Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC33 Multi Floor

DC33 Multi Floor is engineered to clean every floor type – with no bags and no loss of suction. It comes with a re-engineered wand for high-reach cleaning. The wand and hose extend 15.7ft in total to clean stairs and high places.
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(782 Reviews) 727
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (782 reviews)
5 stars
463
4 stars
189
3 stars
75
2 stars
36
1 star
19
655 of 782(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC33 Multi Floor
Review 1 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not as good as older versions
(April 27, 2013)
I think around 2001 or 2002, we bough our first Dyson upright and were very pleased. After so many years it just wore out. Then around 2010 we bough the DC33 and were deeply disappointed. The quality of the plastic was considerably cheaper. Instead of three feet including a wide, a pointy, and a round brush with hair that connected, there was one cheap plastic fitting. They really cut corners in this one. :-(
The vacuum suction worked good at first. Then after a year, it would not vacuum very well anymore. To try and resolve the problem, I thoroughly cleaned all of the parts and the filter; I replaced the hose, and still the suction was very poor. After a while, I finally gave up and bought a different brand of upright vaccum cleaner.
I will not buy Dysan agan!
16 of 24 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceApril 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine.

The DC33 is designed to be light weight and durable. The combination tool included with your machine is a debris nozzle that converts into a brush allowing you to move from one feature to the next without changing tools. However, we do value your feedback regarding the on-board tools and construction of your DC33.

The problem you described regarding the suction of your machine is very unusual. We understand you have purchased an alternate vacuum, however, we would value the opportunity to trouble shoot with you and we may be able to resolve the problem right over the phone.

If you would like assistance, please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 2 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Terrible ratcheting noise - very disappointed.
(February 17, 2013)
This is our first Dyson and we are less than impressed so far. The suction is quite good, but we can barely use it on any of our rugs or carpeted areas due to the terribly loud ratcheting noise that occurs every time. This problem has been present from day one, and we've only owned the vacuum for about 2 months. Searching on the web I find that this is due to the beater bar becoming stuck and the clutch ratcheting, typically due to too much suction being applied to area rugs. We have the problem with our 1 area rug, as well as with our other carpet, and the issue is so prevalent that we're just about to give up, as it is making the vacuum unusable. Honestly, we expected much better from the Dyson name.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. The ratchet noise you described in your review is an alert from the machine indicating there is an obstruction to the brush bar or that the particular surface you are using the machine on is interfering with the function of the brush bar. This is more common on area rugs. Because the rug is not secured to the floor as the machine passes over it the rug is coming into very close contact with the brush causing the ratchet alert to sound as if there were an obstruction present. We recommend turning the brush off when vacuuming area rugs. However, we may be able to provide a resolution regarding the ratchet occurring on your installed carpet. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 3 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
horrible
(January 16, 2013)
my mother in law bought this vacuum and honestly, I know it sounds harsh, but I absolutely hate it. I have 2 toddlers, so I vacuum at least once a day. kids are messy!! but I feel that I spend more time cutting my hair (it's medium length) off of the roller than I actually do vacuuming. Plus the vacuum does not get close enough to cabinets or walls leaving behind some dirt. Unless I wanted to sweep before I vacuumed that would be the only viable option. The vacuum also does not suck up anything bigger than a cheerio (like gold fish) or soft, ie. corn or craisins. And having to constantly manually roll up the cord is absolutely annoying considering how often I vacuum. So 90% of the time the cord is just a mess on top of the vaccum till the next use. Also, the "wand" is soooo hard to use, it's almost impossible to pull that I actually never use it. All in all, I would never recommend this vaccum and am very sad to be this disappointed in such an expensive product.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. Although we are unable to provide an alternative, we value your feedback regarding power cord storage.

If an item is too large to be picked up by the cleaner head you may want to use the quick draw wand as an alternative. The wand is engineered to help with quick pick ups, high reach and hard to reach cleaning. Your wand is also helpful for cleaning along your baseboards.

