Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC39 Animal

DC39 Animal has Dyson’s latest Radial Root Cyclone™ technology with remodeled airways to maximize suction power. It has Ball™ technology to turn on the spot and follow with greater control. DC39 Animal comes with a Triggerhead tool so there is no need to bend down and adjust between floor types. There's also a Tangle-free Turbine tool to remove dirt and hair from carpets and upholstery. $EmbeddedVideo:DC39 Animal (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1074 Reviews) 866
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,074 reviews)
5 stars
769
4 stars
204
3 stars
38
2 stars
28
1 star
35
970 of 1,074(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC39 Animal
Review 21 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(May 30, 2012)
Love love love my new Dyson canister! Waited 2 years and saved for it. Great suction power, light, portable, easy to mover around. Only suggestion would be power switch on handle of pole instead of canister. Also a better way to have attachments with you. The conflict would be on such a great small and powerful machine where could you put them. Maybe suggest a type of bag to keep together?
Review 22 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Second Dyson Better Than The First
(May 30, 2012)
About 10 years ago I bought my first Dyson & loved it!! I didn't necessarily need a new one, but I now have pets and wanted to upgrade to an Animal version of the Dyson. I chose the canister hesitantly because I remembered how difficult it was to vaccum with the old canister vacs. Guess what?! This is an amazing, light weight, and easily portable canister vac. I love it more than my upright! It is a bit difficult to get used to on a rug, but I've only had it for 3 weeks. I highly recommend Dyson to anyone looking to trade in their old vacs, it is well worth the money.
Review 23 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Works Great For A Long Time
(May 31, 2012)
This is our second Dyson. Our first, we bought in Japan 9 years ago, still works great which we still use since it's too good to let go. So you ask why we bought our second? Dyson we bought in Japan works on 100 volts 50/60 Hz. We had to get a voltage transformer when we moved back to the States as we all know it is 120 60 Hz here. Our machine can handle both 50 and 60 Hz so there was no problem when we were stationed in Stuttgart, Germany, where they have 220 volt 50 Hz, the transformer did the rest. The only problem was, we had to carry around our voltage transformer into every room we were cleaning, which sometimes become a burden.
Our friend has an upright style "Animal" which is a technology not available at the time we bought our first. We do have a cat as part of our family and he travels every where we go. Our first Dyson worked for us for over 9 years (without any cost on bags or filters) and we got our money's worth PLUS the creation of the BALL lets us move more freely. We thought it was a good time to invest our money into our second Dyson when we moved back to the States. A week later we got our new Dyson and we love it.
I do have one request for the company and that is for Dyson to have models available in100-220v 50/60 Hz (like most computers and some stereos have) for people like us in the military who travel around the world.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DC 39 Animal
(June 1, 2012)
Great purchase to replace any standard bag-type vacuum. No annoying noises or odors emitting from the vacuum which bag-types generally incur. Ease of upkeep is a definite plus. First Dyson product and very pleased with purchase.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
What a Animal DC39 - Best Vacuum
(June 6, 2012)
This by far the BEST Vacuum I've ever owed.!! The suction is totally amazing! Gets dirt out and even the smallest of particales embedded in carpet. I used the Allergy tool for my mattress and could NOT believe all the dirt & stuff I got out of our mattress!! It made a believer of me.. The ease of the canister & little weight is amazing. Convenience of attachments makes my vacuuming a quick & easy job, just click on & go. Vacuumed our truck and got lots of dirt..the suction is amazing.. Best Vacuum ever! Way to Go Dyson DC39 Animal Canister..!! Happy G-ma...makes my life easier!!
66 of 69 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(June 6, 2012)
This machine is great!! I honestly believe it would suck the paint right off the wall! It is so easy to operate. I absolutely LOVE it!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
very happy so far
(June 6, 2012)
Just started using it and very happy. Had a meile canister and this DC39 picks up more,it is a bit louder but that might be the tradeoff. The only thing so far is the handle length , it would be nice just a bit longer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Vacuum ever!!!
(June 7, 2012)
I thought long and hard before starting my research for info on a new vacuum. I had wanted a Dyson for quite some time. The $$$ was the only thing standing between us. I finally gave in and bought the DC39 Animal. I've never been happier with a machine! It has surpassed my expectations! I will never have another in my lifetime. This one is so lightweight and manuvers well. The cord is a more than suffecient length. It picks up pet hair like you wouldn't believe. I can't say enough about my new Dyson. I love it and would recommend it for anyone! Thank you Dyson!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum for any chore
(June 16, 2012)
I read a lot of reviews trying to deside what type of vacuum to buy. Went to alot of stores to try them out and this is the one I chose. I must say I am not disapointed. The suction power on it is outstanding so great that when I vacuum my rugs that it would pull them along until I realized theres a trger button on the handle that will release some of the suction and still does a great job. I also use it on my tile floors still works great. Vacuumed my intake ac vent on ceiling did a great job.Only wish the wand would extend a little longer because of valted ceiling. Then I decided to vacuum out my car with it. You can detatch the handle and add an attachment and its just like the one at the car wash if not better. Gets under the bed and stands. Really I can't say enough about this vacuum. Cord also retracts very well into ball. Push the button and it goes right in. It is very easy to handle and clean with. It just follows you along wherever you go. Leaves my carpet looking brand new. Ok I really hope this helps when your reading reviews.
162 of 164 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Works well
(June 26, 2012)
Overall I'm happy with the machine. It's lightweight and easy to carry but has good suction. Carpet boost works well on the area rugs I have. Pieces connect easily and are easy to remove and adjust.
