Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

The DC47 animal canister vacuum has our latest 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones. 32 cyclones work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust. And with our latest Ball™ technology, DC47 turns on the spot. It’s compact, making it easy to store and light to pull. Includes the Dyson Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpet and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (194 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
57
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
183 of 194(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Excellent!
(January 26, 2015)
The DC47 Animal is the newest version of Dyson's canister vacuum cleaner and it is much improved.
It is more powerful and maneuverable. The brush transitions easily from surface to surface. The brush starts with no hesitation, has more bristles and can be used on all surfaces. And this model cleans better and is easier to put together than the previous one.
This model builds on all the features of the previous one: there is no motor except the one in the vacuum, it is easy to clean, it does not require bags and the directions are clear and concise.
Dyson engineering is far superior to any other vacuum I have used. If you are in the market for a new vacuum cleaner, I highly recommend that you purchase a Dyson!
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Thrulled
(January 23, 2015)
Have wanted a Dyson for a long time. We got the DC47 Animal - just bought a new home. Have used sharks in the past - such a mess, and after a while the clasps on the canister wire loose, and clogging happens a lot. With two little boys and a dog - just ready for a higher quality vac that DELIVERS on its promises! Couldn't be more happy - convenient, powerful - the accessory packs are well worth the investment if you have a larger home and PLENTY to clean. :)
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson animal
(January 23, 2015)
I really enjoy using the new dyson animal I recently purchased. The arm is very lightweight but incredibly effective. The first use was incredible to see my carpet come back to life. The carpet was fluffed and looked great after the first vacuum. The suction is phenomenal compared to my previous vacuum. Using the attachments with the extended arm makes dusting cobwebs and fan blades easier than ever. I have tile, hardwood and carpeting though my home and with the main fixture on the arm I can clean the whole house with just one cleaning tool. I am So happy to have and use my new dyson animal, so much so, that I find myself vacuuming far more frequently than I ever have.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Upright and Cannister vacuum
(January 23, 2015)
I have had an upright Dyson for many years and love it. The customer service is unbelievably good. I just purchased a cannister type and I love it also. It is very light and manuvuers around furniture easily and picks up next to the wall very well. The attachments are very easy to switch and you can take the head off and use just the wand very easily. The cord has a button to wind it up easily where my upright I had to wrap it around the vacuum. The cord is a little little longer on the upright so I don't have to switch plugs as often. They are very dependable well made machines. They are both excellent vacuums and I would definitely recommend a Dyson.
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Finally
(January 21, 2015)
My Daughter asked me if I cleaned my carpet one day, nope just vacuumed w/ my new Dyson!. Yeah the ball does tip over but I can clean under any small space of furniture I have! Bed,bookshelf etc... Love the automatic cord button. The vacuume head is great for one room cleaning. So I had with great pleasure to go out and buy the Animal DC 65 since my living room and dining room carpets are big.
Thank you for your time Dyson! It was well worth making this vacuum!
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
It's ok but is lacking
(January 19, 2015)
I got this because I was vacuuming with my upright dyson with the wand and it was hurting my back, so I thought I could stand more upright with the DC47. I am disappointed in how short the cord is, because the upright has such a wonderful long cord. Also the crevice tool with brush is not very sturdy, could even be called cheap. I will not hold up to a lot of heavy cleaning. It was an impulse buy and I will keep it and use it, but was disappointed in the quality compared to my older upright.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Machine
(January 19, 2015)
This was a present from my daughter and din in law replacing a dyson we loaned them. This one is more compact and I really like the size and ease of use. This is the 4th dyson vacuum we own and love all of them!! Wouldn't use any other vacuum ever again!
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC45 Animal
(January 16, 2015)
I just purchased the DC 47 Animal after using the DC39 Animal for 2+ yrs. I have a 1 1/2 story home and am using the smaller DC47 for my upstairs and my DC39 for the main floor. The suction is fabulous and it is amazing how easy it is to operate under bedroom furniture and around the bathroom.I have two long haired cats so, it's necessary to vacuum at least twice a week. The only drawback is the cord is alittle short. Other than that I love my Dyson's!!!
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent machine
(January 16, 2015)
I am so happy with this vacuum! It had wonderful suction. It is so lightweight and the size of the brush head is able to get into very small spaces. The attachments work well. It picks up an enormous amount of pet hair. The only down side I have found so far is I feel the cord is too short. No other complaints
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it!!!