However, we understand you are having difficulty using your wand and hose. While we anticipate the hose on your DC33 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this.

We have also shared this information with you via email. Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. We look forward to speaking with you.
Review 4 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not good for area rugs
(December 30, 2012)
We bought the DC33 a few months ago and love the suction power as we have pets. However, the machine makes a horrendous noise when used on area rugs. I'm not talking door mats, I mean 8x12 size on hardwood. So I returned it to Costco and purchased another. Same issue. I called support and the tech person had me remove a gasket on the brush cover. Still didn't solve the problem. So I was told that this model may not be suitable for area rugs and it was suggested that I purchase the higher end ball model. Really!!!
Review 5 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
heavy and cumbersome
(December 27, 2012)
Bought this vacuum because I heard dyson was the best and easy to use. I have had it about 3 mos. and I can't stand it. The base is so high it won't go under any of my furniture or kitchen cabinets. The stair tool is awkward and the hose is to short so it is hard to do stairs. Someone broke a glass on my tile floor, pulled it out and it would not pick up the tiny glass particles, I had to use the hose and go over it may times.
I am going back to the light weight Orek vacuum. I changed because I wanted built in attachments, but I find this vacuum so heavy and awkward to use, I hardly use them. Extremely disappointed.
Review 6 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not very impressed
(December 23, 2012)
Here are my Pros and Cons on this machine:
Pro - its great on my hard wood floors and kitchen linoleum floor!
Cons - the attachments are HORRIBLE! I am very disappointed.
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the performance of your machine. However, we are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your attachments. We would like to discuss this further and we have emailed you. We look forward to speaking with you.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.,Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 7 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Skip the gym, use this vacuum
(March 3, 2012)
I've had the Dyson DC33 for just over a year. It does a wonderful job picking up dirt/dust on carpet and tile/hardwood. However, each time I use this vacuum, I become aggravated with the features that I expected to be better. I find this vacuum to be heavy and it requires a lot of arm muscle to maneuver around rooms. The hose is very stiff and difficult to keep extended because the suction pulls the hose back in. My husband has to help me by holding the vacuum and pulling the hose while I clean the stairs. I have four flights of stairs so this is a major undertaking with this vacuum. I'm extremely disappointed with this purchase.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceMarch 5, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the maneuverability of your machine and the stiffness of your hose. Although we are unable to provide an alternative we appreciate your feedback regarding the maneuverability of your DC33. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use.

However, you may also want to consider one of our canister machines. A canister vacuum may better suit your specific cleaning needs regarding weight, maneuverability and stair cleaning. To learn more about our canister machines please visit: http://www.dyson.com/store/hmc.asp.

If you have additional questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 8 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DC33 Difficult to use
(April 22, 2013)
I find the DC 33 difficult to use and maintain. We have a small cat, and my wife spends 5-10 minutes after each vacuuming cleaning the carpet brushes. I know that Dyson markets vacuums specifically for pets, but I didn't expect that the DC33 would be this maintenance intensive.
The extension hose is very stiff. It really is virtually unusable. We haul out the old central vacuum every time we need to use an extension vs dealing with the DC33 hose. I certainly didn't expect this from a Dyson vacuum.
Needless to say, I'm disappointed.
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceApril 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use.

It is necessary to perform maintenance on your brush bar periodically to remove any debris that may have accumulated. Cleaning your filters at least once every three months will help to ensure your DC33 has optimal suction, allowing more debris to pulled directly into the clear bin. For filter washing instructions please visit:

