Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson DC23 Turbinehead

DC23 Animal has Level 3 Root Cyclone™ technology to capture microscopic dust. It comes with a Turbinehead brush bar for medium and short pile carpets. The Turbinehead switches off for hard floors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
88 of 96(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC23 Turbinehead
Review 1 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Don't buy this machine
(April 13, 2011)
I have three Dysons. The Turbinehead is the worst. Vacuum is poor on carpet and bare floor.
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
(June 19, 2012)
very disappointed with my new dyson. the cleaning head is cheaply made for the price of this vaccumn. Also when in use I am geeting a whistling noise from the top of the handle.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJune 21, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your DC23. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your machine. Your DC23 is constructed is constructed with ABS plastic. ABS is a tough thermoplastic used to make light, rigid and molded products. It has good shock absorbing properties and is used to make car bumpers, crash helmets and modern golf club heads. The whistling noise you described in your review is unusual. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide further assistance in this matter.

We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you. Please call us directly at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 3 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
So what's the hype about?
(December 26, 2011)
Ran my new DC23 for the first time. Not really impressed. Hose is too short. Power cord is too short. This unit is designed for short people with small rooms. The air driven brush just seems weak and does not like berber carpet. Try to drag it against the weave and the rubber sweep grabs and jumps. The articulation of the power brush is nice but I am curious to find out how long before it breaks so I can test the warranty. Just seems fragile (Hey, isn't that Italian?)
An attachment that is strictly for non-carpeted surfaces, something simple without the brush (which when not rotating gets in the way of pet hair, leaves, random stuff) would be nice. I will grant that the unit did pick up what it was pointed at, but is it worth the fight? If the power cord was 3' longer I could reach the same areas that my old vacuum used to. I tried a new version of the same brand as my old unit before the Dyson, returned it when the power head level adjustment feature broke after the third time I used the vacuum. Very disappointed.
It'll take time to get used to the duster attachment. The vaunted suction makes it a bit touchy. More bristles to help it stay above the work surface could be an improvement.
And the Turbinehead carriage could use a wider wheel base or some sort of stability improvement. It just isn't a stable drag behind platform with the way the hose attaches.
Last gripe: The supposed feature of being able to dump the canister without having to get one's hands dirty is probably great if all you pick up is dirt, sand, or very small rocks. Add some pet hair and now you are digging it out by hand. Feh.
Well, I'll work with it a while longer to give it a chance.
Review 4 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
My Dyson blah
(September 20, 2011)
i bought this cleaner about 3 weeks ago . because i needed a new vacuum and thought this was a wondering vacuum. i have nothing but trouble the power head stop working and the vacuum all together stop working so now i need a new vacuum !
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service September 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your DC23. We would appreciate the opportunity to trouble shoot over the phone to ensure your machine is working properly and provide assistance.

