Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue

When used as a cooling fan, Dyson AM05 fan heater has powerful airflow and high air velocity to cool you effectively. It uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long-range heat projection – it provides direct heat throughout the room. There are no visible heating elements or fast-spinning blades, and the unit switches off automatically if tipped over.
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(612 Reviews) 500
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (612 reviews)
5 stars
451
4 stars
123
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
10
578 of 612(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
overpriced performance
(December 19, 2014)
Dyson is usually synonymous with power, but this heater does not live up to it's promise. Have purchased heaters in the past for a fraction of the price that are comparable. Waste of money.
Review 2 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
bad unit
(December 18, 2014)
it had bad sensors in it from the get go. would not operate at all and from reviews of dyson repair process/warranty work i decided to send it back to qvc. i think i would of liked it if it had worked properly
Review 3 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
AM05
(December 18, 2014)
It was recalled for whatever and I'm still waiting for the return shipment
Review 4 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
AM05
(December 18, 2014)
Very expensive for what you get, mine developed a problem with the
rotational head within a couple of weeks after I got it. Keep meaning
to send it in, but I haven't, it just sits here getting dusty.
Review 5 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not That Impressed... NOISY/LOUD
(December 18, 2014)
This looked good to me on the surface. A fan and/or heater all in one. Great! I made the mistake of purchasing this online without seeing it or testing it in person. Once, I received it I was disappointed with it. For such a small fan and Dyson technology this fan is extremely LOUD. For instance, the only way to be in the same room with this fan running, is for it to be on the lowest fan speed setting of 1. (and it goes to 10) Dyson advertises their fans to be quiet and I'm a huge fan of their vacuums however, this fan/heater requires vast improvements. I now use this in my garage because it's not suitable for civilized indoor use. How this fan passed Dyson's Research and Product Development is beyond me. Disappointed.
Review 6 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
a limit...
(December 19, 2014)
use is limited... thought my house circuitry was robust- 25 yrs new...
but plugged into wall gives E7 code and it has to be restarted post delay... not sure how to manage yet...
Have not found the amperage listing, or watts needed yet..
Review 7 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Use in small room only
(December 19, 2014)
This is a very noisy heater. It continually kicks on and off. It will hold the temperature of a very small bedroom but not anything larger. Won't buy another one....Too expensive for what you get
Review 8 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Didn't heat our large living room
(December 19, 2014)
We have been wanting one of these for a long time. We were so excited that on Cyber Monday, Bed Bath and Beyond, put them on sale. Plus, we had a 20% coupon. We jumped at the chance. We set it up. It didn't seem to live up to our expectations of Dyson. We have a few other Dyson products that we love. We ran it for a while and it did not heat our living room. We thought maybe it was defective. We returned it to BBB and exchanged it for another one. We knew for sure this one would be amazing. Unfortunately, it was not. Same problem. We put it on 99 just to see if that would heat our room. It did not. Just a fee feet away form the device the air felt cool. We had to return it for a refund. Heartbroken.
Review 9 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Unsure
(December 18, 2014)
I purchased this a little over a month ago. It does allow me to keep my thermostat at a lower setting and when I'm home I set it to the temp I feel most comfortable at, but I've noticed lately it turns on and off more often than it used to. Usually it would stay off for 20 minutes or so, but now it turns off and 2 minutes later goes on, then maybe 5 minutes go by and it turns off and then on. It's a little annoying. Also I think it uses MORE electricity because I checked my electric bill from last year to this year and with the average temp being almost identical, my electric bill was HIGHER and I'm talking the amount of kw I used not just the price. . Not what I was hoping for. I'm still on the fence as to whether I will keep this or not. I purchased through QVC so I have until the end of January to decide. The test will be this.. I haven't used it since my last electric bll. I will wait til my next one and see if indeed this does use more electricity or not. Then I will make my decision.
Review 10 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
AM05 Fan Heater
(September 30, 2013)
Upon purchasing this unit I was under the impression from the advertisement that it cooled the air as well as heated the air as it passed thru the unit. It does not. It is a great product for winter use, but is nothing more than a fancy looking fan in summer. For the money you can by a nice fan and a room heater for winter.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Heater-fan
(December 20, 2014)
For the price, I expected better. It is okay, but I would not buy it again if I had it to do over. Am I'm not so sure it is saving me anything on the electric bill either.
Review 12 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Nice but pricey
(December 19, 2014)
It is a nice heater, seems safe. Does not put out as much heat as I thought it would and not as quiet as I expected. I do like it for extra heat in basement. I don't think I would buy it again due to the price. I have loved my Dyson vacuums but not as happy with this.
Review 13 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dyson Heater Perspective
(December 19, 2014)
Can't give a complete assessment as my heater was recalled during last years' hard winter when I needed it the most. Found heaters produced less heat than I expected and fan louder than advertised. Using new heater that Dyson replaced at no cost to me except to ship the old heater. New heater works well with supplemental heat. Don't know electrical cost yet. Find the heater sufficient so far.
Review 14 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM05
(December 19, 2014)
So far I like the fan/heater. It is a bit noisy, not great for a room where you'll be sleeping, but heats nicely.
Review 15 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dyson Fan/Heater
(December 19, 2014)
Not a big fan of this. Very loud and not as efficient as first thought. Will warm you but there is way to much air movement. Even heated air seems cool when you are in the room.
Review 16 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
amo5
(December 18, 2014)
this machine was a worthwhile investment for me. I live in a temperate climate & need heat only sparingly and cool as well, machine works well puts out both heat & cool equally well and is relatively quite. can heat a room or small space very well.
Overall recommend for the right purpose.
Review 17 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Product
(October 12, 2014)
Looks good, small footprint and light weight. Does exactly what it's designed for and comparatively quieter and more effectively than other brands of fan/heaters. It's an excellent product to supplement your in-home hvac system. I just leave it on at 71 degrees and let it clicks on by itself every 15 or so minutes for about 10 seconds each time. A timer function would be nice.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By Dyson Customer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Hi there and thank you for the review of your AM05. We are very glad to hear you are enjoying the machine and the temperature control.

You may be interested to know that all of our latest air multiplier technology includes a sleep timer that can be set from 15 minutes through 9 hours.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, please feel free to send us an email at askdysonUS@dyson.com if you are in need of support.

Best wishes,

Joe
Review 18 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It works
(January 20, 2014)
It does work; however, as consumer reports says , it is noisey.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear it is working properly.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, if you have any concerns regarding the function of your AM05 please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call our Helpline at 1-866-693-9766 and we will be happy to help.
Review 19 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Good heater but way too load
(December 14, 2013)
This is no doubt an efficient heater in the winter.
However, it is extremely load and I cannot sleep without having ear plugs now....
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AM05 Hot + Cool™ Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Nice heater, but loud
(November 11, 2013)
This heater is loud. The first three settings are bearable but the next seven are very loud almost like a jet engine. The heater and fan works very nicely though. Seems to heat the room well and evenly, however, I don't know if many would be able to sleep with the amount of noise this fan makes. I am happy with my purchase for now, but only time will tell if the noise becomes overbearing.
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceJanuary 24, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your AM05. We are glad to hear overall you are enjoying your machine.

Dyson sound engineers have worked on reducing the tonality of the sound produced by Dyson Air Multiplier™ fans, by targeting specific frequencies. Noise isn’t only about the decibel level, but the quality of the sound being produced. However, we are happy to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please feel free to email askdysonus@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>