Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dyson.

DC34

DC34
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer recommendation81%25 of 31reviewers would recommend the DC34 to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC34
Review 1 for DC34
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice.... but
January 22, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Between my daughter and I we have 5 Dysons. Love them and won't ever buy another brand. Purchased this hand held for my daughter Christmas 2010, used this for the first time. It was light, easy to use and the suction is great. HOWEVER, I will wait to purchase one for myself when they can get it to hold a charge longer than 30 minutes. Very disappointing for a DYSON product.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy, time-saving little machine
March 22, 2012
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I have really enjoyed this machine in the couple of months I've used it. The size of the machine, the light weight of it as well as great design make it easy to use for all kinds of touch ups. I have a dog and mostly hardwood floors with area rugs. I vacuum a lot. I rely on this convenient handheld to go around the baseboards of all the rooms on at least a daily basis if not a couple of times a day. I can just zip around and in a little bit of time, rid the floors of those "dog hair dust bunnies." It has really good suction. Emptying it is a snap - just push a button over a trash can - done. The length of the nozzle makes it easy to get into small, tight places as well as lessening the amount of bending one usually needs to do to get around baseboards. I'm really glad I bit the bullet and spent the money for this great little machine. It would be nicer to have a longer run time, but it is, after all, a handheld, battery-operated piece of equipment.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for it's Intended Use
May 24, 2012
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
As stated in the title, this machine is perfect at the job it was designed for. Too many of these negative reviewers bash the runtime of the unit. To that, I say buy a plugin model - you're using this for the wrong tasks.
A small, cordless vacuum is meant for quick tasks around the house. Like the kids dropping crumbs on the floor, or some dry dirt from shoes near the front door. And no, not saw dust, fireplace ashes, or talcum powder. Particles that small is the reason why industrial companies make big, expensive machines to handle that type of material.
There's an old adage........the right tool for the job. Well, stick to that principle and this is the perfect tool for the types of jobs for which it was designed. Just because you can go out and buy the most expensive bicycle on the market, doesn't mean you should expect it to traverse coast-to-coast as well as an airplane.
Good job once again, Dyson. This is my second vacuum and I still marvel at the designs. Excellent engineering.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted
November 27, 2011
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
My husband and I have a Dyson upright and wanted something that was more compact and could travel with us. This is it! It is VERY powerful, charges quickly, and is light and easy to manage. The canister is easy to empty the attachments are very useful.
I have nerve and muscle damage in my hands and it is very difficult to grip and hold anything that is heavy or awkward. This machine is easy for me to use. The suction is consistent with the Dyson claims. The MAX feature (boost of power/suction) is not something we will use very often as the normal suction is so strong.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC34
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine SUCKS!
January 11, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This machine SUCKS! ------Really, it does! I really like it!
My only complaint is that you have to hold the trigger to keep the power on - can be difficult with arthritis. It could also be improved if there were additional brush attachments fro cleaning other surfaces.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2012
We are so glad to hear you are satisfied overall with the performance of your DC34. We value your feedback regarding the trigger and brush attachments. There are additional tools available for purchase that are designed to clean various surfaces such as furniture and hard floors. Please visit http://www.dyson.com/store/accessorieslist.asp?product=DC34-IRSYE-US to learn more about these tools.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 6 for DC34
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mylittle buddy.
October 23, 2011
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
I tittle this review "my little buddy" because that is exactly what this vaccuum is. I love it. The only issue I have with this vaccum (and it's sadly a big one), is that it only holds its charge for about 30 min or so,then it has to be cahrged again. I figured that for the price it would work a little longer. Other than that............. I love it though.
Kinda dissapointed
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service November 2, 2011
We are so glad to hear you are enjoying your DC34. We appreciate your feedback regarding the run time. Please keep in mind that the DC34 is intended for quick pick ups and not as a replacement to a full size machine.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 7 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC 34
November 4, 2011
Age:Over 65
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The Dyson had good power and is not too heavy with a well thought out handle. The battery is adequate as the machine is only for light cleaning. Fifteen minutes at most. It's suction is quite good. It seems to be made well. The clean out system is a good touch compared to many that I have used. The filter is very accessible.
For a machine of its cost I would expect it to hold more debris. Another need is for there to be a ring around the brush that could be slipped down to make the bristles stiffer when getting particles from a rug.
I have not had it very long but it is a robust and solid machine. I would gladly recommend it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little machine
November 26, 2011
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This was a purchase of over a year ago. I have given it a work out and it running strong. It is designed to pick up the stuff that is easily missed by a full size machine, For dog (pet) owners it is truely a gift. It will quickly suck up all the fluff balls (Pet hair)hiding under and behind furniture, close to baseboards and in the furthest corner. This is where it excels. On stairs it is fantastic as it is relatively light and will fit between the upright rails.It may run for only 20 min or so, but that is the extent of time I want to spend vacuuming anyway. I am planning on giving one to my son this Christmas to be mainly employed cleaning up small child messes on table tops. A versatile little machine. I love it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC34 is AWESOME
November 28, 2011
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
My husband calls me a "collector" of vacuum cleaners. I have owned as many as 8 at one time but when he bought me the DYSON my collecting stopped and I thought I was through looking for the "perfect" vacuum !! But then he bought me this little handheld. It is the perfect little vacuum, I have used in on baseboards, filters on refrigerator and dryer, my car, and the best part of all is the spot cleaning I can do in a jiffy when my husband brings in half the Ranch on the bottom of his boots. Well, I thought that was the best of all until I realized I can empty the canister, wipe it out clean and then suck up my craft beads to replace to their containers without having to pick them up individually or look for them on the carpet or chase them down on the floor! It is AWESOME and I highly recommend everyone give it a try.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC34
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DC34
February 12, 2012
Would you recommend this product? No
We have two of Dyson hand held vacuums, as well as two of the uprights for two separate houses. Both the handhelds experience the same issue as another reviewer noted - they shut off after a few seconds of using and are essentially worthless. I loved the "sculpture handing on the wall." comment.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC34. We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your machines. However, based on your description of the problem we may be able to resolve your concern over the phone with simple trouble shooting. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 11 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little vacuum with big heart.
November 29, 2011
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Just purchased this little vacuum a few days ago and I have to say I am impressed. I have never seen a vacuum of this size with the suction it produces. Short battery life but more than I have needed for any project I have found so far. I procrastinated buying one of these for quite sometime because of the price. Being an owner of 2 Dyson DC33 Animals I finally decided to take the plunge figuring I would end up returning it after it didn't perform to my expectations. But I will admit I should have purchased it along time ago. I find myself making messes just to use it. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it ! but....
January 18, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Does not hold with battery long enough (13 mins max)! When I get into the mood to use this easy to hold machine... I'm barely getting into all the great stuff it can do with it and can be frustrating! Wish it had a 2nd battery like the 'drill' my husband has that I could pop in and get another 13 minutes! Great on catching those nasty spider webs that suddenly appear out of no where and the crumbs out of my computer keyboard, along with all those so many other things!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service February 3, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC34. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the performance of your machine. The DC34 offers 15 minutes of high constant suction or 6 minutes of MAX power for more difficult tasks. However, to better suit your individual cleaning needs, the battery and charger are available for purchase. For more information please visit http://www.dyson.com/store/partslist.asp?product=DC34-IRSYE-US.

