Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(889 Reviews) 862
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 889 reviews
5 stars
743
4 stars
113
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer recommendation96%855 of 889of reviewers would recommend the Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
DC41 Animal
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Reviewed onJanuary 19, 2012
My husband recently purchased this vacuum for me as a christmas present. I previously have owned a Dyson for about 8 years or so. I always said I would never buy another vacuum unless it was a Dyson. After using this DC41 I am so disappointed. I feel the quality on this product is horrible!!!! I feels like plastic and every time i use it I am afraid it is going to fall apart. Today i went to take the wand off and tube to get a piece of paper out of the bottom that was stuck, and that was such a hassle!!! You need to have a screw driver and don't press to hard it may break. I will not buy another Dyson. If you have previously owned a Dyson and are looking for a newer model, do not purchase the DC41, you will not be impressed!!!!
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer Service January 24, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. Dyson machines are constructed with ABS plastic. ABS is a tough thermoplastic used to make light, rigid and molded products. It has good shock absorbing properties and is used to make car bumpers, crash helmets and modern golf club heads. If you need to remove a blockage from your machine we are happy to walk you through the simple trouble shooting steps over the phone.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also find more information about maintaining your machine please visit http://www.dyson.com/support/default.asp.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
upset!
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Reviewed onDecember 27, 2012
Never EVER again will I buy another dyson!! Less than a yr old and it's died on me twice. It was wonderful when I first bought it, it cleaned perfectly and I loved the ball on it...made vaccuuming so easy. But when I started having problems with it, I emailed in and spoke with someone ( I have all my emails) after a few email back and forth, I was sent one with a list of things to do to fix it MYSELF !! Really ???? myself ?? I spent $600 on my dyson. I am so tired of buying vaccuums I could scream. I met up with a couple at the Pueblo West, CO Walmart at the Black Friday sale, they were looking at getting a dyson...once I told them my experience with trying to get mine fixed, they walked away from it. You can bet I'll continue to spread my disatisfaction !
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
Was Hoping For More...
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Reviewed onDecember 28, 2012
After adopting a dog last September I did way more research than I had in the past on a vacuum cleaner because our new dog shed more than we could imagine! I was so excited to get my new Dyson because of all the "suction" power for animal hair and of course all of my research would certainly prove to be positive. At first the cleaner worked very well at picking up the dog hair. Then the power button broke. I took it to a Dyson "trained" mechanic in which it took over 2 months to get my new cleaner back. Oh yea, this authorized mechanic is 30 minutes from my house. I had to go purchase a back up vacuum just to take care of my household needs. I had my cleaner back for about 1 month when it broke again. This time it appears to be the motor. I have had many other higher end cleaners in the past with no real issues. This is the first vacuum that has given me such a hassle. I asked Dyson to replace my unit as I must have purchased a lemon, but as customer service stated they needed to evaluate the product before they could replace it. This time I sent the cleaner back to Dyson via UPS; this was closer to my home but still a pain. Dyson told me a turn around time of 7 days by sending it in directly to them...well, this must have been a mistake as I am sitting here after sending my vacuum in over 2 weeks ago and still no Dyson or even any type of update!
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
Very disappointed!
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Reviewed onDecember 29, 2012
I previously owned older animal model for 8 years and loved it until it died. This newer model does not come close to the performance and quality of the old model. Parts (canister and tools) seem very cheap compared to last model and are not as functional as older unit. Suction is not as good as last model on carpet or wood floors. Making the unit lock into upright position is not a good design. When it does finally lock into position, it will fall over easily when using attachments. You cannot roll the unit across the floor on back "wheels" without it collapsing so you have to carry the unit across to the other side of the house. Cord constantly gets caught on "wheels". I recommended previous unit to many friends and they have been very satisfied. Would not recommend this unit to anyone. Not worth the money. Waste of $600. It feels like they did not test this unit with people who actually use a vacuum cleaner.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
Reviewed onFebruary 9, 2013
I've had this approx. 1 yr. Feels cheaply built. Access to the hose is a huge pain -- difficult to use, too short. They must not have intended to it to be used. Don't like not having a button to push to let handle down. When finished sweeping, handle will not always stay in upright position. My daughter has had another model of Dyson for several years and loves hers. She does not like mine for all the reasons stated above.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the location of your extension hose and your reclining mechanism. Insights such as these are helpful to our engineers.

