Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC41 Animal

DC41 Animal is engineered for outstanding cleaning performance and ease of use. It has the strongest suction at the cleaner head, which automatically self-adjusts for different carpet lengths and hard floors. DC41 Animal has Dyson’s latest Radial Root Cyclone™ technology, and Ball™ technology for smooth steering. There's also a Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpets and upholstery. $EmbeddedVideo:DC41 Animal (Lightbox Video)$ *Suction tested against upright market to ASTM F558 at cleaner head, dust-loaded as per IEC 60312-1.
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(875 Reviews) 851
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (875 reviews)
5 stars
734
4 stars
112
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
844 of 875(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC41 Animal
Review 21 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC41 Animal
(February 14, 2013)
I had the old Dyson for years and loved it. Not impressed at all with the new Animal Dyson. I find it hard to steer and when I am done using it, it takes several attempts to stand it upright. Wish I would of saved my money and my old Dyson never broke.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your new machine. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 22 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed
(August 17, 2012)
I bought a Dyson DC41 Animal couple of months ago. For the HUGE amount of money that this vacuum costs, I was and am VERY disappointed in its performance. I have owned canisters, uprights and bagless vacuums. This vacuum does outperform most but is not worth the cost. The engineers who design these machines should watch people in their homes use them. For instance, why would someone design this vacuum’s beater brush to turn off just because you bring it to a more upright position?!
And about that beater brush... it needs TWICE the bristles that it has to get up dog hair. I have 2 large dogs that shed and I have to go over and over and over and over the carpet to get the hair up. Then the hair wraps around the bar. Same goes for the upholstery attachment.
The canister that holds the dirt and hair is not nearly large enough and I don’t like that I have to put my hand in there and pull out the hair.
I also don’t like that the ball doesn’t let the vacuum get under furniture. I thought about getting a dyson canister instead but the dirt container is even smaller.
So, Dyson engineers, you need to rethink your design and the ridiculous amount of money that these machines cost.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceAugust 20, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We recommend using the wand handle to get to high reach and hard to reach places, such as under furniture. We also recommend that you wash your filters at least every three months to ensure proper performance. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the design of your machine. Insights like these are very helpful to our engineers.

If you have any additional questions or concerns regarding your DC41, please contact us directly at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
Review 23 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I liked the 25 Animal better
(June 26, 2012)
The 41 Animal is awesome, I feel that it's quieter than the 25, but as many people have said it is difficult to get the handle to stay up when your done, you can't push it from room to room when changing rooms, you have to pull it or the head falls into position. Overall I am very satisfied with Dyson, I lost the 25 Animal in a fire and I sure wish I would have got another one.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceJune 29, 2012
Thank you for continuing to support Dyson technology. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the performance of your DC41. We are sorry to hear you are having some difficulty returning your machine to the upright position. To return your DC41 to the upright position, please firmly push the top of your handle forward until you hear a click. The click is intended to indicate your machine has locked upright successfully.

The best method to transport your DC41 when it is not in use is by the carry handle located on the cyclone assembly. It is a clear handle with "DC41" printed on it.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us directly at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 24 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC41 Multi Floor
(June 1, 2012)
I purchased the DC41 Multi Floor Exclusive which I believe was made exclusively for Target stores. It's pretty much the same as the Animal. I have been using it for about 4 weeks now and here's my honest opinion. Overall, the vacuum works great and I love the fact that I can go from carpet to wood or laminate floors without having to change the height. It is powerful and leaves the carpet looking very clean and well groomed, so to speak. Here are the cons that I have noticed. 1) No carrying handle on the body of the machine so it's awkward to carry upstairs using only the handle at the top. 2) You cannot vacuum your stairs with this cleaner. The handle has to be tilted back before the brushes will start to spin so there's not enough room on standard stairs to do this. I tried to use the attachments for my stairs, but the ball and cleaning head take up so much space it's too big to sit on the stairs while using the hose and attachments. It was a juggling act to hold onto the vacuum while using the attachment on my stairs. 3) Not good for small areas because of the tilting back of the handle to engage the brush. It's very difficult to maneuver in tight spaces.
Overall, the vacuum does a great job cleaning large rooms, but it's heavy and I imagine it would be too heavy for an older person or someone who may be weakened due to illness.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJune 6, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear you are pleased with the performance of your DC41. However, we would like to provide additional information regarding the function of your machine in the hope it will allow for greater ease of use.

On the main body of your machine, there is a clear handle with "Dyson DC41" printed on it. This clear handle is the carry handle for the DC41. You will find it much easier to transport your DC41 from one room to another or up and down stairs once you begin using this handle.

