Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue

Dyson AM05 fan heater uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long-range heat projection – it provides direct heat throughout the room. When used as a cooling fan it has powerful airflow and high air velocity to cool you effectively. There are no visible heating elements or fast-spinning blades, and the unit switches off automatically if tipped over. $EmbeddedVideo:AM05 Fan heater (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (334 reviews)
5 stars
258
4 stars
66
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
324 of 334(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
AM05 Fan Heater
(September 30, 2013)
Upon purchasing this unit I was under the impression from the advertisement that it cooled the air as well as heated the air as it passed thru the unit. It does not. It is a great product for winter use, but is nothing more than a fancy looking fan in summer. For the money you can by a nice fan and a room heater for winter.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It works
(January 20, 2014)
It does work; however, as consumer reports says , it is noisey.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear it is working properly.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, if you have any concerns regarding the function of your AM05 please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 and we will be happy to help.
Review 3 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Good heater but way too load
(December 14, 2013)
This is no doubt an efficient heater in the winter.
However, it is extremely load and I cannot sleep without having ear plugs now....
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Nice heater, but loud
(November 11, 2013)
This heater is loud. The first three settings are bearable but the next seven are very loud almost like a jet engine. The heater and fan works very nicely though. Seems to heat the room well and evenly, however, I don't know if many would be able to sleep with the amount of noise this fan makes. I am happy with my purchase for now, but only time will tell if the noise becomes overbearing.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 24, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear overall you are enjoying your machine.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, we are happy to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please feel free to email askdysonus@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.
Review 5 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
cool and heat fan
(October 6, 2013)
Too much money, louder than I thought, but still I did not return it. Like
The look and no blades. After two months, still not sure?....
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
performs well overall with few minor problems
(September 7, 2014)
bought for 20ft by 20ft detached room.
pros
*does the job
*heats well
*safe to touch, and obviously no blades
*modern look
cons
*bright blue light which doesn't turn off
*dyson hasn't incorporated the same technology their AM06 fan currently uses for quieter operation.
*Dyson fan does not actually cool air, just merely circulates the air.
other
*costly, but still worth it as dyson products are incomparable to any other brand and they are backed by wonderful customer service
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson Amo5 Hot & Cool Fan Heater
(February 18, 2014)
I got my Dyson about a month ago. It works fine but I think it could throw out a little more heat. I haven't received my light bill yet to see if it went up or not. I like everything else about it. It is small & compact &
nice to look at. I placed it in the middle of our living room. I guess I have it where it will work the best. I also hope it lasts for years due to the price.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
nice but pricy
(February 7, 2014)
I like the heat that this supplies better than the Heat Dish I had been using. The heat from the Dyson feels safe and there is no worry of getting burned or starting a fire as one would by nearness to the Heat Dish. I don't see how the Dyson would heat a large room, I haven't tried but it does well in my small bathroom. Overall happy with my investment so far, I hope the Dyson lasts for yrs due to it's high price.
Review 9 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
An excellent, all-in-one, solution
(January 14, 2014)
We live in San Francisco, and the erratic weather, coupled with vintage homes, can make it difficult to rely on a single solution for renters. Now that we have a baby, we needed something to supplement heat and cooling throughout the day.
So far this has been excellent: heats up fast, has impressive air power, remote control works well, and not hot on the exterior to the touch. My only complaint is that the lowest level of air flow (aka, level 1) has a somewhat high pitch whistle. I assume this is common for this type of air flow system, but it's annoying. Level 2 has a smooth sound, but is more powerful than we need. In the end, not as quiet as I would have liked and had hoped.
The LED lights are also rather bright in dim lighting, so you'll probably (like most people) be putting a black sock on the front of your Dyson to block it out. Not the most elegant solution.
The compactness of the heater allows you to easily set up the device in small locations, including rather close to the wall (it's back mind you, do not face the front to the wall). Very helpful, and welcomed.