Your DC41 is made from modified blends of materials selected for strength, flexibility and tolerance. Many parts are made from polypropylene reinforced with 20% glass fibres and high-impact PC-ABS. Using these materials means greater strength from less plastic - so the machine is lightweight.

When you return your vacuum to the upright position, you will hear a slight click indicating it has locked. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to confirm your upright lock is engaging properly.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
so dissapointed
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Reviewed onFebruary 16, 2013
I purchased the dyson dc41 after a friend recommended it to me. It arrived and was reasonably easy to assemble. It cleans my carpet well but my dissapointment is with the attachments and use on the staircase. The hose is not long enough to reach the top stair when cleaning the staircase where as my old vacuum cleaner reached all the way to the top. The pet hair attachment fails to pick up all the hair left on the staircase. Therefor i regret paying the price for a machine that faiis to do the job i expected from it.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the length of your hose. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the length of your hose. Insights such as these are helpful to our engineers.

If you have any additional questions please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
Are you serious Dyson?
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Reviewed onMarch 14, 2013
It is the worst vac I've ever used. The attachments and the hose are literally torture. The hose is not flexible so the vacuum hits you every time you try to pull the hose. It feels so cheaply made and heavy to move around. The hose does not fit back into the machine well and therefore the suction will only come through the hose. It takes a few attempts to get the thing to stand upright and feels like its going to break. I cannot understand how anyone has given this machine a good review. At the price this thing is sold for it should be a crime. What a disappointment! I wish I could have given it no stars.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceMay 14, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine.

While we anticipate the hose on your DC41 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this.

Your DC41 is made from modified blends of materials selected for strength, flexibility and tolerance. Many parts are made from polypropylene reinforced with 20% glass fibres and high-impact PC-ABS. Using these materials means greater strength from less plastic - so the machine is lightweight. However, we value your feedback regarding your DC41 hose and construction.