The DC41 is equipped with an instant high reach wand. The wand is designed to clean high reach and hard to reach places. The DC41 is also equipped with an extension hose. The wand can be detached from the extension hose, making it possible to attach tools directly to the hose. To clean stairs, we recommend you place the main body of the machine at the base of your stairs, then detach the wand from the body of your machine. Once you have removed the wand, press the red button at the base of the wand, separating the wand from the hose. Please use the hose or hose with a tool attached to clean the stairs rather than placing the entire machine on an individual stair. This will make the process of cleaning stairs, upholstery, furniture and your vehicle much easier.

We have also emailed you this information and hope if proves helpful. If you have any additional questions or concerns please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 25 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great floor vac - TERRIBLE attachments!
(March 10, 2012)
Wonderful to vacuum floors in tight spaces! I can gently guide my vac with just a turn of my wrist! Kudos to my salesman for refering this product for a home with pets! BUT...The solid hose end (it is solid a good couple feet up from the end) is completely unusable & worthless to clean furniture. Plus, the rotating attachment does can't get a good seal to rotate while cleaning under a bed - probably because the solid hose end does not allow flexibility so working in a small space under a bed the hose cannot be placed at the necessary angle. I have to have a 2nd small cav just to clean furniture and under furniture! Dyson should not have even included a detatchable hose on this product!!! Yes I would reccomend it's use for FLOORS ONLY and to people with animals in there homes!!! But for use as nothing else.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceMarch 12, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear you are pleased with the performance of your machine. However, your descripiton of the hose and attachments is unusual. Based on the details you provided it appears that the wand is still attached to the end of the hose. As with all Dyson upright machines, the wand can be detached from the flexible hose to allow for greater ease when cleaning. This also allows you to connect your attachments to the end of wand or flexible hose as needed. We have also emailed your this information.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us directly at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 26 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome suction, cumbersome attachments....
(February 20, 2012)
I have had my previous vacuum for over 20 years, and it still works....I decided to try the Dyson as a second vacuum for the carpeted areas, and to eliminate the need for carrying a vacuum up and down the stairs of my three story home.
Overall, my carpets are as fluffy as they could be, and I think this is a great vacuum to prep for carpet cleaning (which is frequent if you have pets...).
The vacuum is easily manuvered, and is fun to use. It is a little heavy and akward if you need to carry it up and down stairs. (The guy in the picture must be 6 foot tall!!).
While you can't beat the suction on the Dyson, I think the design could be more practical and effective. My other machine can easily lay down to go under the beds. This is not possible with the Dyson, and if you have small animals that like to sleep in hiding places, it is necessary. Also, I was disappointed that there is not a good place to store the attachments. Should I keep the plastic bag for the next 20 years, or doesn't Dyson expect the machine to last that long? I have the additional attachment kits (they come in a box), but have not identified a need for any of them yet.
The hose is cumbersome and does not feel very durable. My guess is that it will be the first thing to need repair.
I did like the Dyson's powerful suction and the hose/attachment to do my couches and dining chair efficient and effective. However, it was nearly impossible to do the stairs because the hose is too "springy". Also, I wish the extension were an attachment that did not need to be in place all of the time. I rarely need it, I find it cumbersome to remove, and it is not flexible enough to do the stairs. I think the only use for this extension is for my windows and blinds.
Lastly, while the vacuum does have ridiculous suction, it gets very dusty and dirty on the exterior. So if you are an allergy sufferer, you may wnat to wipe the exterior frequently and have someone else empty it for you!
If suction is the key selling point for you, this is an awesome choice! I agree that it removes an additional cat from my carpets every time I use it.....but I will not retire my 20 year old machine since the hose looks as sturdy as the day I bought it, and the attachments are convenient, efficient, and properly stored on a 20 year old storage caddy/carrier.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 23, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. We are glad to hear that overall you are pleased with the performance of your machine. The DC41 does provide on board storage for the combination tool and stair tool included with the DC41. While we do anticipate the hose on your DC41 may be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use and allow for greater ease when cleaning your stairs. The extension, or wand that attaches to your hose to clean high reach or hard to reach places, such as areas under furniture, can be separated from the hose to allow for easy access to upholstery or stairs.

For more information on how to use your DC41 please visit:

www.dyson.com/support/help.asp?product=DC41-IRSPU&article=32.