In the end, if you have a kid, and you want it near their room, keep in mind that you may have to get used to the sound or move it a bit out of the way. I think it's the best option on the market beside that concern, and I think it was a good (not great) value at the price.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Heater
(January 13, 2014)
I purchased for my daughters room which is above garage and always cold in the winter. This fan is just what we needed. Room warms nicely only issue is a little noisy but it has not bothered my daughters sleep.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
One drawback
(January 12, 2014)
I am using this during our cold months in Northern CA instead of using my heater. My one complaint is the remote control. It is so small that it could easily be lost. Also, the symbols are difficult to make out, especially for a senior citizen.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Short-term impressions of the Fan Heater
(January 11, 2014)
Have not had the unit very long. Like the heater/fan capabilities. Noisier than expected at fan settings above 4. Occasionally scares my dog. Would have liked option of having a height extender or a taller unit (i.e. tower-fan). Magnetic remote-control holder very nice touch (important as remote is very small).
Instructions say to not use any extension cords; plug in to wall unit only. Very inconvenient in my applications; cord too short. Why can't a fully grounded, 3-prong extension cord in good, undamaged condition be used??
Wanted to get the blue unit, but was not available.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Stylish Heater Fan
(January 9, 2014)
Very stylish and conversation starter; "where does the air come from?" Heats a small area very nicely, but not fast. Does not blow real forcefully. If you have the extra $$, get it - but you can spend less and get a heater just as, or more, efficiently.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(January 6, 2014)
this fan is awesome. only tried the hot part but its -15 here and my room is staying at 77 awesome. cant waiot till summer to use the cool.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heater fan review
(January 3, 2014)
The unit is quieter than the other units I researched. The cost was significantly higher than the other units but all the areas I researched recommended the AM05. We bought it because of our high heating costs in past years and we wanted to see if we reduce the costs of our oil heat bills and recoup the cost of the AM05 as a minimum. So far, the oil heating bills are lower but the winter months haven't really hit their stride yet. An additional selling point is the safety from the bladeless unit. Our one year old grandson has already explored the unit with no problems.
A recommendation would be to make the buttons on the remote control a little easier to see.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fan/Heater
(December 30, 2013)
I love the Dyson hot and cool. The remote is handy and easy to use and being magnetic very hard to lose. I love the color options available. I chose white. It does the advertised job of cooling down or heating up an entire room. My only criticism would be that it is not "whisper quiet". It does have a noise level to that could have an effect on conversations and/or television watching.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nice Heater
(December 25, 2013)
I received the Hot+Cool fan within a week after ordering it online, it provides a steady flow of nice warm air on cold nights in my bedroom. I like the thermostat feature which allows the machine to turn on and off by itself thereby not allowing the room to become to stuffy. I have not received electric bill yet to know if its going to make a difference compared to other space heaters i have used and noticed a big increase in my electric bill. Overall, i am pleased with the product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dyson AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater
(December 21, 2013)
I had debated getting this for some time and got it for a discount on QVC. I love the fan. I question the temperature control as it seems to run when it seems like it is already warm, even when I set it on 68 degrees. I like the safety factor with no fan since I have a small grandchild and animals; no worries. I do think it is priced exceptionally high and would not have purchased it if I didn't receive the discount.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hot and Cool Fan
(December 21, 2013)
I have only had the opportunity to use the fan to heat my living space (not the cooling feature) and find that it works well and keeps an otherwise drafty area of my living room pretty comfortable. Time will tell if it cuts down on use of my furnace.
Review 20 for AM05 Hot+Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best ever
(December 21, 2013)
Excellent product. Have been using in the motor home as well as family room at home. The heater works better than any I have used. The cool works well although I have not had the opportunity to use the cool much.
I think if the Dyson fans were a little less expensive, more wold be bought but I will say that I am not sorry I paid the $ for it. I just carry this one from hoise to motor home as needed or from room to room as needed at home.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>