Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC41 Animal

DC41 Animal is engineered for outstanding cleaning performance and ease of use. It has the strongest suction at the cleaner head, which automatically self-adjusts for different carpet lengths and hard floors. DC41 Animal has Dyson’s latest Radial Root Cyclone™ technology, and Ball™ technology for smooth steering. There's also a Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpets and upholstery. $EmbeddedVideo:DC41 Animal (Lightbox Video)$ *Suction tested against upright market to ASTM F558 at cleaner head, dust-loaded as per IEC 60312-1.
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(875 Reviews) 851
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (875 reviews)
5 stars
734
4 stars
112
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer recommendation96%844 of 875reviewers would recommend the DC41 Animal to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC41 Animal
Review 21 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DC41 Multi Floor
June 1, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
I purchased the DC41 Multi Floor Exclusive which I believe was made exclusively for Target stores. It's pretty much the same as the Animal. I have been using it for about 4 weeks now and here's my honest opinion. Overall, the vacuum works great and I love the fact that I can go from carpet to wood or laminate floors without having to change the height. It is powerful and leaves the carpet looking very clean and well groomed, so to speak. Here are the cons that I have noticed. 1) No carrying handle on the body of the machine so it's awkward to carry upstairs using only the handle at the top. 2) You cannot vacuum your stairs with this cleaner. The handle has to be tilted back before the brushes will start to spin so there's not enough room on standard stairs to do this. I tried to use the attachments for my stairs, but the ball and cleaning head take up so much space it's too big to sit on the stairs while using the hose and attachments. It was a juggling act to hold onto the vacuum while using the attachment on my stairs. 3) Not good for small areas because of the tilting back of the handle to engage the brush. It's very difficult to maneuver in tight spaces.
Overall, the vacuum does a great job cleaning large rooms, but it's heavy and I imagine it would be too heavy for an older person or someone who may be weakened due to illness.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJune 6, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear you are pleased with the performance of your DC41. However, we would like to provide additional information regarding the function of your machine in the hope it will allow for greater ease of use.

On the main body of your machine, there is a clear handle with "Dyson DC41" printed on it. This clear handle is the carry handle for the DC41. You will find it much easier to transport your DC41 from one room to another or up and down stairs once you begin using this handle.

The DC41 is equipped with an instant high reach wand. The wand is designed to clean high reach and hard to reach places. The DC41 is also equipped with an extension hose. The wand can be detached from the extension hose, making it possible to attach tools directly to the hose. To clean stairs, we recommend you place the main body of the machine at the base of your stairs, then detach the wand from the body of your machine. Once you have removed the wand, press the red button at the base of the wand, separating the wand from the hose. Please use the hose or hose with a tool attached to clean the stairs rather than placing the entire machine on an individual stair. This will make the process of cleaning stairs, upholstery, furniture and your vehicle much easier.

We have also emailed you this information and hope if proves helpful. If you have any additional questions or concerns please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 22 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the 25 Animal better
June 26, 2012
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The 41 Animal is awesome, I feel that it's quieter than the 25, but as many people have said it is difficult to get the handle to stay up when your done, you can't push it from room to room when changing rooms, you have to pull it or the head falls into position. Overall I am very satisfied with Dyson, I lost the 25 Animal in a fire and I sure wish I would have got another one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceJune 29, 2012
Thank you for continuing to support Dyson technology. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the performance of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are having some difficulty returning your machine to the upright position. To return your DC41 to the upright position, please firmly push the top of your handle forward until you hear a click. The click is intended to indicate your machine has locked upright successfully.