We have contacted you by email and look forward to hearing from you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., And Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 5 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed
(January 3, 2011)
I have 5 or 6 Dyson vacuums and feel they were worth the money. However this last one was not so good. I rated it compared to the other Dysons. It is noisy (whistles while it works) and leaves little droppings as it goes along. No I can't find a leak. The suction does not seem as strong as others. The Head pushes the dirt around Yes the setting is right. It is rather cumbersome things get tangled up and difficult to maneuver. It is great at getting caught up on things.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Excellent suction-but won't pick up a lot of stuff
(March 22, 2012)
To begin--yes, this product has excellent suction. Great for corners, couches, bare floors, curtains and stairs.
However, it is designed for low surfaces. Since it DOES say this in the product description, I shouldn't complain. It's just hard not to, because I have children who leave pretzle/chip/cereal crumbs around---and a son who, when he cleans the fish tank, drops pieces of the gravel on the floor.
This vacuum will NOT pick this stuff up at all. So, you will need to bend down and hand pick any "larger" items like this up yourself (unless you detach the vacuum head and suck it up with the wand. It's frustrating.
Great for some things......but for normal "daily living" stuff--it's not very functional (especially if you have kids). The only other problem I have is that the debris collects in just one small area of the canister, which prevents the "swirling" and leads me to believe the vacuum isn't doing as good of a job as it should be doing. This results in a LOT of canister dumping before it's actually anywhere near full.
I don't know, I'm thinking of returning it for another Dyson which is better for my needs.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
May be returned to store.
(September 15, 2011)
Purchased the DC23 today, with high expectations, only to be disappointed.
As far as the suction performance goes, I don't think many brands can beat Dyson. That said, the ease of use is very poor. When using hand held attachments, the hose kept twisting and getting caught on itself. It was a workout using it on sculptured carpet with very low pile, and this was just one 14 x 14 room. The head (with or without brush moving) would stick to the carpet and I had to really use some effort to move it. Tried adjusting the suction by the hooked lever on handle, but that's just defeating the purpose. I tried going different directions on carpet, but it didn't make any difference. I may use some of the store 30 day return policy to give this vac a chance, but I don't see myself getting new carpet to go with my new vacuum, pretty sure I will be returning it for refund.
Review 8 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(January 16, 2011)
I'M NOT CRAZY ABOUT BAGLESS FEATURE VERY MESSY TRYING TO EMPTY AND KEEP CLEAN. ALSO NOT CRAZY ABOUT THE BARE FLOOR CLEANER ATTACHMENT, NOT THOUROUGH ENOUGH.
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
If you have Rhuematoid -Canister a must to avoid
(December 20, 2010)
Picks up well, under beds, edges & corners. Had to return it & get a Dyson upright as the canisters are too heavy to pull. Canisters do not p/u as well.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
House from 1920's looks great!
(March 28, 2012)
I was recently given this vacuum as a gift and was overly excited about it. I live in an old home and as hard as I try, it's always seems to be dusty or there's dirt somewhere. The Dyson was able to get a ton of the grit and grime off my hardwood floors and they look much better even after one use! My husband noticed without prompting. I'm very happy with the product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
review of dc23
(January 27, 2012)
This is my second dyson. My first I had for 8 years and I was so excited to update. I was in love with my first and expected the same for my second but was somewhat disappointed. The hose length is much shorter which makes it difficult to do high things (ledges, fans etc) that I was able to do without difficulty before. I love the self wind cord but the cord is too short. I have to have an extension cord on the end to help get around ( I have a large area of hard floors). I was really looking forward to a machine that would be easier to go from hard floor to carpet. This one is simple in the fact you just need to adjust on the head. It does well on my hard floors and it does well on my regular carpets. I do not like the fact that it does not seem to "fluff" the carpet. You do not see big vacuum marks on the carpet to show that it was vacuumed. I have a large area rug in my living room. It is absolutely horrible on it. I have to make sure I only vacuum with the grain of the carpet or it is like trying to push through rocks. Also, it is not easy to store, it takes up a lot of room.
Overall I am very happy with the performance. It picks up A LOT of dirt. It is an excellent design for stairs. It sits beautiful on the stairs and I don't hurt myself trying to vacuum stairs and hold vacuum at same time. My dislikes are not enough to return it because I find the product great just not in love with the total design of this model.
Review 12 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
wonderful machine!!!
(December 22, 2011)
Love this vacuum, cannot believe the "stuff" it found in what I thought was a clean house. My only suggestion for improvement is to have a longer hose so that the cannister moves better, it tends to tip over alot, at least for me. The other thing that would be great would be a self propelled head, the suction is so wonderful that I have to push really hard to move the head along.
Thank you for making this vacuum, it really is a great improvement over anything I have used before.
Review 13 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Mighty fine
(December 7, 2011)
Light weight, easy to move, canister is a bit small, but then it wouldn't be easy to move. Easy to empty~ just hold it down into your trash can to avoid dust. The Turbohead neatly goes under the sofa, futon and low bed frame. We have a cat and no stairs and a small house. I'd recommend to a friend, but they should think about their needs and choose the appropriate Dyson machine. I might have bought the smallest Dyson, but it wasn't available at COSTCO.
Review 14 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Black Friday Deal
(November 30, 2011)
Bought my Dyson at Target, so on top of the $50 discount, I got my 5% red 1card discount! I bought a canister after years of uprights and will never go back. Canisters are much lighter, easier to do stairs and under the beds/tables. If you're thinking about getting a dyson - go for it. Yes it's expensive, but it's totally worth it. Save up and go for it!
Review 15 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
nice machine but i would change a few things
(October 27, 2011)
the machine itself is great although there is no edge cleaning for the head and no self propelled head the two items are not something i would have though of but using this machine i realized are very important and wish it had.
Review 16 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson DC23 canister
(July 28, 2011)
I purchased the DC23 on July 23,2011. It is working extremely well on short pile carpet and tile flooring which we have throughout our home.
I would recommend the cleaner, but would suggest any potential purchaser to go to a retail store and "test drive" it. The length of the extension tube maybe too short for tall people. The noise from the motor maybe too loud for some people.
This is not the first canister machine that I have purchased from Dyson. I have also a DC02, De Stijl model; that is still operating well back in the UK.
Review 17 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Little but Powerful!
(July 20, 2011)
I recently moved and had central vaccuum in my other house. I was leary at first to try a small vaccuum but was quickly amazed at how powerful and easy this vaccuum is. You can clean both floors and carpet and it's so lightweight it is easy for me to pick up even with carpal tunnel in my hands. Would recommend this machine!
Review 18 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great VAC!
(April 13, 2011)
As like all the Dyson products, it's 100% ! my only issue wish the hose was longer! 1 foot -- maybe?
Review 19 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Performance.
(March 2, 2011)
This is a wonderful machine.. No bags. no Filters.. But you need that home cleaning kit.. I like the dust brush and the stiff bristled brush the best..That angled brush is just awkward to use..It is not helpful at all..I also bought the Flat out tool... This is a must for Hard wood floors like mine..I Love that tool...I never ever empty the canister in my home.. I just make a trip to the garage and empty it directly into The Garbage bin..Five year warranty and Power.. and the attachments don't fall off in the middle of cleaning.. It is a nice Machine.I would definitely recommend this machine to my friends..
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC23 Turbinehead
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
dc23 canaster
(January 9, 2011)
I like the power of the vac, but it is not easy to release the canaster from the blue top. making a big mess by releasing the bottom lid. the grafic directions do nottt describe how it is released. It released 4 times and I have brought it in to the retail store I bought it. They couldn't work it either. Anyone know how it works?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>