Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver

AM04 uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long range heat projection to heat the room evenly. A Dyson Hot + Cool™ fan heater has no fast-spinning blades or visible heating elements, so it’s easy to clean. There’s also an automatic cut out that switches off the unit if it’s tipped over. In White/Silver.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
80 of 86(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Review 1 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love this heater!
(February 2, 2013)
I live in an old apartment with a cathedral ceiling in the living room. The heater here (a silly little fan in the wall that puts out very little heat) is terrible and my electric bill has been ridiculous. I'm hoping this little heater will help keep the bill down while keeping me warm (which the existing heater does not do). I bought the Dyson Fan Heater at Costco at discount and am very happy with it. In less than 30 minutes the whole living room is comfortably warm! The noise doesn't bother me at all - it's a very soft white noise sound. I wish I'd bought one of these before my last electric bill! My only complaint is the cord is too short and the instructions warn against using an extension so you have to have a convenient outlet. Other than that I highly recommend it! Can't wait to see how it works in the summer as a cooling fan. I love it!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very efficient - gets the job done and more!
(January 26, 2013)
After years looking at this and similar units, I am glad I finally made the investment. The AM04 Fan Heater heats my whole place - which is not big, but it is open plan - in a very short time. I haven't suffered from the cold this winter!!
Regarding the noise level: I am quite happy with it too. It soothing sound serves me as a white noise machine.
One thing: the unit didn't come with user guides. How does it get clean? no filters or maintenace? if so, how awesome!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A mighty little heater
(January 17, 2013)
Purchased mine this January just at the beginning of a cold snap here in NorCal. This purchase was for my bedroom as I live in a large, old two stroty farm house which is not the best insulated house in town. Have to say that I've been pleasantly surprised at how nice the unit is and how quickly it brings a chilly room up to a comfortable temperature (I set mine to 65). For some readers this may sound odd but the sound that this unit makes is the *perfect* white noise generator which I'm enjoying immensely. So no, it isn't the quietest fan around but for my needs it's perfect. NOTE: some guidelines on how to clean the internals (fan unit) from the inevitable dust build up over time would be nice.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your AM04. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with your machine. To learn more about how to clean your AM04, please visit:

