Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

The DC47 animal canister vacuum has our latest 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones. 32 cyclones work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust. And with our latest Ball™ technology, DC47 turns on the spot. It’s compact, making it easy to store and light to pull. Includes the Dyson Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpet and upholstery. $EmbeddedVideo:DC47 Animal (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
80 of 87(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
What a difference!
(August 8, 2014)
I was very pleased with the performance of my Dyson from day one. My floors see lots of dog hair and desert dirt, this machine makes my life so much easier. I only wish the waste container was bigger, because I do need to empty it several times during my cleaning ( maybe I shouldn't t wait so long to vacuum).
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
light weight
(August 8, 2014)
Overall this is a very good sweeper. The cord could be a lot longer. The canister itself could be heavier, it tends to tip over quite a bit with the short cord. The brush head itself could be a little wider and a little heavier. The suction of the unit is very good, kind of surprises you when you see the amount of dirt.
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very nice
(August 8, 2014)
This is a very nice, light weight vacuum. The bin does not empty out quite as easily as the upright and I agree with sooo many others that the floor brush tool is way too small! Would also be nice if the head was a power head.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I love animals but especially this one!
(August 5, 2014)
When I first used the DC47 Animal I was astonished at its powerful suction. I don't believe my carpets have been cleaned like this EVER by my old vacuum. I love the DC47's mobility but, having said that, I wished it did not swivel as much at the head junction of the roller brush. Also, when the canister reached maximum dirt level I found that some of the dirt had crept upward. I wished that the canister had come with a small brush to clean it out instead of having to probe with my fingers and shaking it to get all the dirt out. All in all though I love my new DC47 Animal vacuum :-)
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
dyson DC47
(August 3, 2014)
Well...it's small but powerful. I think the power cord - I use an extension cord with it and the vacuum hose could be longer.
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Worth the Cost
(August 1, 2014)
I have two dogs and this vacuum does an amazing job of picking up all of the hair that gets embedded in the carpet. My only complaint is that the corners of the stand on which the ball rests sometimes gets caught under things (corner of the couch). I probably should have bought the regular upright vacuum since I live in an apartment and don't have an incredibly open floor space but I still love it. It's definitely worth the price.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
outstanding!
(July 25, 2014)
I love this machine!! I live in a 24 foot RV, with 2 small dogs and have carpet, hardwood and fabric covering everywhere (even the ceiling). The DC47 Animal comes apart and stores easily. This machine is well made and does the job. Every little detail has been well thought out. From the ease of emptying to the retractable cord. I would recommend this machine to anyone living in a small space. It's the best investment I have made for making my TINY home more enjoyable. The air is even cleaner!
No one paid me or gave me anything to write this review. I just really like this machine!
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dog Hair Relief
(July 25, 2014)
Love the suction for picking up dog hair. We have two basset hounds and they have shed ALL summer long. This machine has great suction and is so easy to use. And I love the fact that it can go under end tables and places an upright sweeper cannot. The only downside, which I can live with, is that the contents container is a bit small, but I can live with it. I would buy another one should the need arise.
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It is an animal!
(July 21, 2014)
This machine sucks - everything in it's path.
I love it!
it is easy to use. Extremely easy to clean.
you thought of everything.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC47 Animal
(July 12, 2014)
Although the vacuum does a good job cleaning on our hardwood floors, there are a few drawbacks. I don't think the cord is long enough. I picked the model because I wanted a light cleaner. It is almost too light because sometimes I when I pull it, it rolls over and I end up dragging it along the floor. The most annoying thing is that the nozzle plugs up and you have to poke out the debris with a long stick. It would be better if the nozzle could come apart.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My lil sugar
(June 27, 2014)
I named my little dyson Sugar, since suga means suck in Swedish and I thought the name appropriate since these smaller canister vacuums are so cute! But don't let the looks fool you, this lil thing is a beast.
