Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue

Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1257 Reviews) 1067
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,257 reviews)
5 stars
955
4 stars
260
3 stars
23
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer recommendation96%1,212 of 1,257reviewers would recommend the AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not That Impressed... NOISY/LOUD
December 18, 2014
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
This looked good to me on the surface. A fan and/or heater all in one. Great! I made the mistake of purchasing this online without seeing it or testing it in person. Once, I received it I was disappointed with it. For such a small fan and Dyson technology this fan is extremely LOUD. For instance, the only way to be in the same room with this fan running, is for it to be on the lowest fan speed setting of 1. (and it goes to 10) Dyson advertises their fans to be quiet and I'm a huge fan of their vacuums however, this fan/heater requires vast improvements. I now use this in my garage because it's not suitable for civilized indoor use. How this fan passed Dyson's Research and Product Development is beyond me. Disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing
November 16, 2015
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
All summer long I would run this and my cheap blade fan put out more air than this AM05 I was highly disappointed because I was really expecting this to keep me cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AM05 Fan Heater
September 30, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
Upon purchasing this unit I was under the impression from the advertisement that it cooled the air as well as heated the air as it passed thru the unit. It does not. It is a great product for winter use, but is nothing more than a fancy looking fan in summer. For the money you can by a nice fan and a room heater for winter.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My older ove was better
November 16, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
I do not like the rubber feel outside. Remote already peeling and feel sticky. My previous model I had, had recall. After fix, it was so laud. Got my money back. Purchase new one, is also louder then previous model, and really don't like the feel of the body. Wipe the dust is not easy either. When I turn fan on 10, I can't hear the TV. Very disappointed this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very disappointed
November 17, 2015
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? No
Not what I expected.. I keep getting a error when I use this heater/fan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dissapointing
November 17, 2015
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
always thought of dyson as a premium brand with reputation for outstanding products. Bought this product for my wife’s office as she is always cold in winter or hot in summer so thought this was perfect solution. It is more expensive than other heating/cooling products but Im happy to pay for quality that will last. We first started using product in winter and it worked well. When summer came along and we switched the setting to cool it stopped working. It only provides a humming noise with no heat or cooling affect produced. Not impressed with our first dyson purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cool and heat fan
October 6, 2013
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Too much money, louder than I thought, but still I did not return it. Like
The look and no blades. After two months, still not sure?....
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice heater, but loud
November 11, 2013
Would you recommend this product? No
This heater is loud. The first three settings are bearable but the next seven are very loud almost like a jet engine. The heater and fan works very nicely though. Seems to heat the room well and evenly, however, I don't know if many would be able to sleep with the amount of noise this fan makes. I am happy with my purchase for now, but only time will tell if the noise becomes overbearing.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 24, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear overall you are enjoying your machine.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, we are happy to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please feel free to email askdysonus@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.
Review 9 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good heater but way too load
December 14, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
This is no doubt an efficient heater in the winter.
However, it is extremely load and I cannot sleep without having ear plugs now....
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works
January 20, 2014
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
It does work; however, as consumer reports says , it is noisey.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear it is working properly.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, if you have any concerns regarding the function of your AM05 please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 and we will be happy to help.
Review 11 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Product
October 12, 2014
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Looks good, small footprint and light weight. Does exactly what it's designed for and comparatively quieter and more effectively than other brands of fan/heaters. It's an excellent product to supplement your in-home hvac system. I just leave it on at 71 degrees and let it clicks on by itself every 15 or so minutes for about 10 seconds each time. A timer function would be nice.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Hi there and thank you for the review of your AM05. We are very glad to hear you are enjoying the machine and the temperature control.

You may be interested to know that all of our latest air multiplier technology includes a sleep timer that can be set from 15 minutes through 9 hours.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, please feel free to send us an email at askdysonUS@dyson.com if you are in need of support.

Best wishes,

Joe
Review 12 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could be better
January 9, 2015
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
The unit is noisy at either end of the hot or cool spectrum. I'm surprised that a sound muffler could not have been installed to reduce the noise level. The unit could also use a timer and a sleep timer to automatically shut off after a certain amount of time has been set on the timer. My regular heater has this function. Lastly, the unit could be taller. I have to move the unit off the floor and put it on a table in order to warm up or cool down a room. Why didn't Dyson think of these things?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dyson Heater
November 16, 2015
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? No
The unit is noisy, and does not heat the size room as claimed. I can heat a room quickly with another more power intensive unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DYSON
May 17, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
WOW..GREAT TECH.I WANT TO KNOW THIS PRICIPLE OF OPERATION
-23points
32out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
July 5, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
We have particularily liked this unit in the winter as an at our feet warmth source. It's an efficient not too hot boost without raising our power bill.
We're not very impressed as a cooling fan this summer. The oscillating squeeks and angle needs adjusting to stop noise.
The unit is very easy to clean. It's a bit pricey for what you get.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
two for one
July 8, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This product works well as a small cooling fan for our bathroom. It is quiet and does not take up extra space. The remote that is magnetized to sit on top is handy and makes it harder to misplace. I plan to use it this winter in a bedroom for guests who like extra warmth or in our rather drafty living room. Well worth the Dyson price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pretty good so far...
July 9, 2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product? Yes
The heat function works great. Nice and light.
Non intrusive.
Only con after three months of light usage is some strange noise in regular wind. I didn't even use high setting. As it turns to the left, it sounds like something is loose and vibrating somewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use it everyday and everywhere
July 12, 2013
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
I like the options to increase the rate of airflow and the option to have that flow directed in a steady stream or the option of that flow oscillate within a 90 degree angle. Controlling all of this via an easy to operate remote is also nice. Since there are no blades, I don't have to worry about 2 juvenile delinquent cats sniffing at it or knocking it over. Both of them have actually stuck their heads in the opening to figure out what the noise is. It is easy to move and travels with me around the house and so I can keep my house AC set a couple of degrees than I normally would.
It is a bit noisy so have to have it below the higher settings if I am on a teleconference meeting.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good
July 22, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Love the remote control feature. It is very responsive. The heat and the cool seem to work fairly well, but not as well as I had expected/.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dyson Fan
July 23, 2013
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product? Yes
This fan is both sleek and attractive. We just love the fact that there are no blades and access to the blowing area makes it easy to keep clean. We use it by our bed for a nice nightly breeze as we sleep. Can't wait to see how the heating element performs this winter - we are sure it will take the chill off the bathroom!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>