Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dyson.

Dyson DC28 Animal

DC28 Animal is engineered for homes with pets – with a motorized brush bar for carpets and a Mini turbine head to remove pet hair from tight spaces. DC28 has Airmuscle™ technology, which precisely adjusts the cleaner head to clean every floor type thoroughly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(807 Reviews) 772
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (807 reviews)
5 stars
573
4 stars
135
3 stars
42
2 stars
32
1 star
25
Customer recommendation89%722 of 807reviewers would recommend the DC28 Animal to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC28 Animal
Review 761 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 19, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
we have two dogs and a cat so this machine was perfect and we also have hard wood floors through out are home and some carpet on stairs.This machine is excellent for picking up animal hair, it gets right in the corners with ease and the attachments make vacuuming under the furniture a breeze. I would recommend this product to anyone with animals in there home.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 762 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful machine
June 30, 2012
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I bought this machine six years ago and absolutely love it. I am as pleased with it today as I the first day I brought it home. I highly recommend it and will buy it again. I run a small foster for rescue animals and it is invaluable. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 763 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best vacumn you can get
July 3, 2012
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
can't say enough good about this vacumn worth the money then some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 764 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best
July 5, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This is by far the best vacuum cleaner on the market. I purchased mine in 2006, and it still performs like new. These are unbelievable machines well worth the higher price tag. I will never buy anything else, and it's an honor to write this compliment on this fine product.
Thanks Dyson
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 765 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd Dyson
July 5, 2012
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I bought the DC28 Animal to replace my DC07 that I purchased in 2001. I have always been pleased with my DC07 and it continues to run. Since I bought the DC07 I have added a pet to my family thus, the decision to upgrade to the DC28. I have to say I am impressed. I vacuumed with the DC07 the day before I received the DC28. After assembling the DC28 I put it to the test on the area I had vacuumed the day before. It did a very good job and had an almost full canister when I finished. I also observed the the carpet itself seemed less packed than with the DC07, seems the DC28 exhibits improved suction over my previous model that lifts the carpet better. I also like the way the handle and hose has been improved on the DC28, much easier to work with as opposed to the DC07. Impressive too is the new on/off button with the 4 mode selectors to move from bare floors to the three carpet settings, very nice addition. To say the least I am very happy with my upgrade to the DC28 and will keep my old DC07 as back-up. Thanks again Dyson for an outstanding product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 766 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Vac!
July 6, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Our carpet looks brand new! We have a very hairy dog, and it is hard to keep up with the dog hair situation in our house. This vacuum makes it possible for my kids to sit on the floor and not be covered in hair. It's definitely helping our allergies!
I love that emptying the canister is so easy and doesn't get dust everywhere like our old vacuum. I also love that the hose is so easy to use. Overall, everything on this machine is very user-friendly.
I'll admit, I was a bit skeptical at first and wasn't thrilled about spending the money for a vacuum cleaner, but I feel that it was 100% worth it and would definitely do it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 767 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed in DC28 and Dyson
July 12, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
This is our second Dyson. First one is still going, but we moved it downstairs after eight years of service. We recently purchased the DC28. I, like other customers, have a very difficult time pushing this vacuum on carpeting, the brush stops rotating, and the red light flashes. I've cleaned the brush - there are no obstructions. Very frustrating. I will be using the old vacuum until we buy something other than a Dyson.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJuly 27, 2012
Thank you for continuing to support Dyson technology. We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your machine. The flashing red light indicates there is an obstruction to the movement of your brush bar. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 768 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC28 Animal
July 15, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I have had this awesome machine for 1 year and 3 months. I wanted to use it for awhile and try all the tools that came with it before I wrote a review.First of all the demonstrations they show on tv DO NOT do this vacuum justice. They show it with pet hair just sitting on top of carpet, I have 3 dogs and dark carpets 2 of my dogs have blonde color hair so you do math........now lets add people walking back and fourth on carpets smashing it into the fibers of carpets, I wish the demonstration they would show on ty is the one I deal with(people would really believe the hype) this is one purchase in my lifetime that I can say is far and beyond worth the price. I have a love hate relationship with my Dyson. I can never just do a quick vacuum, I end up vacuuming everywhere I can vacuum and using almost every tool I have everytime I do. All I guess I am trying to say expensive yes, worth it if you own pets YES!!!!!!!!!!!! If you have pets you need to invest in this vacuum! P.S. the small brush attachment is a must have for pet hair on furniture, I have tryed different vacuums, duck tape, you name it I have tryed it to get hair off my furniture then I used this brush when I got my Dyson and It is a must have. Purchase this vacuum if you have a pet hair problem you will not be disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 769 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
disappointed
July 17, 2012
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
we had a great Dyson upright for 4.5 years and it needed replacing
we bought the DC28 animal last week and I anticipated the same great machine as before
this one has fantastic pickup (we have animals that shed all year long) but trying to maneuver the machine through the house is a hard! job, it is SO heavy
we have a large home with hardwood floors and persian rugs
I vacuum every day because of the animals
the hardwood floors are a breeze to vacuum, but the rugs next to impossible
using the high pile or medium pile settinfgs make absolutely no difference
the machine only runs smoothly if and when I vacuum with the direction of the pile, but can not move the thing in any other direction , which means that part of the rugs do not get vacuumed unless I want the fringes sucked into the machine and have to turn it off
I am so disappointed
vacuuming used to be so easy, now it is hard work and I miss my old Dyson every day
also, the handle and hose seem to be mounted "backwards" in comparison to the old model; it is much harder to pull out the hose and use it without the whole vacuum cleaner rolling around with me as I move
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJuly 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC28. We are glad to hear you are pleased with the performance of your machine. Area rugs are not secured to the floor and as a result the suction from the cleaner head is lifting the area rug off of the floor preventing air from entering the cleaner head which could make it difficult to maneuver your machine on an area rug.

While we anticipate the hose on your DC28 will be taut at first it will loosen over time. To expedite this process extend the hose to its full length while someone else holds the body of machine in place. The hose should be easier to use after doing this.

We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot with you further. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you. Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m .to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 770 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love My Dyson Animal
July 24, 2012
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We would go thru a new vaccum atleast every 5-8 mths or so until we baught our first Dyson animal when Costco and Lowes started selling them I had to have one. So my hubby took me out and suprised e whenwe got ours. We have had are Animal for about 11 yrs now and have never had a problem with it ! Everyone that has barrowed it has went out and bought one for themselves !!!! I will not own another vaccum unless its a Dyson.. We recomend them to everyone.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 771 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best things I own
August 2, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I am in love with this vacuum! I have a Shar Pei who sheds terribly and I was at a loss for what to do before I got this vacuum. It cleans carpets so that they look like new and also does great on hard surfaces. The different attachments are so easy to switch out and the canister is simple to empty so that you are never touching anything nasty. The stretchy tube stretches easily from the bottom of my stairs to the top so that I can leave the heavy vacuum at the bottom and clean every step. You can tell Dyson really thought of everything when making this and I would suggest it to everyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 772 for DC28 Animal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Dyson!!!!!!!
August 5, 2012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We just bought this Dyson and we are amazed how much hair and dirt is being picked up! We have 2 dogs with very different coats. One is a long haired Australian Shepherd and the other a short haired mix. We would highly recommend this product! It is a little costly for a vacuum but well worth the money!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for DC28 Animal
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 30 out of 35reviewers would recommend the DC28 Animal to a friend.
<<prev 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39