We would value the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly. Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
major loss of suction at bin seal
Gender:Male
Age:55-64
Reviewed onMarch 17, 2013
I was impressed for a while and enjoyed this machine for several months. Then we began to notice it sounding different and not doing the job it used to. What I found was that the seal on the side of the bin thats supposed to be sucked in with the vacuum on had developed a gap and wasn't sealing completely. With the machine off, there is about a 3/8" gap on one end of the rubber seal and the suction is supposed to close this gap, but a fold has develop in the rubber seal leading to this loss of suction. The rubber seal is not replaceable. A bungee cord helped for a while but ...
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceMarch 27, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulty with the performance of your machine. The problem you described with the gasket is unusual. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide further assistance in this matter.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. We look forward to speaking with you.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
1 out of 5
889 reviews
1 out of 5
DC 41 Animal
Gender:Male
Age:25-34
Reviewed onApril 9, 2013
We bought this vacuum because we have had a dyson for a long time and have been very happy with it. But when we bought this vacuum it was a little flimsier than the old dyson that we had. The other problem that I cant seem to fix or see if there is any adjustment to is the base plate. I know that it is designed to go over all different types of flooring without having to change any settings. However I have new carpet and its not anything special, no shag carpet, nor is the carpet thick. Pushing this vacuum on our carpet is next to impossible. I would think that my grandmother would be able to use this vacuum but such is not the case. I have to push this thing across the carpet pretty hard and it shouldn't be that way. If this vacuum didn't have this issue I would keep it, but because my wife nor I are happy with it we are going to return it unless Dyson has any fixes or solutions? Maybe a different vacuum or model??
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceMay 10, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41 Animal. We are sorry to hear you are finding your machine difficult to push. As you mentioned, your DC41 Animal has an active base plate that is engineered to make optimal contact with all of your floor types, however, we would value an opportunity to discuss your concerns.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You are also welcome to email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Not as sturdy as older models
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Reviewed onDecember 27, 2011
Great suction, but the device doesn't appear as sturdy as older models. Wand removal and replacement is awkward and doesn't seem as solid as older models. The head has problems getting larger items. As an example, there were styrofoam crumbs on the hardwood floor after unpacking the vacuum. We tried to use the DC41 to pick those up but it just moved them around. Pulled out the old reliable DC25 and had no problems. Another issue is with trying to lock the handle in place. With my old unit, you just lift and it would lock in place quite easily. With the DC41 I find I have to block the head with my foot and then raise the arm to get it to lock. I love the suction of this device, but I am concerned about the sturdiness and longevity. It will be interesting to see which Dyson I'm using in another month or so. I suspect it will be the DC25.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer Service December 30, 2011
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. If an item is too large to be picked up by the cleaner head you may want to use the quick draw wand as an alternative. The wand is engineered to help with quick pick ups, high reach and hard to reach cleaning. We would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns with the handle and the machine staying upright. We have emailed you as well and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Definately not the best dyson......
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Reviewed onFebruary 5, 2012
This is my 5th dyson vacuum I have owned, and after using it for a few months, I decided to write a review, though I typically never do this, but I do read the reviews. I am glad I still kept my old dyson vacuum on top of buying this one. This one has some great features, it maneuvers around wonderfully and the filters are very easy to clean and its very sleek looking, however, it does not pick up the great at all to be honest. I have a long hair dog, only one in the home. I vacuum probably 2 to 3 times a day as I am pretty picky about hair and stuff, and with my Dyson DC 24 I only have to sweep over an area once, with this one, it is at least 2-3 times and then it sorta picks things up. I am not at all impressed with the suction power of this machine. My advice would be to buy an older animal dyson vacuum. This one also is a little more lightweight which is good. I have sworn by Dyson for a long time. My husband also says the same thing, it doesnt pick up too great at all. I am just trying to be honest.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 7, 2012
Thank you for continuing to purchase Dyson machines. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your DC41. Based on the details you provided we would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you over the phone to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
DC41 needs re-engineering; Awesome Customer svc.!
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Reviewed onApril 30, 2012
On the customer service side, I have been extremely pleased and impressed with Dyson's representatives and their responsiveness. Jessica has been outstanding- very knowledgeable, great communications skills, friendly and professional, and she helped me tremendously. Additionally, my thanks to Ryan, who also provided excellent service. I consider the customer service from Dyson to be significantly above average. I even received a call from Steve today to make sure I was satisfied with their service. I could not be more complimentary about Dyson's service- simply superlative.
About the product itself- I wanted to love this vacuum and I had high hopes for it. It is the most expensive vacuum I have ever purchased. I had heard a lot about it and saw many commercials that impressed me.
I bought the DC 41 about 5 months ago because I have a Golden Retriever who sheds a lot. Since it was called "The Animal" and has a special attachment for pet hair, I thought my clean-up troubles were over. Frankly, the pet hair attachment is useless. I tried and tried for a long time to sweep up my dog's hair from the car upholstery and it did no good at all, it just pushed the hair around. I have never had this problem with other attachments on prior vacuums- at least they would vacuum up some of the hair. This attachment does not work.
As an upright vacuum, I have found the DC 41 to do a very good job on my nylon wall to wall carpets. I still have to go over my wool area rug repeatedly to get up the dog hair, and it never gets it all, but it performs better than my last vacuum in that regard. It definitely has superior suction capabilities, as advertised.
With superior suction, I believe you need a bigger dust bin. The dust bin is not large enough and gets jammed up too easily with dog hair and dirt. The dirt gets stuck around the purple component inside the bin. I vacuum about 5 times a week, and I have to clean the bin more than once while vacuuming each time. I always have to dig the dirt out with my hands because of it getting stuck inside. This is not what I was anticipating at all from viewing the commercials- I understood that the dirt was supposed to drop out of the dust bin by itself when you push the discard button, which never happens. I do not want to have to touch the dirt with my hands! Why not have a mechanism that ejects the dirt and hair, rather than just a trap door? This seems to be a basic design flaw and makes me question whether this vacuum was ever tested with a long-haired pet.
The cord is positioned badly- it is always in the way as I work. It should be centered and high up, rather than midway and on the right, so that it is in an optimum neutral position whether you are right or left-handed, and so that it is out of the way. The engineers need to look at this again.
The ball is too big to fit under most furniture, and navigation with the ball takes a little getting used to, however, I believe it is a functional improvement and it provides superior navigation to a traditional vacuum.
When you are finished vacuuming and want to return the handle to the upright position, it never stays there the first time- the latch is finicky. You have to keep trying to get it to stay upright.
The DC41 only came with 2 tools besides the worthless pet hair tool, and it does not have a light, which I really miss. Using the attachments is awkward and inconvenient because the wand is inside the hose, so it does not bend. You have to remove the wand to use the attachments so that the hose will bend. I noticed this most often trying to do some higher dusting, such as on my window shades and lampshades.
Overall, I have not found this to be worth the big investment. It is a disappointment. I think some re-engineering is in order before I would consider purchasing a Dyson again. This is unfortunate because I have found their customer service to be top notch.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
+56points
58out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
What Happened to the Quality
Gender:Male
Age:Over 65
Reviewed onOctober 19, 2012
The brush mechanism broke within 3 months.
Vacuum (suction was great) but the whole vacuum cleaner was inferior to our other two earlier models. Where did the quality go?
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceOctober 23, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We appreciate your continued support of Dyson technology. The problem you described regarding your brush bar is unusual and we would value the opportunity to trouble shoot with you over the phone. We have contacted you via email and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Is this a common problem?
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Reviewed onDecember 26, 2012
I have owned my Dyson that I received as a gift a month ago and the brush mechanism is not working. It no longer will turn as I am vacuuming. For the expense this is very disappointing and I was wondering what to do now.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Disappointed.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Reviewed onFebruary 20, 2013
I find this machine very cumbersome and heavy and the attachments awkward to use. Hopefully the hose will loosen up someday. Trying to clean my carpeted staircase is a gymnastic feat. Cleaning the canister requires sticking my hand into it to pull out pet hair and dirt. Yuck. The handle never locks into the upright position with one try. Enough of that. I can say the suction is powerful and cleans up after my long haired pet.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your machine. While we anticipate the hose on your DC41 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this. Your clear bin can be emptied with the press of a button. However, if you need to clean your canister further, the clear bin and cyclone can be separated to facilitate this without reaching into the clear bin.