http://content.dyson.com/support/help.asp?article=1415&product=DC33-MULTIFLOOR

However, if you have any additional questions or concerns regarding your machine we are happy to help. Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 9 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
more cons than pros
(April 2, 2013)
I had such high hopes for this vac, and was greatly disappointed in a few key areas.
Pros: I love that it's truly a multi-floor vac. We have hard wood, tile, and carpet in our home, and I wanted something that could handle all surfaces.
I love all of the attachment/tool options for specialty cleaning ( crevices, base boards, couch )
The cord length is great, there is nothing more annoying than having to unplug in the middle of vacuuming!
Cons: I dont feel the suction strength is adequate for different lengths of carpet/rugs. I am constantly having to go over the same area several times to get it clean.
This is NOT a stair friendly vacuum. I have a split level home, with carpeted stairs in the foyer that are the first thing you see when you enter the house, so I am constantly vacuuming them. The wand is very awkward to use, the vacuum always falls over, and I have to go over each step 4-5 times each.
I will be returning this vacuum after trying my best to learn to love it for over a year, but I can no longer overlook it's shortcomings. Cleaning in itself is a chore, I want my appliances to make these tasks easier not more complicated and and left half done.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceMay 10, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the performance of your machine. Based on the details you provided, we would value an opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly.

For stair cleaning, it may be helpful to connect tools directly to the flexible hose. The wand is engineered for high reach and low reach cleaning. The flexible hose is ideal for closer cleanups, such as stairs, upholstery and the car.

Please call us directly at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
Review 10 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dissapointed and a waste of money!
(April 1, 2013)
I have never written a product review in my life, however feel very strongly about this. I have had this DC33 Multi Floor for just about 40 days, and it has already quit working on carpet. The salesman told me that I would be so happy and that this vac was the best one I could buy after I told him my budget and that I had an animal that sheds badly. I have to vacuum every day. I have cleaned this product with every use since this was an expensive vac, I've been taking extra care with keeping it clean. At this point it only cleans my hardwood and tile floors, but not the carpets in my home. I bought this product because I just got new carpet and want to keep it in good condition. My mother recently purchased another brand name vac and I borrowed this weekend to see how it stood up. Less $$ and much better suction even on the hardwood, without the loud screeching noise that the Dyson makes. The only thing I liked about this vacuum was the cord length. I can't wait to return the Dyson and get my home clean again!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceApril 12, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. The problem you described regarding your machine's performance on carpet is unusual. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you and we may be able to resolve the problem right over the phone.

Please call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 11 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dyson DC33
(December 6, 2012)
Picks up great but can't use it for under the beds
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceDecember 13, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty using your machine under beds. You may want to consider using the wand handle. Your wand handle is designed to clean high reach, or hard to reach places such as the area under beds or other low lying furniture.

If you have any additional questions regarding your DC33, please don't hesitate to contact us at 1-866-693-9766 or askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 12 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Overrated!!!
(December 3, 2012)
My wife and I purchased the DC33 about 5 years ago hoping it would be the last for a very long time. I will admit the first two years the vacuum worked beautifully but the advertised 'doesn't lose suction' is not accurate. We have experienced a significant decrease in the performance of the vacuum over the last 3 years, more specifically THE SUCTION! Our Dyson can not perform the most basic job like picking up smashed 'gold fish' crackers in our carpet. In order to get the crumbs up I have to use the hand wand, not exactly a time saver. I've spoken to a few friends and colleagues who also own a Dyson and they noticed the same problems with the loss of suction. Unfortunately we didn't register our vacuum for the 5 year warrant, please don't make the same mistake we did. At this point we are in the market for a new vacuum and we are torn if we want to give Dyson a 2nd chance because lets be honest they AREN'T CHEAP!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceDecember 7, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your machine. It is very likely your vacuum is still under warranty. Also, although we encourage you to register your machine, our ability to provide warranty assistance is not solely contingent on your registration being completed at the time of purchase.

