Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

The DC47 animal canister vacuum has our latest 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones. 32 cyclones work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust. And with our latest Ball™ technology, DC47 turns on the spot. It’s compact, making it easy to store and light to pull. Includes the Dyson Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpet and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
48
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
4
142 of 153(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
excellent
(November 19, 2014)
I have all pros and no cons. I love it that ther is no bag and I can watch the container and I can take the bush out and clean out the hair. And most importantly It cleans really well.
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dc47 is a compact efficient machine
(November 18, 2014)
I really like this vacuum and the suction is usually very good on it.. The only issue is that the end of the tube that goes into the unit has a curve and I have had to remove some things that got stuck in there and impaired the suction. Having said that, I love the agility, suction, and light weight features of this vacuum!
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dc47
(November 18, 2014)
I totally love my dc47. I have owned several vacuums in my life and the dc47 is by far the best one I've ever had. Thank you for suck an awesome product.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum
(November 16, 2014)
All I can say is this vacuum works great. I have hardwood floors and this thing rocks.
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
(November 16, 2014)
After a lot of research, I decided to buy the DC47 and it's an excellent vacuum cleaner. It's easy to handle and does a great job. So glad I chose this one.
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very disappointed...
(November 15, 2014)
After the amount of money that I spent for this vacuum, I had very high hopes that it would be much better than the cheaper one that I currently owned. I am very disappointed. While it has great suction for dust and hair, it will not pick up small things such as a tiny piece of cat litter or a small leaf/piece of grass without detaching the brush and using the wand (huge inconvenience after repeatedly doing so throughout the house). The brush head is tiny, so it requires a lot more work to cover the area than any other vacuum would require. It doesn't fluff up the carpet for that freshly vacuumed appearance. The brush head clogs with hair to the point where I had to take out scissors 3 times during one session of cleaning to cut out the hair. I never even once had to do that to a vacuum cleaner my whole life until using this! Also, the cord is very, very short, so I frequently have to unplug the cleaner and search for another outlet.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
this thing ROCKS
(November 9, 2014)
This is the best vacuum we've ever owned! We have 2 cats, a dog and a toddler and this thing keeps our 2 bedroom apt clean as a whistle. I never write reviews so the fact that I'm writing this is a testament to how much we like our dyson :)
Thanks for such an awesome product!!!!
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best vacuum I ever owned!
(November 9, 2014)
This is an amazing vacuum. I have two pets and it works perfectly for me. My house is two bedrooms I have carpet through the house and I have a very clean house now! I have went through a lot of vacuums and in fact my husband calls me the vacuum killer. This Dyson is amazing it's sturdy,it's a light weight, and it pulls all of the animal hair out of the carpet. Thank you Dyson.
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Great Product
(November 8, 2014)
Our dogs shed A LOT! The DC47 Animal takes care of that, and it does so much more. Its compact design allows us to use it in small areas where a regular vacuum wouldn't fit,. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Look out pet hair
(November 8, 2014)
I've only had for about a month but in that time it's had to pick up stuff that my old vacuum cleaner left behind. Has great suction, is light weight to move around and easy to clean. All the attachments work wonderful. I have a lot of pets and finally feel my rug and furniture are actually very clean. It is the best vacuum I have ever purchased and would not own anything else. Well worth the money.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Not bad
(November 7, 2014)
Okay. So we've had the old heavy yellow upright Dyson for probably 12 years. It's great! I was able to clean our apartment and see all the Legos my boys had left out as they spun around the canister. But when we moved to our house 8 years ago I found it a challenge to use it on the stairs. Sure the hose stretched the full length, but there was no brush to beat or massage the dirt loose.
Many moons later, and two more sons, I picked up the little purple 47 to handle the upstairs rooms, the stairs, and for getting cat hair off the furniture. I was a little dismayed with its performance though. It could really use a hose that stretches and more power like it's set sibling. But I will keep it. After all, it does a great job u der the beds, on the furniture, (and I love that the ball following me scares the heck out of the cats).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
So nice and light!
(November 7, 2014)
Getting older I hated dragging around my heavy and bulky canister so didn't do a lot of things I should have done. This Dyson is so light and picks up everything so much more efficiently than my old canister. I used the small tool to clean all my window sills, it was just the right size. I am so happy with my Dyson.