When you return your machine to the upright position, you will hear a slight click indicating your DC41 has locked in place. This should happen each time to you return your vacuum to the upright position. However, we would appreciate the opportunity to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you this information and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Not Happy....
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Reviewed onFebruary 24, 2013
The only thing my husband and I like about this is the ease of turning the vacuum and the weight of it. I wish it had a pedal to release it from the upright position - it seems so cheap and sounds like it's going to fall apart when it finally releases and slams to the floor. When I'm wheeling it back to put it away, it slams down again. I really dislike the hose and wand setup. I've had other vacuums that were designed much better and also sweep just as well. This vacuum is way overpriced for what you get. I did my homework and talked with others before purchasing and find it hard to believe so many people are happy with their purchase.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceMarch 1, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding your wand and hose. Insights such as these are helpful to our engineers.

DC41 machines are made from modified blends of materials selected for strength, flexibility and tolerance. Many parts are made from polypropylene reinforced with 20% glass fibres and high-impact PC-ABS. Using these materials means greater strength from less plastic - so the machine is lightweight. Your machine is intended to recline when the handle is pulled back firmly, lifting the wheels off of the ground. However, the wheels are not designed for transport. If your machine is not in use, to move it to another area it should be picked up by the clear plastic handle with the word “dyson” printed on it.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please don't hesitate to call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Disappointed
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Reviewed onApril 17, 2013
It sucks up the dirt great, but I am constantly having to take apart the bottom to remove all the tangled hair. Using the hose also is difficult.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceApril 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear it is performing properly. Although periodic maintenance of your brush bar is necessary to remove any accumulated debris, washing your filters at least once every three months will ensure your machine has optimal suction, allowing more debris to be pulled directly into the clear bin. Please visit the link below to view filter washing instructions:

http://content.dyson.com/support/help.asp?article=1586&product=DC41-IRSPU

While we anticipate the hose on your DC41 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this.

