few times and it keeps on running.
The Cons are:
- Very small space from the hose to the canister gets clogged easily with larger items picked up.
- Small canister needs to be emptied frequently & usually not just with the push of the canister button. I usually have to pull the dirt out by hand due to the small space and the large amount of hair.
- Pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly Amazing!
August 13, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We moved into a home and was informed that the carpets were "professionally" cleaned. Once we started vacuuming, we discovered that either that was not the case or the "professionals" did an extremely poor job. Dyson has done it again with this excellent, easy to maneuver vacuum. Within the first hour of vacuuming, we filled it up almost twice. It found dog hair that was buried deep into the carpet. It works very well on hardwood floors as well. I intend to purchase one of these for my Mom because it is such a great product. Kudos Dyson.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum
August 13, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Received the Dyson DC47 as a gift. It's one of the best gifts you could ever ask for. Not only does it do a great job vacuuming, but it's easy to use and can reach places that are not usually vacuumed with our regular vacuum. Works great, it really sucks and is easy to do stairs with and even easy to empty (which is good because you will need to do it often).
A great vacuum which is easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 14, 2015
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I like my Dyson, it is very light and easy to maneuver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst vacuum we have ever had
November 16, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
We got the Dyson because we needed a sturdy, durable vacuum and one that was lightweight. Since we have had it, we've had it in for repairs at least three times. It requires an incredible level of maintenance. After vacuuming even small areas, we have to go through the cumbersome process of emptying it out. We thought it would be convenient not to have bags, but we much prefer that to the hassle of emptying it. Even the smallest tuft of cat hair stops up the vacuum and we need to take it nearly all apart to get the obstacle out so it can work properly. The attachment for cat hair works okay, but the spool attracts other kinds of hairs, so we have to take a tool to untangle it from the roller regularly. If the canister isn't often emptied, the obstacles pulled from the machine and the spool unfurled, it won't work. And even if all those things are taken care of, there is very little suction on the vacuum cleaner. It doesn't pick up smaller pieces of dirt or other items. This has been an incredible disappointment, considering how much we paid for the vacuum. The only advantage is that it's lightweight, but I would trade it for a heavier vacuum that actually performs the function of vacuuming. We are very disappointed with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awsome llittle monster
November 16, 2015
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I love the suction power. Only one pass will pick up every hair or string.
Unfortunately it has such a small canister, I find I have to empty it 2-3 times
in each room. Then there is the matter of dismantling it to clean it out after I just emptied it several times to clem the room. Wish it had a disposable
bag that I could toss and replace. Overall, it works great, but then I have
to work extra to clean it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazingly efficient vacuum cleaner
November 16, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I bought this as a replacement for an old XXXX model that company decided to cease production on. I live in an old apartment and needed a well designed compact vacuum cleaner. What I discovered Dyson to be was a rather insane cross of a Lamborghini and a Vector Research in the deceptive form of a household vacuum cleaner. It is of such a pedigree that I hesitate to insult it's spirit with such a common name. It is elegant, powerful, and flexible and I can leave it, and do, as an objet d' art - in my living room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum!
November 16, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Went with the DC47 because of my dogs and having mainly tile floor. This vacuum has true suction that many vacuum lack. The customer service department is top notch also, any questions or problems they resolve quick. Dyson products are made to perform and treat the customer the way companies used to years ago with respect! Try one in your home and you'll only use Dyson. Ease of use such as emptying the container and seeing when it full is a breeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forget the rest, buy the best!
November 16, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I've probably spent a few thousand dollars over the years, looking for THE vacuum cleaner, and this is it! Amazing suction, easy to use, easy to clean, it does everything from my ceilings to my stairs, accordion shades and drapes to my laminate floors. You won't need another vacuum, I promise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Work horse in a small package.
November 16, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I bought the dyson for the pet hair brush which works amazingly. I have discovered that it is absolutely wonderful for laminate floors, Vinyl floors, carpet, curtains, windowsills and so much more. I can compare it to the shark rotator lift away (as I own one). The dyson is so less complex to use. Much lighter to handle and maneuver. Greater ease of use as far as cleaning goes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding in every way
November 16, 2015
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I'm 72+ and this little giant is the best vacuum I have ever used. It is most ideal for me at this age and physical condition. It is light weight, so easy to carry, move around, and so easy to maintain. And it does an outstanding job of vacuuming the entire house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC47
November 17, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I am very please with my Dyson. The only issue is, the two clips on the purple cylinder that holds the clear bin have broken. Other then that it is the best vacuum I have ever owned! It is a light weight vacuum and with the long hose I don't struggle getting under or up to items. This is very important for people with major neck issues like me. So thank you Dyson!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Vacuum Ever
November 17, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I love this little vacuum cleaner. You get all the attachments you need - they are so easy to attach and detach. You don't have to fight the vacuum or get on the floor to attach the attachments. It is so easy.
I love the fact that you can actually clean the parts with water. It makes you feel like you are getting your house cleaner when the vacuum does not have dirt build up on the sides, etc. The suction can be reduced in order to vacuum drapes and even bedspreads without the vacuum getting stuck or jerking your drapes off the windows. I can't say enough good things about the DC47 Animal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>