I bought my DC47 recently but haven't used it at home yet since I just moved, however I did take it to work and cleaned my office which I don't think has been vacuumed for years. I think I could taxidermy a small animal out of the amount of hair it pulled and we're talking about only a cubicle sized office. I'm so impressed with the weight, how easy I can get to every little nook and cranny by the way the nozzle rotates. There were some long hairs that did get tangled up in the nozzle but since I'm easily able to remove it, it took but a minute to get it clean again. It's really quiet too and just overall makes me want to use it more often. I don't see vacuuming so much a burden anymore! Highly recommend this model if you hate upright vacuums like me, got a small place, and have tight spots you need to get to.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC47 Animal Not Worth It
(June 27, 2014)
Too small a canister, too short a cord and way too much money. Works great on tile and wood, but you always have to unplug it to move 15-20 ft. Not right for a home with two labs. Huge disappointment. My upright Dyson is so much better. Would like my money back.
Review 13 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Beater brush and dirt cup design is badly flawed
(June 27, 2014)
After having this vacuum for one month, the beater brush now turns itself off randomly while cleaning my carpet. I pry the button into the "on" position (which isn't user friendly at all, no other vacuum I've ever used required me to use my nails to pry a button out), and the beater bar turns off almost immediately after being placed on the carpet again.
I've also got pets, and thus, a lot of pet hair in my dirt cup. With my old vacuum, I could just press a button and everything would fall out. With my Dyson DC47, only the dust comes out - the hair remains stuck between the cyclonic thingie and the side of the cup, meaning I have to touch my vacuumed dirt and hair every single time I empty the vacuum.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
What a nice surprise
(June 27, 2014)
I have two other Dyson vacuums that are about 6-8 years old. (1 upright model, 1 floor model) I decided to purchase the DC47 because my older floor model needed a hefty repair after I dropped it and broke the entire housing. I found a reasonable price on an "Amazon Flash Deal" so I bought it. The DC47 shows how the Dyson products have positively evolved. I like the larger attachment that has multi-directional knuckle at the end which allows for vacuuming in any direction, any angle. It also seems to have more suction power than I remember my prior model having. Once you plug in the DC47, set it down, start it up, it will easily follow you around the room! I've never seen anything like it before. Though I recommend an upright for larger areas with carpeting, I prefer this one for my home that has hardwood, tile, and area rugs throughout.
As a household with two long-haired Australian Shepherd family members, the Dyson Animal works fabulously on the miniature Aussie "dust-bunnies" that seem to find their way to the small areas under chairs, couch, and bedroom furniture. Overall, I can highly recommend this product to friends or anyone contemplating its purchase.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 Animal
(June 23, 2014)
I like this so much better than my upright Dysons, which have many faults. This DC 47 is lightweight--which I wanted for stairs, furniture, etc. It is smaller than I anticipated but still has good suction. It is great for stairs. The upright is awful for stairs. DC47 cord is much too short but I realize it needs to retract into that little machine. The cord is flexible--the upright cord is a nightmare. The upright is stiff, cannot straighten where it bends when put back on machine and is the most annoying part. Also, the hose on the upright is so stiff that it will not expand more than a foot or so. The DC 47 cord is short but great. My daughter has the DC3? Animal and loves it. I used it at her house and decided to buy the DC47 even though I said I would never again buy a Dyson. So, I have only had this machine for a month, but so far I like it and it does remove cat hair along with dirt and dust from most every surface.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it, picks up my 2 cats pet hair quite well!
(June 22, 2014)
This works very well and picks up pet hair quite easily. I would agree no longer cord would be nice but an extension cord will help this as well and most of us have those in our homes. I like the compact features as I can now clean my carpeted stairway and the suction power is fantastic! Thanks Dyson.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent, but carpet attachment to small
(June 20, 2014)
I really, really love how the DC47 animal performs. Unparalleled suction for an extraordinary clean. My only detraction is that the the carpet attachment is too small for my liking. Since it covers less surface area, it takes more effort to vacuum up a large carpet.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 Animal
(June 16, 2014)
Great on hardwood and area rugs. Cord is short.
Review 19 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great!!
(June 16, 2014)
This is an awesome vacuum, the only thing that could me better that it needs to come with a spatula of sort to remove dirt from canister and a brush to dust it off. Other then this it picks up great.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Not just a pretty face
(June 6, 2014)
This little guy has great suction and is not as delicate as it looks. It does a great job on my carpet, hardwood floors, and tile floors. The attachments are so easy to use, I find myself cleaning areas that I don't usually do because previously it was too much trouble. I have a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel that sheds all over my house. This vacuum gets all her hair plus the pine pellets that I use in her litter box. I really love it. I also bought the articulating hardwood floor atachment. I'm very happy with it also.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>