The best method to transport your DC41 when it is not in use is by the carry handle located on the cyclone assembly. It is a clear handle with "DC41" printed on it.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us directly at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 23 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
August 17, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
I bought a Dyson DC41 Animal couple of months ago. For the HUGE amount of money that this vacuum costs, I was and am VERY disappointed in its performance. I have owned canisters, uprights and bagless vacuums. This vacuum does outperform most but is not worth the cost. The engineers who design these machines should watch people in their homes use them. For instance, why would someone design this vacuum’s beater brush to turn off just because you bring it to a more upright position?!
And about that beater brush... it needs TWICE the bristles that it has to get up dog hair. I have 2 large dogs that shed and I have to go over and over and over and over the carpet to get the hair up. Then the hair wraps around the bar. Same goes for the upholstery attachment.
The canister that holds the dirt and hair is not nearly large enough and I don’t like that I have to put my hand in there and pull out the hair.
I also don’t like that the ball doesn’t let the vacuum get under furniture. I thought about getting a dyson canister instead but the dirt container is even smaller.
So, Dyson engineers, you need to rethink your design and the ridiculous amount of money that these machines cost.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceAugust 20, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We recommend using the wand handle to get to high reach and hard to reach places, such as under furniture. We also recommend that you wash your filters at least every three months to ensure proper performance. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the design of your machine. Insights like these are very helpful to our engineers.

If you have any additional questions or concerns regarding your DC41, please contact us directly at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
Review 24 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DC41 Animal
February 14, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
I had the old Dyson for years and loved it. Not impressed at all with the new Animal Dyson. I find it hard to steer and when I am done using it, it takes several attempts to stand it upright. Wish I would of saved my money and my old Dyson never broke.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your new machine. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 25 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not worth the money
December 14, 2013
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The "Dyson Animal DC41" that I recently purchased (Dec 2013) has good suction power but it still was not that great on dog fur. I have two shepherds that shed excessively. The Dyson does an ok job but is not "superb"/"wonderful" as advertised. I think it is a little pricey and not really worth the extra money. Also, it is hard to get under low coffee tables. Its not a bad vacuum. It does an average job. I guess I was just expecting more from a dyson product esp at the price I paid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
smelly bottom filter
January 25, 2014
Would you recommend this product? No
This is a new machine and the bottom filter smells not even used it one month and the filter is black and smells. This machine replaced a dyson I have had for 7 years with no issues. I vacuum 2-4 times a week and have all tile. Not sure what happened but the filter will not come clean when I run it under water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dyson dc 41
March 9, 2014
Would you recommend this product? No
Vacuum works great,a lot of suction very powerful,very easy to maneuver,the wand with the small brush it's very easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC41
October 31, 2011
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The DC41 has made vacuuming a much simpler chore than it was when I was using a different brand vacuu. It is much easier to push, especially going from one size carpet to a larger size. The suction power is tremendously greater than any previous vac that I have used and I like the handy dump feature. Cleaning the filters is a snap, however, if I was 80 years old, I would probably struggle with the larger filter.
The only drawback to the DC41 that I can see are the two wheels on the back of the machine. Once they click into place, I can't roll the machine around without the vac falling down to vacuuming position. Maybe it's just my machine!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service November 3, 2011
We value your feedback and we are glad you are pleased with the performance of your DC41. However, your description of the machine reclining is unusual and we would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you over the phone to ensure the machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 29 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first Dyson
November 2, 2011
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
LOVE IT!
Had an expensive model for 15 years that I thought was great but it got old and annoying and I really wanted to go bagless because no matter how clean I kept my vacuum it still smelled "doggie".
The Dyson DC41 Animal is easy to assemble, light weight, has amazing suction, attachments are easy to add and remove. Also I'm amazed that with the incredible suction I can still go from hardwood floor to area rug without sucking the rug into the vacuum.
My only complaint is that I will have to buy the floor attachment to get under furniture where the ball won"t fit.
Oh yeah...NO DOGGIE SMELL!
I love it!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 30 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not great
November 4, 2011
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall this is a nice vacuum. I like the ease of moving from carpet to tile. I also like the length of the hose. It is also nice to not have to mess with a bag but the canister has to be dumped outside or there would be dust everywhere. It sweeps up pet hair easily. Also getting the hose out is not really convient. & when I try to use just the hose the sweeper always comes down & doesn't stay in the upright position. With all this said I still enjoy it & would purchase it again.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service November 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your DC41. We are glad to hear you are happy with the performance of your machine. The canister can be emptied into a bag or lowered into a deeper trash receptacle to reduce the amount of escaping dust. We would like to provide further assistance regarding the use of your hose. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking to you.

