Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue

When used as a cooling fan, Dyson AM05 fan heater has powerful airflow and high air velocity to cool you effectively. It uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long-range heat projection – it provides direct heat throughout the room. There are no visible heating elements or fast-spinning blades, and the unit switches off automatically if tipped over. $EmbeddedVideo:AM06 Desk Fan (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1185 Reviews) 1005
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,185 reviews)
5 stars
909
4 stars
242
3 stars
22
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer recommendation97%1,148 of 1,185reviewers would recommend the AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not That Impressed... NOISY/LOUD
December 18, 2014
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
This looked good to me on the surface. A fan and/or heater all in one. Great! I made the mistake of purchasing this online without seeing it or testing it in person. Once, I received it I was disappointed with it. For such a small fan and Dyson technology this fan is extremely LOUD. For instance, the only way to be in the same room with this fan running, is for it to be on the lowest fan speed setting of 1. (and it goes to 10) Dyson advertises their fans to be quiet and I'm a huge fan of their vacuums however, this fan/heater requires vast improvements. I now use this in my garage because it's not suitable for civilized indoor use. How this fan passed Dyson's Research and Product Development is beyond me. Disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AM05 Fan Heater
September 30, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
Upon purchasing this unit I was under the impression from the advertisement that it cooled the air as well as heated the air as it passed thru the unit. It does not. It is a great product for winter use, but is nothing more than a fancy looking fan in summer. For the money you can by a nice fan and a room heater for winter.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cool and heat fan
October 6, 2013
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Too much money, louder than I thought, but still I did not return it. Like
The look and no blades. After two months, still not sure?....
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice heater, but loud
November 11, 2013
Would you recommend this product? No
This heater is loud. The first three settings are bearable but the next seven are very loud almost like a jet engine. The heater and fan works very nicely though. Seems to heat the room well and evenly, however, I don't know if many would be able to sleep with the amount of noise this fan makes. I am happy with my purchase for now, but only time will tell if the noise becomes overbearing.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 24, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear overall you are enjoying your machine.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, we are happy to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please feel free to email askdysonus@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.
Review 5 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good heater but way too load
December 14, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
This is no doubt an efficient heater in the winter.
However, it is extremely load and I cannot sleep without having ear plugs now....
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works
January 20, 2014
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
It does work; however, as consumer reports says , it is noisey.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear it is working properly.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, if you have any concerns regarding the function of your AM05 please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 and we will be happy to help.
Review 7 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Product
October 12, 2014
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Looks good, small footprint and light weight. Does exactly what it's designed for and comparatively quieter and more effectively than other brands of fan/heaters. It's an excellent product to supplement your in-home hvac system. I just leave it on at 71 degrees and let it clicks on by itself every 15 or so minutes for about 10 seconds each time. A timer function would be nice.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Hi there and thank you for the review of your AM05. We are very glad to hear you are enjoying the machine and the temperature control.

You may be interested to know that all of our latest air multiplier technology includes a sleep timer that can be set from 15 minutes through 9 hours.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, please feel free to send us an email at askdysonUS@dyson.com if you are in need of support.

Best wishes,

Joe
Review 8 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could be better
January 9, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
The unit is noisy at either end of the hot or cool spectrum. I'm surprised that a sound muffler could not have been installed to reduce the noise level. The unit could also use a timer and a sleep timer to automatically shut off after a certain amount of time has been set on the timer. My regular heater has this function. Lastly, the unit could be taller. I have to move the unit off the floor and put it on a table in order to warm up or cool down a room. Why didn't Dyson think of these things?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DYSON
May 17, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
WOW..GREAT TECH.I WANT TO KNOW THIS PRICIPLE OF OPERATION
-23points
32out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
July 5, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We have particularily liked this unit in the winter as an at our feet warmth source. It's an efficient not too hot boost without raising our power bill.
We're not very impressed as a cooling fan this summer. The oscillating squeeks and angle needs adjusting to stop noise.
The unit is very easy to clean. It's a bit pricey for what you get.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
two for one
July 8, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This product works well as a small cooling fan for our bathroom. It is quiet and does not take up extra space. The remote that is magnetized to sit on top is handy and makes it harder to misplace. I plan to use it this winter in a bedroom for guests who like extra warmth or in our rather drafty living room. Well worth the Dyson price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pretty good so far...
July 9, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The heat function works great. Nice and light.
Non intrusive.
Only con after three months of light usage is some strange noise in regular wind. I didn't even use high setting. As it turns to the left, it sounds like something is loose and vibrating somewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use it everyday and everywhere
July 12, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I like the options to increase the rate of airflow and the option to have that flow directed in a steady stream or the option of that flow oscillate within a 90 degree angle. Controlling all of this via an easy to operate remote is also nice. Since there are no blades, I don't have to worry about 2 juvenile delinquent cats sniffing at it or knocking it over. Both of them have actually stuck their heads in the opening to figure out what the noise is. It is easy to move and travels with me around the house and so I can keep my house AC set a couple of degrees than I normally would.
It is a bit noisy so have to have it below the higher settings if I am on a teleconference meeting.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good
July 22, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Love the remote control feature. It is very responsive. The heat and the cool seem to work fairly well, but not as well as I had expected/.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dyson Fan
July 23, 2013
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This fan is both sleek and attractive. We just love the fact that there are no blades and access to the blowing area makes it easy to keep clean. We use it by our bed for a nice nightly breeze as we sleep. Can't wait to see how the heating element performs this winter - we are sure it will take the chill off the bathroom!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing; works great, but noisy
September 27, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The AM05 is amazing piece of technology - it works great as a fan, and it really does heat up my room quite nicely. I love how I can leave it on at night and not worry about burning my apartment down.
My only gripe is the noise; since I like to heat up my room at night so I can fall asleep, the noise is enough to keep me up or wake me, even on the lowest airflow setting.
Everything else, however, is marvelous.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AM05 Unit
October 25, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall a great heater, plenty of air volume but cooling is lacking in "cool", just more like "fan", would be great if the unit displayed the present room temp as the room warms or cools which it does not. I have less expensive units that do just that......display present settings and warm up to your particular setting. Guess I expected more from a high end unit.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dyson Hot and Cold fan
October 25, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Nice size, heats up my bedroom in a really fast manner. I like how you can feel the heat above your feet because of the way the fan blows and how it tilts. You can feel it across a room. Overall a good purchase but a bit pricey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fan
November 1, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I like the fan as it works wonderful the only disapppointing thing it's louder than I thought. We use it at about speed 4 and it is quite loud. If you have a fan/heater that is quieter I would like to try it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dyson Hot+Cool Fan
November 1, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Does a decent job covering a small area for heat, with its rotate and tilt features allows you to pinpoint an area like a desk, or will work in a small office. Have not had a chance to use it for the cool side, but the air flow is good. But much quieter than your normal space heater or cooling fan.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 40 next>>