However, based on the details you provided, it is unlikely repair or part replacement will be necessary. It sounds like you machine may have a blockage that is impacting the base of your machine. This is why your wand and hose are still effective. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you and we may be able to resolve this right over the phone.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 13 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
(November 10, 2012)
the only good i find with this vacuum is the sucking power, the attachments are to difficult to use, the vacuum cannot get under anything. For that priceI I expected alot better! I get aggravated everytime I have to vacuum!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceNovember 14, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your attachments and the height of your cleaner head. Your wand is engineered to help you clean high reach and hard to reach places, such as the area underneath your furniture. However, if you are having difficulty using your wand/hose and tools, we would like to provide further assistance to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you this information and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us directly at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
Review 14 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed
(June 8, 2012)
I first owned a Dyson upright in the UK about 10 years ago and loved it, so I was very excited to buy a new one in the US. Unfortunately, it is nowhere near as good as my old one was.
It still picks up an amazing amount of dirt, and I think that part works very well. However, it seems like Dyson have gone a little overboard with their design features. The hose extension, which was one of the best bits of the old models, just doesn't work as well as the old ones - it's especially awkward to use if you want to get close to something because you have to extend the metal hose the whole way out to use it. Ergonomically, it is just poorly designed, which is not what I have come to expect with Dyson at all.
The worst problem though is on carpets. It is almost impossible to push the vacuum over any large rug, even ones with short piles. I've tried it with the carpet setting both on and off but it is still just as difficult (and if the rug is long pile at all it has to be off or the brush gets stuck immediately). I am not a small guy, and it takes quite a bit of effort for me to vacuum a large area rug - sometimes the vacuum literally gets stuck and I cannot move it at all. My wife and kids really struggle and simply can't vacuum the rugs. The problem seems to be with the small leading edge of the vacuum which, when it hits any type of carpet, folds down and digs in. The only way you can then get it to move it to lay the vacuum almost on it's back to lift the front up slightly and then push forwards - of course this then doesn't clean as well and is tough on your back.
I'm sorry to say that unless Dyson have a clever way to fix this issue then I'm going to have to take it back, and I doubt I am going to spend the extra dollars to upgrade to the next model which is, in my opinion, very expensive.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJune 15, 2012
Thank you for completing a review of your DC33. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. Based on the description you provided you may not be separating the wand handle from the flexible hose when you are attempting to clean furniture, upholstery etc. The wand handle is intended for use in high reach or hard to reach places and is engineered to be easily removed when you need to get close to clean a specific object, such as a chair, mattress or vehicle. For visual guide on separating the wand handle and flexible hose please visit:

http://www.dyson.com/support/help.asp?article=1433&product=DC33-MULTIFLOOR

Area rugs are not secured to the floor and as a result the suction from the cleaner head is lifting the area rug off of the floor preventing air from entering the cleaner head which could make it difficult to maneuver your machine on an area rug. We may be able to help with your maneuverability concern.

Please call us directly at 1-866-693-9766. We have included this information in an email as well and look forward to speaking with you. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 15 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very disappointed
(May 19, 2012)
I think this vacuum is awful. I have a wind tunnel that does a much better job picking up the dirt then this vacuum does. I don't like how you can't vacuum area rugs without it sucking them up and making that "noise" that it makes. Just to see the difference, I vacuumed with this ine first and the I went over the room with the wind tunnel, I could not believe how much more dirt it picked. I have a cat and dog and this vacuum didn't even get half of it.
Thats my experience with it. If I could get my money back, I would do it. This is not worth it.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service May 22, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We are very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. The problem you describe regarding the performance of your DC33 is unusual. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your DC33 is functioning properly.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST. You can also email us at askdysonus@dyson.com.
Review 16 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Upright okay
(January 13, 2012)
We recently purchased this vacuum. It works very well as an upright vacuum. However I find the hose and attachments very awkward to use. You also need to turn the dial on the lower portion of the vacuum to change between floors and carpet.
The users guide is not very helpful. Just a couple of pictures in it.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC33. We value your feedback regarding the location of the clutch control and the user guide. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose and attachments easier to use.