Please call 1-866-693-9766 or email askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 31 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC41
November 7, 2011
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
II boughed DC 17 2 years ago.After a couple years it seemed to get wabbley I thought it still worked good I gave it to my daugher she loves it. Bought DC41 it has great pik-up power harder to move around and I have trouble getting it to stand up and roll from room to room with out it falling back . IF I'm sweeping I have no problem with it moving . I think I might like DC27 better! will have to try DC27.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service November 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The wheels on the back of your machine are not intended for transporting the machine, rather they are part of the stabilizer mechanism. When the machine is not in use please use the clear handle with the word "dyson" printed on it to pick your machine up and move it from one area to another.

We have included this information in an email to you as well. If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday-Friday and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 32 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DC41 Animal
December 2, 2011
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We have 3 pets-2 dogs and a cat. After researching, we decided Dyson would be the way to go. They do not dissappoint. Every time we run the machine, it picks up more and more hair, and whatever else has drifted to the depths of our carpet over the years. While the pros far out weigh the cons, there are a few things that could improve this machine. It would be nice to have a guage that tells me when my filter needs changing-I will forget if I try to track this myself. With the amount of juice it pulls, it should be equipped with a lighting system of some sort for the dark recesses of our rooms. It is difficult to "lock" in the upright position when you are done with it. The less expensive models have a kickstand of sorts, that this model is not equipped with. It also is not equipped with a height adjust for deeper piles. On the plus side, it does not require expensive "specialty" bags. It is easy to empty the cannister, and you can see the results-whereas a bagged cleaner does not allow you to see what has been picked up. This is also good if you think you may need to search for something that may have been picked up (like an earring you might have rolled over in a dark corner of your room). Most of the attachments reside onboard, so they are handy when you need to use them, and switching to the hose is fairly simple.The hose system is a little unweildy, as the suction causes resistance in keeping the hose extended while in use. This is further hampered by the attachments not being directly attached to the hose, but to the wand at the end of the hose. While it requires changing things around, it does not require that you disassemble and reassemble. This is handy if you are moving from room to room. The plastic construction makes it feel less durable, but it is a well constructed machine, and the material is necessary to reduce the weight . Overall, the machine is lightweight and effective. I am satisfied we made the correct choice for our household.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 33 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for floors, not stairs.
December 6, 2011
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I have used a canister vacuum for years, but wanted an upright that can switch easily from floor to carpet. The DC41 does this beautifully. My only complaint is that I do not like the attachment hose. Although it is great for reaching high places, I struggle with the flexibility when vacuuming stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it!
December 28, 2011
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I am in love with my DC41! After on a few days of vacuuming with my old vacuum, I couldn't believe how much dust and dog hair this machine picked up! I was disgusted by my old vacuum!! My only concern is that the handle looks flimsy. Time will tell!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice machine,BUT.....
December 30, 2011
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Just purchased our DC41 30 days ago and the machine does work really well, BUT some of the design choices seem a bit unusual to me. First, a lot of plastic is being relied on to be durable enough to provide many years of service. Having grown up in the age of metal and watching it last for decades this will be a wait and see. Second, when dumping the cannister I am having to clean the seals and the adjoining areas to keep them free of the dirt. Just a little more time involved to make sure a good seal is provided that I had not expected. A question to Dyson is the expected life span of the seals on the collection bin and should they be conditioned with anything to keep them working properly. I will have to agree with some of the other reviews that the hose seems a bit of a struggle as the hose tension wants to pull the machine over if you try to get to far away from the handle, it almost requires you to hold on to the machine while you use the hose to keep it in an upright position. I did wash the plastic components of the cannister to remove any accumulated dirt and dust after a couple of uses. I was very amazed at how much came out so I would recommend that owners do this on a regular basis to keep passageways clear of any accumlated fine dirt material. Upon inspection of the filter it looks fine and should go most of the distance between scheduled washings, but each circumstance will dictate how frequently this service area should be visited. The other odd thing I noticed was an accumulation of animal hair and other fibers between the two halves of the "ball" at the rear of the machine. No big deal just surprised to find something there. Overall the "Animal" does work well and the machine performs to the majority of my expectations. I do agree with one of the other reviews that I do find it a bit inconvienent to "carry" the machine everywhere. It would be nice to tip it back on the rear wheels and move through the house. With some more tweeks on this concept this can only continue to improve. As a final mention the cats are not impressed with the new equipment. Even if it is quieter and cleans well AND very trick looking, it illicts a lot of very jaundiced looks and some still find it necessary to run away and hide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service January 13, 2012
Thank you for providing a detailed review of your DC41. We are glad to hear that overall you are satisfied with your machine. We also wanted to address some of the concerns you raised in your review.