Couple of improvements I'd recommend:
Wish the hose could extend out a little further so I don't have to bend as much (and I'm short).
Would like the on off switch to be heavier duty so it could be switched on /off with your feet.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
BEST PURCHASE EVER!
(July 8, 2012)
My husband bought me this vacuum a couple of weeks ago. Each time I use it I thank him! We have 2 dogs that shed extremely bad and we live in the middle of the desert. Between the dog hair and the dust I cannot keep my house clean. This vacuum has made my life so much easier. With a push of a button you go from hardwood to carpet (bedroom and office are still carpeted) and it cleans the floors so well that it actually feels like you've mopped the floor. I have always wanted a Dyson but just couldn't get myself to spend the money but believe me this is well worth the money spent! I would highly recommend to anyone! I wanted a canister and it maneuvers so easily I still cannot get over it. Thank you Dyson!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Worth the Money
(July 11, 2012)
You don't realize how dusty your home is until you vacuum with the DC39 Animal! The suction is extremely powerful, and our medium pile carpets were noticeably cleaner, smelled better, as the Dyson vacuumed tons of pet hair. I love the design of this vacuum--every part clicks and locks into place, and so easy to use. It's also quieter than other vacuums, sounds like a high-powered blender or juicer. There are numerous vacuum cleaners out there on the market that claim to have the same cleaning and suction ability as the D39 Animal, but the design and craftsmanship stands out from the rest. All I see with the other lesser priced models are bulky plastic and unwieldy vacuum cleaners. You really get what you pay for, when comparing the Dyson to the rest. We are very happy with our purchase and recommend it highly.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Amazing Vacuum
(July 21, 2012)
My kids bought this for me as a gift. I was a little reluctant at first to use it, because it seemed like it didn't weigh enough. One usage was all it took to find out how much power it has. This is the coolest light weight vacuum, especially if you have hairy pets. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has arthritis, and can't tote the heavier machines around.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(August 8, 2012)
This is by far the best vacuum cleamer, and dog groomer I have ever used,I have 14 long hair, black and choc. labs, I own a stud service and I spend alot of time making sure my babies look there best,the DC39 Animal, cuts my time in half, love it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Vaccuum Heaven
(August 9, 2012)
The dread of vacuuming is gone! Just love my Dyson DC39 Animal canister vac. It is just EASY - and I really appreciate EASY after 50 years of housecleaning! It took me a few sessions to get used to the sweeper head that turns and swivels around chair legs and into corners, etc. but now it is a snap. Using the well designed features (wand extension, tool carrier, sweeper head removal/change, dirt canister emptying, etc. is all so EASY I feel like I died and went to cleaning heaven. It doesn't take up much space and I have grown fond of it's space age look!
Thank you Dyson!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great little machine.
(August 19, 2012)
As an owner of two long-hair cats I decided to research this and eventually purchase the DC39 Animal. After using this vac over the past month, I offer the following positives: Incredibly easy to assemble out of the box and parts interchange easily for daily use. Lightweight machine travels easily as you clean. Suction is very good. Having rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis of the thumb joint, this machine is a dream to manage. I highly recommend for anyone with autoimmune problems. The telescoping wand is perfect for my height of 5'8". The main floor attachment has a pivoting ball that awesomely allows me to get into tight and narrow spots which alleviates me having to move furniture as frequently. Only a couple of minor negatives: I would like to see the same ball design in the smaller head attachment for more flexibility. The machine on the first few weeks of use had a slight burning odor but it seems to be dissipating a bit. I was a little disappointed in the size of the crevice tool / brush combo tool in that for the price, I felt the machine should come with full size components; however, those tools must be purchased separately. Aside from my minor little issues I am really pleased with the overall functionality of the machine. Now, if I can only get Mr. Dyson to come up with a thumb joint replacement using this technology, we'd really be in business. Thanks Mr. Dyson and team! You've done good and I no longer dread the task of vacuuming because of health constraints.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceAugust 21, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC39. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your machine overall. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding the tool design. Based on the details you described, it sounds like the smell you are encountering is part of the normal adjustment process as the components of the machine acclimated to use. However, we would like to discuss this further to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com
Review 37 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it...it's so light yet powerful
(September 18, 2012)
At first, I was surprised. This vacuum is super light yet very powerful. I was used to my old Hoover that is so heavy and really was a workout. The thing I hated so much on my old machine was that I had to go outside and hand clean the filter even in the middle of winter. If I didn't do this, my vacuum would not have suction power. I had to do this at least 7 to 8 times before I was done vacuuming.
NOT NO MORE !!!
My DC39 is excellent.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
LIKE THIS MACHINE!
(October 3, 2012)
This machine has great suction. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I really think it needs a better attachment for floors without carpet. I like to vacuum those type of floors with an attachment with some type of a brush on it so the dust and crumbs get picked up good.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
you will not be disappointed
(October 17, 2012)
worth every penny . i have a dog that sheds terrible all year round , i thought i would never be able to have a area rug on my hard wood floors . with this machine it is possible to maintain it . the dog is even allowed to lay on it .. because clean up will be simple . the only minor down fall is that the machine needs to be cleaned out and checked for blockages often or the trigger head does not work properly !! ....... totally lives up to the name dyson !!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for DC39 Animal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not Worth It
(December 11, 2012)
I thought I would get value for the wad of money I spent on a new DC39 Animal, but I didn't. It works so-so on carpeting, horribly on hard surface floors like tile and wood, and is down right ugly to clean the canister after using it. If I could return this product, and get a full refund, I would. I'm a very unhappy Dyson owner.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceDecember 12, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC39 Animal. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. However, we would value the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>