If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00
p.m. CST.
Review 17 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
not a good product
(December 3, 2011)
sure, the suction is great and it will get a lot of dirt and dust out of your carpet, but if you want to clean anything with the wand you will want to scream. The 15' hose does NOT expand so you end up pulling the entire machine behind you (as it hits your heels). Even with the wand, you can not clean under anything unless you crawl around on your hands and knees. I regret this purchase and since I no longer have the box I can not return it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service December 7, 2011
We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the functionality of your hose. The problem you are describing is unusual and we would appreciate that opportunity to trouble shoot with you to ensure your machine is working properly. We have emailed you and look forward to hearing from you.

Please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 18 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum if you never use the attachment
(October 13, 2011)
I could not be happier with the suction of the vacuum. I used it after I used my old vacuum and was shocked to see that a quarter of the dirt canister was full.
There are however a few areas to improve on and one in particular makes me want to take this one back for a different Dyson. The attachment is barely usable. So much so that I'm shocked Dyson would sell them like this. The attachment stick is long and straight that if you are doing stairs you have to work at a weird angel which makes it difficult to do what you want. The hose also is so hard to pull out and it sticks close to the machine so although it sounds great that you have a 15 ft hose you can actually only use about 2 ft and that's with you pulling on it the entire time. I really can't use the attachment which is something I would normally use on a regular basis.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service October 21, 2011
We appreciate your feedback. While we anticipate your hose will be tight at first, it will loosen up over time. To expedite this process, have one person extend the hose to its full length while a second individual holds the machine in place. After doing this you should find the hose easier to use.

We have detailed this information in an email and look forward to hearing from you.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00
p.m. CST.
Review 19 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
bring back the DC07!!!
(August 14, 2011)
I have been a Dyson owner for several years now. My first purchase was the DC07. I am a current owner of the DC33. I love(d) my DC07, it fit every need possible and lasted me for many years, but as with everything over time it wasn't performing up to par any longer and the motor is starting to get a little hot if used for extended periods, but it still works, so I use it for my car, etc.
I decided I wanted a new vacuum for my house, a 2100 sq. ft. ranch basically all carpet. So I bought the DC33 because it was the comparable model to the DC07, with some slight differences. I have given the DC33 a fair try so I could get used to how the attachments are used in comparison, but I do not like the so called improvements.
The hose is definitely stiffer, but I am hoping in time this will stretch some. When I try to use the hose, my vacuum falls over or slides up on me. I have even tried pulling the hose out as far as possible to loosen it up a bit and that has not done the trick yet.
I also do not like the extender arm being in plastic, it feels so flimsy, when I am trying to clean near the baseboards, it feels like it could break very easily.
Last, but not least, I do not like the new attachment brush/crevice tool combo. I preferred the brush with the swivel head on the DC07 because I could get to different angles better such as on the ceiling fans or under the bed.
All this being said, I am a Dyson fan, I love the DC07 and would purchase it time and time again, however, I won't be purchasing another DC33 or any other Dyson upright (my preferred vacuum), if these "improvements" remain the only choice, therefore I cannot recommend this particular model to my friends.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service September 9, 2011
Thank you for continuing to purchase Dyson machines. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your DC33. While we anticipate the hose on your DC33 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this. The DC24 is constructed with ABS plastic. ABS is a tough thermoplastic used to make light, rigid and molded products. It has good shock absorbing properties and is used to make car bumpers, crash helmets and modern golf club heads.

However, If you are ever in need of assistance, please call 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 20 for DC33 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Do not get it.
(May 4, 2011)
This one model (I have owned 3 others) worked great for a year. But we have only three rooms of carpet. Started having issies with motor. The store we bought it at was great to replace it. Luckily we bought extended service warranty from them etc. The replacement lasted about 1 minute. We are getting a serious grinding noise when it is turned on. will have to return again. I hate that.
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service August 8, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your DC33. The problems you are describing are unusual and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you further.

We have contacted you by email and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., And Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>