http://content.dyson.com/support/help.asp?article=1646&product=AM04-WHSIL

If you have any additional questions or concerns please email us at askdysonus@dyson.com or call us at 1-866-693-9766. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 4 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heat/cool fan
(January 17, 2013)
Really like this product. Not as noisy to me as others indicated. Better than cheaper heaters I've used before and can't wait to use the cooling feature in summer. You do get what you pay for.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM04 Fan Heater Specifications Shortfall
(December 29, 2012)
For such an advanced product as this, it is surprising that no one has thought to mention the wattage nor the amperage rating! We all want to know how much our electric power bill is going to be affected by using such a product, without being aghast when we get a whoppingly large bill to pay! Surprise!
27 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Outstanding little heater
(February 29, 2012)
This is one amazing slim little heater that doesn't take up any floor space and that efficiently and quickly heats our whole back guess bedroom, which gets cold in the winter. Well worth every penny, because it doesn't always blow the circuit breaker to that part of the house like the last heater did.
One ergonomic improvement I'd make on the little hand controller is to put a nubbin on the otherwise totally flat switch plate which turns the machine on and off. That way, you can turn it on in the dark without having to turn a light on to find the proper switch section on the otherwise totally smooth and symmetric controller.
40 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hot&trade fan heater
(January 5, 2012)
I admired the Dyson products but could never afford one. I splurged on this heater and it is super fab! I converted my attic to my room a few years ago, thereare no ducts up there and this works great. It warms my room within a minhute and sends the warmth thruout the room by sending a warm wave of air. It doesn't seem to dry out the air like a stand up heater. I would give the Dyson heater a ten+. Try it you won't be sorry you'll be amazed, why did this concept take so long.
44 of 47 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great heater!
(November 29, 2011)
My wife and I purchased the Dyson Hot on Black Friday in time for a cold spell which began on Sunday evening. Instead of running our heat pump for the last 48 hours, we've been using the Dyson to heat our living room/kitchen/breakfast area. The unit produces a subtle, yet noticeable flow of warm air to the exact temperature we want. Once it reaches the desired temperature, it stops until the room temperature drops below the thermostat setting. The remote control works well and the magnetic storage on top of the unit greatly reduces our chances of losing the remote control. With two kids under 9 years of age, the safety features were primary considerations when we purchased the heater. The unit is warm to the touch inside the air loop, but not so warm that we worry about our 3 year old daughter getting burned by it. All in all, we are extremely satisfied with the Dyson Hot, albeit less than a week after the purchase.
42 of 43 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Beautifully designed and wonderfully effective
(November 27, 2011)
We have a "great room" that is always cooler than the rest of the house. I bought this simply because of the design, footprint, and remote control features. First, it allows me to run our thermostat for the house 2 degrees cooler than usual. Second, the heater/fan is very simple to use and artfully designed. It looks like Steve Jobs had input on its look. Even on the lowest setting, it moves quite a bit of air. You can tilt it up or down and control the oscillation with the remote or shut it off. It is noisier than I would like but find we are getting enough spot heating on the lowest fan speed setting. Because of the volume of air it moves, you can locate it away from you. It's louder on higher settings but moves so much air volume as to be surprising. And it certainly beats old fashioned box shaped fans. It's about 2.5' tall and has a relatively short cord. The instructions are adamant that no extension cord can be used with it. It is not recommended for bathrooms, but that would be true for all portable fans. I'm certain that if something shut down our furnace, this powerful heater could easily heat a good sized room for quite a while. I hesitated at paying this much but now feel it is a bargain. It's a brilliant design. Maintenance is simple dusting. Since we have overhead fans everywhere, I'm sure it will only be used in cold weather even though it can also be used as a powerful fan. BTW my dog pays no attention to it. I was concerned about her touching it like other heaters, but it doesn't appear to get hot enough to burn though it says it does.
46 of 48 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
(November 24, 2011)
My living room is 16' by 24' and is always cold in the fall/ winter. My wife purchased this heater and WOW! It keeps the room at a constant temp. The remote is easy to use. I gotta say I don't know how we did without it. Don't run from the price, it may be a litttle costly/ But by the time you buy enough throw away heaters you could have already had one. 1500 watts of power (12.5 amps) No more than a hairdryer. Excellent Heater!!!! Shop around and get the best deal but get one, you will love it too!!!!!
50 of 51 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great-not so noisy
(November 2, 2011)
We got one last week.
It works great. We love the little amount of heater that gets too hot to handle, and the saftey tipover shutoff. We had oither heaters that did not heat the same space as well.
A previous review said it was noisy. It does make a noticable "white" noise when it is on high. When the room is up to temperature or you have it at about 5 (on sacle of 10) it's not noticable.
43 of 45 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heats fast but kind of loud
(December 28, 2012)
Was able to find a great deal for this heater at a Costco. I wasn't able to find a heater that although can be cheaper than the AM04, it won't be as safe or as portable.
The AM04 heated my bedroom quickly, probably less than 30 minutes. Did very well for typical cold nights in California (and yes, California can get cold in many areas).
Wish I can give this product five stars if they toned down the fan noise a bit.
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great for my needs
(December 12, 2012)
I purchased this heater to use at night in my bedroom. Rather than heat up the entire house for just me, this fits the bill. Plus, I don't like running the propane central heating unit. I have knee replacements and need to be nice and toasty at night to prevent aching, painful knees. I run the unit at 68 to 70 depending -- usually 68 is sufficient for me. Yes, it is a little noisy, but I have no problem hearing the television and have pretty much gotten used to it shutting off and on. Aside from the noise -- this fan heater would be perfect.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM04FAN HEATER
(October 9, 2012)
This is a great product. I have used it all summer in the living area and was very satisfied. Just turned on the heater today & works excellent. Very satisfied.
Need to order another one for our bedroom.
24 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very nice design, and advanced engineering
(September 28, 2011)
Love the way it looks and the thoughtful design of the unit. Everything seems to have been thought out very thoroughly. The only reason I gave only 4 stars is that the, um, fan, (yes Virginia, it's got a fan in it) is kind of noisy. Even at it's lowest setting. I expected the unit to be considerably more quiet.
Still, I'm happy with it, and look forward to using the heating function when the cold weather begins...
69 of 73 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good heater but noisy
(March 6, 2012)
Looks great and a conversation starter. An effective compact heater that quickly puts out and spreads a lot of heat for a small room. Unfortunate caveat is that it is white noise loud even at the lowest speed. High speed noise is intrusive.
77 of 78 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Can't sleep at night
(May 24, 2012)
I bought this space heater because I live in a small studio apartment and was afraid of the antique wall heater. I read the reviews before purchasing this unit and most of them where good except one I read talked about the noise level. I disregarded this review due to the lack of others discussing the same issue. This unit is loud! It kicks on and I have to turn my television volume up... I kicks on and wakes me from my sleep... Other then that it works good. Makes the room warm up at half the electricity of the wall heater. Just wanted to write this so you are informed and you are not surprised at the decibel level after your purchase.
150 of 158 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not working
(February 12, 2013)
I am having the same problem as the previous owner of a Dyson hot+cool. The unit worked for a few weeks and then stopped. It has trouble on the start and now will only work if the temp is on heat and will not cool. It works intermittently and then just quits. Very frustrating!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer ServiceFebruary 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your AM04. We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your machine. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide further assistance in this matter. We have emailed you and look forward to speaking with you.

Please call us at 1-866-693-9766 or email us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00
p.m. CST.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AM04 Fan Heater White/Silver
Based on the average of (68) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 64 out of 68