Although we do not anticipate that your machine will require part replacement, we are happy to provide support for your DC41. If at any point you need assistance in the future please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 27 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Overall great, but a few design flaws
(January 21, 2012)
I've had a DC14 for years. The attachments were always falling off - don't lock on well. Now upgraded to DC41. The attachment storage is poorly placed again. Had the vacuum 2 weeks and already can't find the small attachment - falls off evertime I pull the wand head off above it or if the vacuum hits my leg. Also should have a spot to attach the turbo head. As others have noted, I have the problem with the vacuum not locking into upright position easily, have to lift it to get it to lock. The hose is long, but you can't extend it, it pulls the vacuum with it because......the suction is FANTASTIC. For the price Dyson really should remember the little things too!! People don't mind paying more for the "bells & whistles" but they need to work well and easily. I'm a relatively strong 45 year old woman, so the lifting to lock, etc. I can work around. However, I would not recommed to older friends (who happen to be the demographic to have this kind of money to spend) as they would have difficulty using it. Too bad as if a product is great I make sure to tell everyone I speak with about it.
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 3, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC41. Although we are unable to offer an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the attachment placement and storage. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place, repeating if necessary. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use. We would like to provide further assistance regarding the upright locking mechanism of your machine. We have emailed you and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call us at 1-866963-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 28 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nice Machine
(May 16, 2014)
This is my second Dyson Animal Vaccuum. I have 2 siberian huskies and a lot of fur in my home, so I need a vaccuum that can do the trick. The new Dyson DC41 Animal was a bit hard to get used to at first, but once you figure out how to maneuver with the ball, it becomes easy. The suction of this Animal compared to my old version doesn't seem to be quite as strong, and you really have to force it to stand up by itself...otherwise, it wants to fall over. I like the ball on the Dyson because unlike the previous version there is nothing that can damage and rip through fabric on your furniture when vacuuming next to chairs/sofas. This machine is a bit quieter than the previous version and still seems to do a good job removing dog hair; I also love the array of attachments, although I have to admit I haven't used all of them yet. Overall, even though the suction doesn't quite seem as good as my previous, and it is still quite pricey, I still really love the Dyson brand and am happy with my purchase. Having dealt with customer service at Dyson, I also know that they stand by their products and the 5 year warranty is comforting.
Review 29 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson Animal
(April 14, 2014)
Wow-is this a POWERFUL vacuum! So far, after having taken the "display model" that the store clerks used for years, I only have 2 tiny "not likes". #1, man is that hose hard to use-it's not very pliable and makes it hard to turn & twist to get into tight areas such as in my car beside the seats or deep into the the holes under couch cushions and it was also a tad difficult to figure out how to use. And #2 the attachment is a pretty flimsy meaning the small brush on the end of the wand. I expected a better brush to pick up animal hair and that thing is about useless. Overall, this is the 1st upright vacuum I have ever owned and I love the power but miss my canister.
Review 30 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good product/terrible website instructions
(April 7, 2014)
No complaints, only praise for the product itself DC Animal 41. It moves well (if you ride a bike or motorcycle you can handle this), cleans amazingly close to the edge of a wall, the head is low and vacuums under the edge of furniture nicely, fantastic suction, not too heavy though not exactly light weight (smaller ones are). The container is easily emptied and mine came with all sorts of attachments.....with no explanation as to what they are for and there are no real instructions to this thing. A couple of diagrams on how to put it together, but no words, that's it. I always feel like I'm breaking it when I put it in position to vacuum. Instructional video sent by Dyson via their website didn't work (along with not allowing me to register the vacuum, saying the number was ID # was wrong on the box) , pictures didn't answer questions regarding all the attachments. It would be nice if they just included a manual since I've now had difficulty with their website twice.
Review 31 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love my vacuum but.....
(March 30, 2014)
Love the fact it cleans so well however I do not like when using the extended tools the hose gets crimped & looses suction. I also wish you had to manually push something to lower the handle to sweep. It is hard to get it to stay in an upright position.
Review 32 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
LOVE This Vacuum- HIGHLY RECOMMEND
(March 28, 2014)
I have 2 dogs in the house and am a really clean person. I was purchasing top of the line name brand vacuums and THOUGHT they were doing a good job until I purchased my DYSON. The last vacuum was so poorly designed and the manufacturer would not replace a couple of parts that broke on it for no reason at all. I called the manufacturer and emailed they but they refused to replace the parts unless I paid a high fee to them. I am an engineer and understand the workings of equipment.......these 2 parts broke due to poor design and not for abuse or normal wear and tear. The vacuum only lasted me less than 2 years. Thus, I thought I would try a DYSON and am so glad I did. Yes, they cost more but once you see how much power they have and the warranty, it is well worth the extra money. So light weight but still do a much better job than my other name brand vacuums.