The DC41 constructed with ABS plastic. ABS is a tough thermoplastic used to make light, rigid and molded products. It has good shock absorbing properties and is used to make car bumpers, crash helmets and modern golf club heads. The gaskets in the canister do not need to be cleaned or treated with any substance. They are engineered to create a tight seal even if dust or dirt is present. We anticipate the hose will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this. We do not recommend using water to clean the canister. It can be wiped down with a dry cloth. The canister is part of the filtration process and some residual dust will be present in this area, but if an excessive amount of dust or debris builds up please contact us for assistance. The debris that accumulated on the outside of the ball is likely due to static electricity.

We have also emailed this information to you. If you have any additional questions please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. , Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 36 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Vacuum!
December 31, 2011
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We love our DC41 Animal. It has great suction, and is easy to empty. The only problem we have is cleaning the cyclone part of the unit. From the manual, it says to only wipe the cyclone clean, but there is lots of dust inside the middle of the unit that can not be removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service January 13, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with your machine. In regard to the dust you described we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this and provide further assistance. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please contact us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 37 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing
January 4, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This machine picked up animal hair from I don't where it came from. I have no carpeting in the house, but when I vacuumed the hardwoods and terrazo, hairs came out of nowhere. Tremendous suction.
The only negative may be the plastic construction. It does not feel sturdy, but clearly this machines does the job.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DC41 Animal Really Sucks - In a good way!
January 14, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I've just replaced DC25 Animal, and this new model definitely has even greater suction than predecessor as was evidenced going over an area just vacuumed with the other.
I'm glad the cord was extended, but wish it had an automatic retraction on it which would fit it's price point.
I'm glad that there were changes on the extension tube where you can attach accessories it for length (stairs or hard to reach high areas) or directly to hose for closer proximity. Also, great that the tool now rotates for better top to under stair cleaning. However, it is still a bit clumsy getting in and out.
I really like having almost all the tools attach directly to unit, and wish the rotating pet brush was included.
Because I use housecleaner who sometimes has helpers with her that I fear won't turn the brush off when vacuuming my main floor area which is hardwood and tile over carpet, I'd have preferred that the ON default was "no brush action" and 2nd button turned brush action on versus vice versa. This would be safety measure for ensuing floors aren't damaged.
The crevice tool is great to have a brush that slides up and down on it, but I wish it would better get into crevices by having a narrower tip.
All in all, I am pleased with this vacuum and the improvements over my last DC25.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New Dyson Animal
January 20, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We bought our dyson almost a month ago and love, It handles very easily and we love the hose attachment, it can reach all the way to the top of the steps without having to move the machine. The only thing I am not thrilled about is for the cost of it I did expect it to be quieter than it is and there are wheels on the back but you cant use them to wheel the machine around cause the floor part will snap down everytime you lean the handle back. Its a little heavy to tote it around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your Dyson machine. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the performance of your DC41. Please keep in mind the wheels on the back of the machine are not intended for transportation. If your machine is not in use, to move it to another area it should be picked up by the clear plastic handle with the word “dyson” printed on it.

If you have any questions or concerns please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 40 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dyson DC41 Animal
January 22, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Good suction...that is why I bought another Dyson. I do think it is a little over priced. I have only had it for a few weeks. Not sure if there is something wrong with mine but when I stand it up to push it to another room it doesn't stay in that position...it falls back into the vacuuming position. Was wondering if anyone else had that problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your Dyson machine. We value your feedback and we are sorry to hear you are having difficulty moving your DC41 from room to room. Please keep in mind the wheels on the back of the machine are not intended for transportation. If your machine is not in use, to move it to another area it should be picked up by the clear plastic handle with the word “dyson” printed on it. We have also emailed you this information.

If you have any questions or concerns please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>