Review 13 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic vacuum for Pet owners!
(November 7, 2014)
We have a 40 lb. dog with short hair that sheds like crazy! We definitely needed a vacuum that could handle all the mess she makes. Well, this product definitely does it! It not only picks up all the hair from the carpets, but also does a fantastic job picking up any loose dirt that the dog tracks onto the carpets as well.
My husband and I agree that we will never buy another Brand of vacuum again!
Review 14 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
dc47 works like a charm.
(October 31, 2014)
it is the first time i brought a dyson machine and i cant tell you what a big suprise it was. it cleans easier than any other machine i ever had. it picks up dog hair so good its amazing.
Review 15 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Vac EVER
(October 30, 2014)
I love my Dyson! Best vac purchase I have ever made! I was a die hard Electrolux customer for years. I decided to try a Dyson. I'll never own another brand again!
Review 16 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great machine, minor issues.
(October 29, 2014)
First off, this machine does what it claims. The No tangle hair tool is great, the cleaner heads capture tons of dust. I couldn't believe it. I've gone through several vacuums and this is my first Dyson and I'm very impressed. It works great on lots of surfaces, I've cleaned my interior car cabin with it. Great job all around. So far I have only a few minor complaints. Taking off the cap to unjam the cleaner head is horrible. No tool is provided and I called the support line they told me to use a quarter, so I did and it stripped the plastic. Within the first 3 hours of usage I had to unjam the cleaner head 4 times and each time I removed the cap it got stripped further. This cap won't even last a few months/days at this rate. The next problem is where the long arm attaches to the unit. It's a flimsy slide in mechanism that is useless. The concept is fantastic but they really need to make it lock into the vacuum with a latch/button/magnet/lock/click anything. The entire arm piecehad a great click-button attachment so why didn't they use that on the arm to main unit attachment? The trash container is far far too small, smaller than I expected. I have to empty it several times in an hour. Cleaning of the container and filter is simple and cost effective. But how do you clean the cyclones? ? The purple plastic cyclone part is filthy with dust yet you can not rinse or put water near it. So I guess leave it dirty forever? Get a brush and dig in deep? For a brand like this and such a high cost product I would expect it to have all these annoyances worked out during it's development. Maybe the next version will resolve the problems. Also, the width of the cleaner heads are small, doesn't cover too much area. Oh and a bit short on the power cord.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(October 26, 2014)
Overall a good machine. Superior suction power. Having power on / off and beater bar stop on handle would be helpful. Longer cord would also be good. Honestly though, it is an expensive piece of plastic.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Not what I thought
(October 26, 2014)
The DC47 Animal is my 3rd Dyson. I love them all, but having ordered this one online the size was not what I thought when I ordered it. It has great suction, but the motor head is very small so it takes forever to vacuum a room. It also turns the canister over easily if you pull it too fast. Does not seem to be very stable.
I inquired about a different motor head, but there does not seem to be a bigger one that would fit this model. Wish I had shopped in store before spending this much money on such a small machine.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I love my DC47 Animal !!
(October 24, 2014)
I have two cata, one of them is long hair. Tumbleweeds of her hair accumulate in ever corner and tiny crevice in my apartment. My old upright could not handle this. I dreamed of geting a Dyson for years.
Now that i have my petite powerhouse at home, I love the power, of course, but I did not expect how much it's light weight and easy maneuverability would make my vacuming experience so much easier. To my own benefit, I'm actually vacuuming a lot more!
i would have liked to give the DC47 a rating of 4.5, but I only had the choice of 4 or 5. My only complaint is that the DC47 is awkward to store. My old upright was kept out of sight behind my bedroom door. This little model is harder to hide unless you take it apart.
While I adore the retractable cord, I wish Dyson could figure out how to incorporate a retractable hose. Nevertheless, this issue is minor when held up against themany good points of my favorite vacuum.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
love it
(October 20, 2014)
Got a great deal on it at Sears and really love it...killer suction, really lightweight, easy, easy, easy to use and store and reach into tiny spaces and corners.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>