Review 33 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
amazing
(March 28, 2014)
This is an amazing Vacuum, its got the power you need to suck up dust and dirt from you rugs and hard floors, it adapts between the floors great! I only have ONE thing that i WISH dint happen so easily! the canister where the dirt that you vacuum up gathers gets scratched and ends up look cloudy and dirty so fast! it looks like an old vacuum almost after a few uses. i wish the plastic was harder as to not get scratched and so dirty so easily inside of the canister as to have the vacuum looking better longer.
Review 34 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good
(March 22, 2014)
My first Dyson you could see suck the carpet right up as it was vacuuming. This one doesn't quite have the same suction but it's still a good machine. The handle slides out very easily for attachments - sometimes too easily. I clogged mine up and it was easy to unclog.
Review 35 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
dyson dumping
(March 10, 2014)
DYSON WORKS WELL.. MY COMPLAINT IS THE DIRT CONTAINER DOES NOT HOLD MUCH. IT ALSO DOES NOT FALL OUT OF THE CONTAINER, I DO NOT OVERFILL IT. I HAVE TO PULL THE DIRT OUT. ALSO I AM OLDER AND THE RED PART OF THE HANDHELD WAND DOES NOT COME OFF EASILY.,
OTHER THAT THIS, IT IS A GOOD VACUUM.
Review 36 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
dyson animal
(March 8, 2014)
I had my dyson for 1 month. The suction seems great. I love how long the extension tool hose comes out. I can leave the unit at the bottom of my steps and vacuum all the way to the top. Pushes very smoothly also. Would recommend this sweeper.
Review 37 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Step Up
(March 4, 2014)
To preface this review, let me say that I am a career quality engineer and tend to be very discriminating, so I'm going to tell it like it is.
As an owner of one of the original Dyson Vacuum Cleaners and of one of the portable units, I have to admit that I am already a staunch fan. Since our original floor model was getting old and a little beaten up I was primed to upgrade. When I saw a good deal on the DC41 I jumped at it, since we have two house dogs and a house cat.
It did take some getting used to maneuvering it using the ball, but once I grew accustomed to it, I prefer the ball. The stand frustrates me somewhat, since whenever I try to just wheel it somewhere, the stand has a tendancy to pop down and I'm back in vacuuming mode.
The cannister bottom, since it is shaped to conform to the head, tends to catch dust in it and requires a little more effort to clean out than my older model.
As far as cleaning performance, it works awesome, just like my other two Dysons. It's easy to maneuver, relatively quiet, does not generate that dusty smell while vacuuming, and the ability to remove and wash the hepa filters is a great improvement. And it picks p the fine pet hair and dried skin extremely well.
Now that I have a backup Dyson, I can afford to take my older Dyson in to have it cleaned up and reconditioned.
Review 38 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(February 28, 2014)
I purchased this to replace my 9 year old DC14 animal, which was still going strong. But with the recent price reductions with the eminent release of the DC65, I thought why not. This vacuum certainly has the horsepower and suction I've come to expect and appreciate from a Dyson. My overall complaint would be the quality and build of the machine. The plastic is a much lighter gauge from the older model, and the hose assembly is less than stellar. It feels weak and cobbled. And the hose does kink on occasion when the wand has been extended. I'm sure Dyson will say this is due to their endeavor to produce a lighter machine. I would say this is to cut costs. The DC14 was build like a brick house and could take anything I threw at it. Only time will tell with the 41. Unfortunately, as with most things, I think the quality of old is a thing of the past. With that said, I do very much like the vacuum. The ball does maneuver very well, and fits in places my old one never would. And the power is there. I have a Golden Retriever and St. Bernard, it hasn't faltered in picking up the mass amounts of hair that accumulate. If it weren't for the cheapened hose assembly, I would rate 5 stars.
Review 39 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
so far so good
(February 21, 2014)
I truly hope this one last more than the last... Had a bad experience with the previous Dyson: it broke down often, out of warranty of course. And the only place where they would fix it was over 1 hour away. The parts took a long time to receive. NOT ENOUGH REPAIR PLACES!!! Never the less, I liked the looks of my new DC41 Animal. It feels more substantial than the last -- my husband almost killed me when I said I wanted another Dyson... I agree with other reviewers: the "standing" problem is real. It has fallen over several times in the three weeks I have had/used it. Also, I would love it if it had a rewinding cord -- it gets in the way a lot. Always afraid to trip over the cord. Having said all that, it works very good and yes, I would recommend. I considered other vacuum cleaners but have to say, the fact that it empties so easily won me over.
Review 40 for DC41 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My Dyson and me
(February 17, 2014)
I love the Dyson DC41 Animal vacuum. With a Golden Retriever and two cats in the house it does an amazing job of picking up hair from both carpets and tiled flooring. Emptying the canister is extremely easy with no mess to clean up after and the long cord is a plus.
My only complaint about my machine is the roller guides just below the canister do not stay on. As I am vacuuming they fall off which means I have to stop vacuuming to put them back on! If I could remedy this I would not have any complaints and be ne very satisfied customer.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>