However, If you are ever in need of assistance, please call 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
2 out of 5
889 reviews
2 out of 5
Not worth the money
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Reviewed onJanuary 7, 2016
The only good thing about this vacuum is, it stands up to the Dyson promise of never losing suction. This machine is cheaply built. I have had numerous issues with this vacuum. With the most recent being the switch to turn the vacuum on, to carpet cleaning mode, just stopped working. For no reason. I haven't even had this vacuum three years. My next purchase will not be from Dyson.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
3 out of 5
889 reviews
3 out of 5
Overall great, but a few design flaws
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Reviewed onJanuary 21, 2012
I've had a DC14 for years. The attachments were always falling off - don't lock on well. Now upgraded to DC41. The attachment storage is poorly placed again. Had the vacuum 2 weeks and already can't find the small attachment - falls off evertime I pull the wand head off above it or if the vacuum hits my leg. Also should have a spot to attach the turbo head. As others have noted, I have the problem with the vacuum not locking into upright position easily, have to lift it to get it to lock. The hose is long, but you can't extend it, it pulls the vacuum with it because......the suction is FANTASTIC. For the price Dyson really should remember the little things too!! People don't mind paying more for the "bells & whistles" but they need to work well and easily. I'm a relatively strong 45 year old woman, so the lifting to lock, etc. I can work around. However, I would not recommed to older friends (who happen to be the demographic to have this kind of money to spend) as they would have difficulty using it. Too bad as if a product is great I make sure to tell everyone I speak with about it.
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 3, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. Although we are unable to offer an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the attachment placement and storage. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place, repeating if necessary. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use. We would like to provide further assistance regarding the upright locking mechanism of your machine. We have emailed you and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call us at 1-866963-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum
Overall 
3 out of 5
889 reviews
3 out of 5
Awesome suction, cumbersome attachments....
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Reviewed onFebruary 20, 2012
I have had my previous vacuum for over 20 years, and it still works....I decided to try the Dyson as a second vacuum for the carpeted areas, and to eliminate the need for carrying a vacuum up and down the stairs of my three story home.
Overall, my carpets are as fluffy as they could be, and I think this is a great vacuum to prep for carpet cleaning (which is frequent if you have pets...).
The vacuum is easily manuvered, and is fun to use. It is a little heavy and akward if you need to carry it up and down stairs. (The guy in the picture must be 6 foot tall!!).
While you can't beat the suction on the Dyson, I think the design could be more practical and effective. My other machine can easily lay down to go under the beds. This is not possible with the Dyson, and if you have small animals that like to sleep in hiding places, it is necessary. Also, I was disappointed that there is not a good place to store the attachments. Should I keep the plastic bag for the next 20 years, or doesn't Dyson expect the machine to last that long? I have the additional attachment kits (they come in a box), but have not identified a need for any of them yet.
The hose is cumbersome and does not feel very durable. My guess is that it will be the first thing to need repair.
I did like the Dyson's powerful suction and the hose/attachment to do my couches and dining chair efficient and effective. However, it was nearly impossible to do the stairs because the hose is too "springy". Also, I wish the extension were an attachment that did not need to be in place all of the time. I rarely need it, I find it cumbersome to remove, and it is not flexible enough to do the stairs. I think the only use for this extension is for my windows and blinds.
Lastly, while the vacuum does have ridiculous suction, it gets very dusty and dirty on the exterior. So if you are an allergy sufferer, you may wnat to wipe the exterior frequently and have someone else empty it for you!
If suction is the key selling point for you, this is an awesome choice! I agree that it removes an additional cat from my carpets every time I use it.....but I will not retire my 20 year old machine since the hose looks as sturdy as the day I bought it, and the attachments are convenient, efficient, and properly stored on a 20 year old storage caddy/carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend
Reply from Customer Support TeamBy DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 23, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear that overall you are pleased with the performance of your machine. The DC41 does provide on board storage for the combination tool and stair tool included with the DC41. While we do anticipate the hose on your DC41 may be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use and allow for greater ease when cleaning your stairs. The extension, or wand that attaches to your hose to clean high reach or hard to reach places, such as areas under furniture, can be separated from the hose to allow for easy access to upholstery or stairs.

For more information on how to use your DC41 please visit:

www.dyson.com/support/help.asp?product=DC41-IRSPU&article=32.

Although we do not anticipate that your machine will require part replacement, we are happy to provide support for your DC41. If at any point you need assistance in the future please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.