(January 16, 2015)
We love our Dyson so so much!! It works awesome and picks up everything!!! I will never go back to a regular vacuum again.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum
(January 16, 2015)
I received this vacuum as a Christmas gift and I am impressed with it.
The look of Dyson vacuum cleaners are seccond to none. I have always liked the look of Dysons even before I needed a vacuum. Usually I dislike plastics however, the plasic that Dyson uses feels much more sturdy than competitors. I love the metallic color, and matte feel of the vacuum is great in the hand.
The vacuum assembles very sturdy the ball technology is great for the canister vac, it was designed very well and you can almost forget the handpiece is attached to the canister and just pull it along effortlessly. The retractable cord even comes out as needed and retracts itself at the push of the button, it is an excellent experience! There is a unique trigger on the hand piece that stops suction power incase you pick something up that gets stuck on the end of the vacuum (like a sock or plastic bag) I have not seen this on other vacuums and it raises the bar on what I expect from future vacuums.
The cleaning power is exellent. I live in a condo and was using the Dyson cordless until I recieved this. After cleaning with this the dust receptacle was full of dust and debris that the cordless missed! Thanks to it being a canister design it can go pretty much everywhere the cordless could too.
Storage is wonderful for the attachments that are included. There is a place to mount all the peices so they will be in reach while making your way through the house, except the pet hair remover. I assume there is no mountable place for it because it is an "extra" peice that is not included in the base model.
Another great product from Dyson! Thank you for producing products that look as good as they function! It is companies like you that raise the bar and ultimately allow the consumers to get the most from their products!
Review 12 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 Canister vacuum
(January 14, 2015)
Love the machine. It's easy to use and the suction is great. Picks up everything and even works on my low shag carpets. Only problem is the assembly instructions - they are terrible. And there isn't any explanation of the attachments. Can't figure out what the small end piece with brushes and half the size of the standard one - what is it for? I've watched the videos and still don't know. And what is considered a delicate floor? Other than that, this vacuum is wonderful. But I don't know how long it will last since it's plastic. Also don't like to have to clean filters.
Review 13 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT
(January 11, 2015)
I have always wanted a Dyson but was a skeptic like most people. I Bought a DC47 for a Christmas present!! I am absolutely amazed by Dyson and this vacuum!! Dyson makes a fantastic product and the engineering and thought that goes into these machines is amazing!! This is the best vacuum i have ever owned!! The suction is unbelievable even for how compact it is. I thought my home was clean until i started using this little guy! I am blown away by the amount of dust and dirt it picks up!!! I would recommend this product and Dyson to anyone that asks!! Defiantly worth the money i am a Dyson owner for life now!!
Review 14 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum
(January 6, 2015)
Love that it fits under furniture. It does a great job and is light and easy to use.
Only wish it had a bigger dust catcher so I don't have to empty it so often. Does a great job on cat hair too
Review 15 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
amazed
(January 4, 2015)
This little baby is a dream come true when it comes to vacuums. This is my second Dyson. I just sold my first,due to I needed something smaller,because,of spine problems. Amazing,easy to use,easy to clean. The cord is more than sufficent. I always cleaned my other Dyson after each use,so don't mind cleaning.I always would get the longer cords caught on something,so don't mind cord. Powerful, easy to use,I just had my hairdresser cut my hair. WE were curious as to how well it would clean up hair from carpet, WE were shocked at how quickly it picked the hair up. I love this baby. I have had two other top line of vacuums in my lifetime,thinking how great they were. This tops them all.
Review 16 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
excellent product
(January 3, 2015)
no problem about any things. amazing suction. highly recommended
Review 17 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson DC47 animal
(January 2, 2015)
I love how the Dyson DC47 animal performs. We have wood floors throughout the house. When I used the vacuum the first time, I picked up more dirt than I could ever have imagined!
My biggest concern is the weight of the canister- I like to hold the canister while I vacuum. It is a little heavy.
Review 18 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent
(January 1, 2015)
I love my dyson dc47 so much I've bought a dc25 and I'm looking forward to buying another dyson product. I've had several vacuum cleaners and I have not enjoyed cleaning my house at all as I have now using my dc47. I actually can't wait to vacuum the carpets. I love it.
Review 19 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Wonderful vacuum
(December 29, 2014)
I have been using my new Dyson for a couple of months and I absolutely love it. It's light, great suction, easy to get around and all in all I'm so happy with my choice of a Dyson DC47 Animal.
Review 20 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC47 review
(December 29, 2014)
I love this machine! My house even feels cleaner. Love it because it is light-weight but still a work-horse. No animal fur safe with this machine around.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>