If you have any additional questions please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 13 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn't live without it!
December 13, 2011
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I absolutely LOVE my Dyson Hand Vac. I've had it over a year and I use it all the time to do rugs, steps, baseboards etc. It prevents me from having to bring out the big Dyson or even a broom, on a daily basis. I've heard complaints about battery length, but I don't mind. If I have to this machine that long, it might be time to bring out the big one. I would like to take one star away because it's soooo expensive for such a little guy, but I can't because I feel it's worth every penny so far!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine
November 10, 2011
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Really love it, picks up really well, just overall great
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC34
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Power Button is a "trigger", NOT a Switch!
January 17, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
Power and suction of this product are great, but in order to have power you have to keep the red button pressed in at ALL times with your finger. NO power SWITCH to just turn on and off. Also automatically shuts off after a brief amount of time of pressing the power trigger.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service January 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC34. Although we are unable to offer an alternative we value your feedback regarding the power button. The quick release aspect of the power button is meant to allow for a more efficient use of battery. The DC34 offers 15 minutes of high constant suction or 6 minutes of MAX power for more difficult tasks. If this does not reflect the run time of your DC34 we would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly. We have also emailed you this information.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 16 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the little machine
December 20, 2011
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
i would recommend the hand held vacuum to anyone that wants a work horse out of a hand held. I have had different brands in the past but i am certainly sold on this one. the suction is great. it is expensive but well worth the investment. thank you for letting me share.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC34
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DC34; good for a few minutes
December 25, 2011
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
The DC34 was great for the first few minutes. However, as described in the manual, after 6 minutes or less, the battery dies. The vacuum is great for cleaning extremely small areas or items. Very hard to find extra batteries to make this vacuum worth all of the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC34
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just got it
January 4, 2012
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
It looks like it will work well, but I am a super-senior and all of the bending down to clean a floor spill is getting to me. I wish it had a longer vacuum tube!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service January 11, 2012
Thank you for completing a review of your DC34. We are glad to hear it is working well. However, in your review you mentioned that you would prefer a longer tube or extension for vacuuming. Although there is no extension tube available for the DC34, we do have a hand held machine available for purchase that includes an extension tube, the DC35. To learn more about the DC35 and to find out if it may better suit your cleaning needs please visit http://www.dyson.com/store/product.asp?product=DC35-IRSBL.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com with any additional questions.
Review 19 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this machine
January 11, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
My wife bought me a DC34 for Christmas, it is wonderful !
I had read some negative reviews about battery life, but it is just not an issue, as long as you use it for what it is intended for, small jobs.
It will clean the interior of 2 cars with power left over, I love the design and ease of maintenance. This is a quality product, well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC34
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mini Dyson Vac
January 17, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This little vacuum is the best small, hand-held vacuum I have ever owned. It is lightweight and easy to use. It is great for small messes and in the car. But, the battery does not last very long. On average, it goes out after about 20 to 30 minutes of continuous use and then needs to be charged for about 4 hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>