Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC47 Animal

The DC47 animal canister vacuum has our latest 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones. 32 cyclones work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust. And with our latest Ball™ technology, DC47 turns on the spot. It’s compact, making it easy to store and light to pull. Includes the Dyson Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpet and upholstery. $EmbeddedVideo:DC47 Animal (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer recommendation92%11 of 12reviewers would recommend the DC47 Animal to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC47 Animal
Review 1 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiny but mighty
June 4, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Dyson's DC47 design is 1) visually appealing and 2) ergonomically comfortable during both use and carrying when done.
I have small rural home, and we park our vehicles on dirt - so you KNOW there's a lot of dirt (very silty) that comes in the door no matter how much we wipe our shoes on door mats. Through the years, I've had several other brands, some with bags, some bagless, but NOTHING with suction like the Dyson!
I was okay with ordering this small unit because our house is less than 1200 sq ft. Yes, I have to move the plug more than once when vacuuming the whole house, but I did with my other vacuums, too. What was surprising was how often I had to empty the bin the first time I used it (if I don't vacuum often, I may have to empty it after every room - but to me, that just shows how well this vacuum cleans and gives me incentive to vacuum more often). This unit pulls up FAR more dirt than any other vacuum I've ever used. We have laminate floors with area rugs and my first use with the Dyson shocked me; I had no idea how much dirt the area rugs were holding! My rugs look newer and feel fluffier now. The upholstery tool works wonders on cat hair and the crevice tool makes keeping my bookshelves clean a breeze.
The internal washable filter is great, but it does take 24 hours to dry (sometimes a little longer in our humid Louisiana weather), so I ordered an extra (be aware it's not listed online, but was able to use the chat function on the website and get it ordered - thanks Dyson!); that should resolve the only drawback I've found.
Wish I had bought a Dyson years ago!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC 47 Animal
June 8, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I love this vacumme!! It's easy to move, and it picks up great. I also love the fact I can get under all my furniture with the full power of the suction. I have the cordless handheld I use for quick pick ups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine I would buy it again
June 25, 2015
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The first go around it fills up quick. because of the extra power and the tank is smaller. but that is a great trade off. the pet hair brush works great. Also Great for cleaning the Car. I have a tri- level with tile carpet, laminate fllooring .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC47 Animal
June 25, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is my favorite vacuum by far out of the four I own. It is lightweight, cleans exceptionally well. Gets all the fine dust you can't even see. Love love love. My house feels so clean when I use it. I can not stand feeling dirt on my feet, have a lot of floor and spend a lot of time vacuuming and with this vacuum I can relax with clean floors.Thank you Dyson. You are the bomb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Vacuum - needs a longer cord
April 8, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is my second Dyson vacuum. My first, which I still have, is an Animal DC14. I used that vacuum for everything I could. Retiring to a home without any carpeting prompted me to purchase a canister vacuum, and of course the only consideration was a Dyson. I love everything about the DC47 except the power cord length. When using the DC14 I was able to do my entire house alternating between two outlets. Now, with the DC47 I can't do an entire room without moving the plug several times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC47 Animal Review
April 9, 2015
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I received this as gift and if I were to purchase a Dyson, I'm not sure I would have choose this. It works fine on my hardwood floors but is not best on carpet. If your whole house is hard flooring I think it would work great! If you have carpet with a high pile, I would suggest a different Dyson vacuum.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC47Animal
April 25, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I really like that this sweeper is very light weight and small, I can carry it up the steps as I clean. It does a great job of picking up pet hair. I did have to take it in to a repair shop when the brush stopped spinning on the floor attachment and Dyson replaced it under warranty. I have been having the same problem again in the last month or so and I think that maybe this is a flaw with this particular attachment. I have not contacted Dyson about this but will if it continues to happen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small & Powerful
July 28, 2015
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This vacuum is both small & powerful.
The Pros are:
- Sucks up everything in its pathway with great power.
- Doesn't get clogged by pet hair.
- Has many attachments for every job.
- Light weight easy to move around.
- Durable. I've dropped mine a few times and it keeps on running.
The Cons are:
- Very small space from the hose to the canister gets clogged easily with larger items picked up.
- Small canister needs to be emptied frequently & usually not just with the push of the canister button. I usually have to pull the dirt out by hand due to the small space and the large amount of hair.
- Pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly Amazing!
August 13, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We moved into a home and was informed that the carpets were "professionally" cleaned. Once we started vacuuming, we discovered that either that was not the case or the "professionals" did an extremely poor job. Dyson has done it again with this excellent, easy to maneuver vacuum. Within the first hour of vacuuming, we filled it up almost twice. It found dog hair that was buried deep into the carpet. It works very well on hardwood floors as well. I intend to purchase one of these for my Mom because it is such a great product. Kudos Dyson.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum
August 13, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Received the Dyson DC47 as a gift. It's one of the best gifts you could ever ask for. Not only does it do a great job vacuuming, but it's easy to use and can reach places that are not usually vacuumed with our regular vacuum. Works great, it really sucks and is easy to do stairs with and even easy to empty (which is good because you will need to do it often).
A great vacuum which is easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC47 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 14, 2015
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I like my Dyson, it is very light and easy to maneuver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for DC47 Animal
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1reviewers would recommend the DC47 Animal to a friend.