Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dyson AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue

AM04 uses Air Multiplier™ technology for long range heat projection to heat the room evenly. A Dyson Hot + Cool™ fan heater has no fast-spinning blades or visible heating elements, so it’s easy to clean. There’s also an automatic cut out that switches off the unit if it’s tipped over. In Iron/Blue. $EmbeddedVideo:AM04 Fan heater (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Review 1 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
heater
(November 5, 2012)
i just bought a hearter fan i can not belive how much heat it put out right now it is heating my whole first floor which is five rooms
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
(April 30, 2013)
I've had this fan/heater for a year now & it works just as well as the day I got it. The heater works great & helped out a lot during the winter & the fan is surprisingly strong for such a small size. Easy to clean, very cool design & all around good buy. Hopefully it lasts for years to come! Especially since it costs so much lol!
Review 3 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Highly efficient unit, beautiful design. A winner.
(January 12, 2013)
I was looking for an alternative to using my central heat - I didn't want to heat the whole place unnecessarily. I was honestly amazed that this unit not only heated my living room, but it also eventually knocked out the chill throughout my condo, and pretty quickly, even with the fan on a lower setting. It seems to be working a bit better than my central air, which takes more time to warm things up, and generates a fair amount of noise. I realize I could replace the central HVAC with something newer/better, but that's a lot of money.
Now, my unit is small (650sq ft) and it has a fairly open floor plan, but I was not expecting the unit to perform this well. It's in the upper 30s in LA tonight, but my living room was warm in less than 10 minutes after turning on the AM04, and I have a 12ft lofted ceiling in there. The chill in the rest of my condo was gone about 20 minutes later - not as warm as the living room, but comfortable. I wasn't expecting that.
No pinging and hot grill like standard space heaters. No burning dust smell. No fan blades or coils or radiator to clean (an obnoxious chore) and yet it's delivering really good airflow. Very nice.
Wonderful design. Clean. Modern. Sleek. When you have a small place, every element in the room is on display. IMHO, many space heaters range between homely to downright ugly, and many of them are kind of bulky and intrusive. I'm quite happy to leave my Dyson on display. Also, I don't need to find a place to stow it during the warm months, because its also a cold air fan. 2 for 1.
Of course, It's not cheap. Personally, I've never been able to find great tech and great design on the cheap. So, I tend to save up and buy quality. I was so pleased with the Dyson upright I bought 5 years ago, that I didn't hesitate to buy the convertible hand/stick vac, and I didn't balk at the price for the AM04. It's worth every penny to me.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Best Heater To Have
(December 1, 2012)
I have only had in the houses two hours and am very pleased how good it works. Put in our bathroom set on 80 and in a short time I didn't hear it running so I opened the door and it was 80 degrees in the room. Very good just what we wanted. Highly recommend this product Cost of something good is not important . Have had other heaters before and always worried about a fire . With this heater I don't even think about such a thing.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The engineering is evident in the styling
(October 27, 2012)
I bought this space heater hoping that it will help save money with my heating bill; since I just started using it this week, I don't know yet about the bill.
But I do know that my room is warm. I'm using it in a 120 square foot bedroom that my last space heater couldn't keep entirely warm.
I love the tilt feature as well as having a setting for the air speed. I do wish though that the manual had more explanation about the air speed. I had to play around with it awhile to find out what air speed is best for this room.
After examining the heater, it's so obvious that the engineering department listens to their styling department. The heater is well made with a great design and the features are part of the design. You know that architectural saying "form follows function"... this heater is the perfect example of that saying. I also like that the remote has a magnet so that you can leave it on top of the heater; that's so convenient.
I love the way it looks and that so far, it's doing a great job. It will be interesting to see my electric bill for this month. Also, I'm looking forward to summer to see if it also cools well. So far, I'm very pleased that I bought this heater, and so today I'm comparison shopping for a vacuum.
28 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Top notch!!!!!
(April 1, 2012)
Heats and cools the entire room, I Love it, And it Looks Kool!!!!
Don't think twice !
