Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue

When used as a cooling fan, Dyson AM05 fan heater has powerful airflow and high air velocity to cool you effectively. It uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long-range heat projection – it provides direct heat throughout the room. There are no visible heating elements or fast-spinning blades, and the unit switches off automatically if tipped over. $EmbeddedVideo:AM06 Desk Fan (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1146 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,146 reviews)
5 stars
885
4 stars
230
3 stars
20
2 stars
4
1 star
7
1,112 of 1,146(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not That Impressed... NOISY/LOUD
(December 18, 2014)
This looked good to me on the surface. A fan and/or heater all in one. Great! I made the mistake of purchasing this online without seeing it or testing it in person. Once, I received it I was disappointed with it. For such a small fan and Dyson technology this fan is extremely LOUD. For instance, the only way to be in the same room with this fan running, is for it to be on the lowest fan speed setting of 1. (and it goes to 10) Dyson advertises their fans to be quiet and I'm a huge fan of their vacuums however, this fan/heater requires vast improvements. I now use this in my garage because it's not suitable for civilized indoor use. How this fan passed Dyson's Research and Product Development is beyond me. Disappointed.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
AM05 Fan Heater
(September 30, 2013)
Upon purchasing this unit I was under the impression from the advertisement that it cooled the air as well as heated the air as it passed thru the unit. It does not. It is a great product for winter use, but is nothing more than a fancy looking fan in summer. For the money you can by a nice fan and a room heater for winter.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Could be better
(January 9, 2015)
The unit is noisy at either end of the hot or cool spectrum. I'm surprised that a sound muffler could not have been installed to reduce the noise level. The unit could also use a timer and a sleep timer to automatically shut off after a certain amount of time has been set on the timer. My regular heater has this function. Lastly, the unit could be taller. I have to move the unit off the floor and put it on a table in order to warm up or cool down a room. Why didn't Dyson think of these things?
Review 4 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Product
(October 12, 2014)
Looks good, small footprint and light weight. Does exactly what it's designed for and comparatively quieter and more effectively than other brands of fan/heaters. It's an excellent product to supplement your in-home hvac system. I just leave it on at 71 degrees and let it clicks on by itself every 15 or so minutes for about 10 seconds each time. A timer function would be nice.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Hi there and thank you for the review of your AM05. We are very glad to hear you are enjoying the machine and the temperature control.

You may be interested to know that all of our latest air multiplier technology includes a sleep timer that can be set from 15 minutes through 9 hours.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, please feel free to send us an email at askdysonUS@dyson.com if you are in need of support.

Best wishes,

Joe
Review 5 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It works
(January 20, 2014)
It does work; however, as consumer reports says , it is noisey.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear it is working properly.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, if you have any concerns regarding the function of your AM05 please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 and we will be happy to help.
Review 6 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Good heater but way too load
(December 14, 2013)
This is no doubt an efficient heater in the winter.
However, it is extremely load and I cannot sleep without having ear plugs now....
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Nice heater, but loud
(November 11, 2013)
This heater is loud. The first three settings are bearable but the next seven are very loud almost like a jet engine. The heater and fan works very nicely though. Seems to heat the room well and evenly, however, I don't know if many would be able to sleep with the amount of noise this fan makes. I am happy with my purchase for now, but only time will tell if the noise becomes overbearing.
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 24, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear overall you are enjoying your machine.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, we are happy to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please feel free to email askdysonus@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.
Review 8 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
cool and heat fan
(October 6, 2013)
Too much money, louder than I thought, but still I did not return it. Like
The look and no blades. After two months, still not sure?....
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(March 27, 2015)
We bought this for our kids' bedroom to keep it warm in the winter, and hopefully it works just as well to keep it cool in the summer! We have it on a bookshelf which makes the noise resonate quite loudly, but we wanted it up off the floor because we have a crawler. It heats up a pretty decent sized space fairly quickly, and I hope it works to cool off the same amount of space in the summer just as nicely. Great product, but it would be nicer if it were a little more silent.
Review 10 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pretty good
(March 13, 2015)
This is the second one we have had. The first one lasted about 2 seasons and then quit heating. It was replaced promptly and is working just fine. We use it in our basement so we don't have to run the heater so often. Very quiet and does the job. Just have to vacuum it off about once a month and it's good to go.
Review 11 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hot/cool AM05
(March 11, 2015)
I've used it for 2 months now and I'm happy with the heat produced. Looking forward to evaluating the cooling effect.
Review 12 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
(February 24, 2015)
I need a fan going all night when I sleep. This is a great fan. I love that you can adjust the temperature.
Review 13 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Powerful Machine
(February 20, 2015)
When I purchased this device in January, I did so due to the reviews and recommendations. It works quite well in our sun room. During Cold times, It really circulates efficiently at night. During the day, the fan gives a great cool down. This item delivers consistent hot or cold air that covers a large area. I am very impressed, especially with the remote control and temperature settings. This product rivals other large brand tower fans and heaters.
Review 14 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
loosing the remote
(February 18, 2015)
I love the machine but I am constantly loosing the small remote. I did manage to resolve the issue by getting a piece of Velcro and putting it on the top of the unit and the back of the remote.
Needs to be a future enhancement!!
Review 15 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
good product
(February 17, 2015)
I am enjoying my Red AMO5 cool fan/heater.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
keeping me warmer
(February 17, 2015)
I know I'll love the cooling fan. I haven't used it yet for cooling, (but I love my larger Dyson fan).
I bought this to help warm a small room. I also bought it to keep my guest room comfortable when I get overnight company. It is very nice and warms, but it blows the air at you. I'm not sure how I feel about that. It does help warm a chilly space, but I'm also not sure from the occasional use how it has affected my electric costs. I like that it's small, safe, easy to operate and worry-free. It's easy to clean and move around. I do really like it, but using it only now as extra heat, I haven't used it enough to say I love it.
I do so far love all of my other Dyson products.
Review 17 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Black/Nickel
(February 14, 2015)
Very quiet and easy to control. Heats quickly and covers a large area.
Review 18 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM05 Review
(February 14, 2015)
So far, the AM05 works as advertized. I have only used it as a heater/fan, not a fan. The fan may come later. My bedroom lacks adequate heating. Although this winter has been relatively warm, so far. I have used it primarily in the early morning and late in the evening/night when I am dressing/undressing, and getting ready for a shower. It takes about 15 minutes to warm the room(20x20) to the point I am comfortable. It was easy to set up and use, although I keep the instructions close at hand. The only shortcoming noted is in moving the system. Regardless of what the instructions say, that top curve is too much like a handle not to use it as one. Today it will get a workout as my central heating system went out last night and I will have to move the heater every time I move to a different room. Yes, I would recommend this to someone else. WJM
Review 19 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great
(February 14, 2015)
works great to warm my bathroom. Love the remote control.
Review 20 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great machine for cooling/heating
(February 14, 2015)
Great machine for cooling/heating. Very portable and remote works great. Nice LED display. The only reason I do not give this product 5 stars is that it is louder than I would like.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>