26 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
BIG muscle in a little package
(January 25, 2012)
Puts out a lot of heat for such a small footprint. Only wish it were quieter, even at Level 1 it is enough to wake me from my slumber. I am admittedly a light sleeper. 5 stars if the white noise levels where reduced.
Like Apple and Sonos, Dyson just gets it. You truly do get what you pay for.
31 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
(January 11, 2012)
We have this one room that is colder than the rest of the house. It's on a slap, high ceilings, large windows, next to garage (not a lot going for it as far as warmth). So instead of turning up the thermostat and making the rest of the house too hot - we bought the Dyson heater. To put it simply - it does the trick. It gives off alot of heat, it isn't dangerous, you have a lot of control as far as temp, how high you want the blow, direction, and tilt. So far so good.
30 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attractive and Effective
(January 2, 2012)
Though expensive, this heater does a very good job. The tilting feature is effective and the oscillation helps heat the room thoroughly. I love how the remote docks as well. However, sometimes the power of the heater seems weak. Also I wish that when the heater is turned "off" the motor would stop running so I can save some electricity. Otherwise a very attractive and effective heater.
38 of 42 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By DysonCustomer Service January 21, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your AM04. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the machine overall. If the power of the heater seems "weak" it is likely that the room has reached the desired temperature and by necessity the air leaving the machine will not be as hot allowing the room to remain at the temperature selected.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please contact us by phone at 1-866-693-9766 or email at askdysonus@dyson.com. We are available Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST.
Review 10 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome!!
(December 15, 2011)
Another home run for Dyson. Finally a space heater worh buying. Have not had the unit long enough to determine what my savings will be on my utility bill. Unit maintains the temperature in my living area without the furnace coming on all day. Outdoor temperatures have been in the 25-40 degree range.
31 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Initial Heater review
(December 1, 2011)
Initial thoughts are mixed. The volume of air from the unit seems good however the temperature of the air seems cool, even on the maximum temperaure setting. Overall fairly quiet and oscillation seems to work fairly well. Not msure how well it will perform in colder weather but suspect it may fall somewhat short of our expectations. More time and use will tell if it is all it's claimed to be.
20 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
May pay for itself in a single winter
(November 30, 2011)
For the past two years, I've heated my Wisconsin mobile home with electric space heaters. With one in the kitchen, one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom, my electric bill can be a killer during the worst of winter.
The bedroom and bathroom are set at 90 degrees to each other, and I've placed my AM04 close to the bedroom doorway so at one extreme of rotation it blows directly into the bathroom, but for most it blows into the bedroom. The hope is that I can run one heater for two rooms.
So far, I'm truly amazed at how well it works. The AM04 is deceptive, in that despite the warning labels the inner surface of the oval doesn't get extremely hot, and standing directly in front of the airflow it feels not quite as warm as that from a conventional space heater.
The difference is in the directed airflow itself. Unlike the hot and cold spots of every conventional heater I've tried, the AM04 has kept both rooms at an absolutely even 68 degrees with no "draftiness" at all. (I'm running on the highest fan setting of 10). In addition, the thermostat seems much more accurate and responsive than the others. This may have something to do with what appears to be a "calibration" cycle that it undergoes periodically. Obviously there are some electronic "brains" inside.
To be fair, winter has only begun and since purchasing the AM04, most nights have been only in the 20s and calm. The real test will come when it's below zero with a 30MPH north wind. But so far, I feel that Dyson could paraphrase a line from the old Curtis Mathis TV ads: "The most expensive space heater in America.... and worth it."
38 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AM04 Heater
(October 29, 2011)
I have never been more satisfied w/heater that's also a fan in summer if you want it to be. Mine is for large master bath n the remote is perfect, I turn it on from bed five minutes before going in and the room is three degrees warmer even with fourteen foot ceiling. I've had at least seven "top of the line" heaters in the past, none hold a candle to this one for what I use it for. FIVE STAR
52 of 55 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AM04 Fan Heater Iron/Blue
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 18 out of 20